thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 7:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

I have very few problems running eCS on my Thinkpad
Yes/True 50%  50%  [ 3 ]
No/Not True 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Depends on model of Thinkpad 50%  50%  [ 3 ]
Total votes : 6
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 12:51 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Posts: 436
Location: New Jersey
I have had very few problems with using eComStation with my Thinkpad (T23 with 1.1 and A22m with 1.2). Is this true of others who run eComStation on their Thinkpad? :?:

8)

_________________
* * * * * * * * *
BigWarpGuy
* * * * * * * * *
OS/2-eCS.Org - OS/2 World
http://www.os2ecs.org - http://www.os2world.com
'supporting past OS/2 users and future eCS users.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 12:32 pm
Posts: 11
very very few. onli problem I had was wireless network. But not any more. Genmac solved the problem. TP R-51 here.
regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Reliable OS
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 12:38 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Posts: 436
Location: New Jersey
Not having problems with eCS could explain why the OS/2 section of this forum is not very active. :lol: 8)

_________________
* * * * * * * * *
BigWarpGuy
* * * * * * * * *
OS/2-eCS.Org - OS/2 World
http://www.os2ecs.org - http://www.os2world.com
'supporting past OS/2 users and future eCS users.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 11:03 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:02 pm
Posts: 1276
Location: Newark, Ohio
I'm not having any problems...

Then again, I'm running the Live CD on Virtual PC, not running directly on the hardware. :P

There just seems to be something "right" about running an IBM OS on IBM hardware, though. (Even when it's a product of Lenovo... :roll:)

_________________
SOLECTRON SUCKS
TP T61p | It doesn't actually have a type-model any more... hacked in ALL the mods! | 15.0" 4:3 chassis, QXGA, T9500, 8 GiB RAM, 750 GB HDD, Win7 Pro, Advanced Dock, PCIe QFX 570


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 6:44 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:32 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
It depends on model.
I haven´t ANY problem with my T30. But with the rest of my TP ...

My basic problem is wifi. T30 has built-in wifi, IBM made excellent driver and that´s why all works. But if I have to use a built-in wifi card in other TP or wifi in PCMCIA, I am not able to do it. I tried many PC cards, even bought special card with os/2 driver - Artem ... nothing.

In addition I do not understand PC cards, I´m simple user. Result is evident - if I need wifi I have to use either T30 or other operating system.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 7:31 am
Posts: 39
Location: Rotterdam, Europe
During install you can select PCMCIA and even the Thinkpad model...maybe that's why it doesn't work with you?

_________________
Thinkpads: 570 2644-1AK, 570 2644-3BG, 570 2644-1AU (broken), T23 2647-4MU, T30 2366-AG8, T43 2669-CTO.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 11:55 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Posts: 436
Location: New Jersey
savarin wrote:
It depends on model.
I haven´t ANY problem with my T30. But with the rest of my TP ...

My basic problem is wifi. T30 has built-in wifi, IBM made excellent driver and that´s why all works. But if I have to use a built-in wifi card in other TP or wifi in PCMCIA, I am not able to do it. I tried many PC cards, even bought special card with os/2 driver - Artem ... nothing.

In addition I do not understand PC cards, I´m simple user. Result is evident - if I need wifi I have to use either T30 or other operating system.


I was at a Warpstock convention - http://www.warpstock.org - which used an thernet connected USB powered wifi devices. It worked with eCS. You might want to try it. :idea:
http://www.google.com/products?q=ethernet+wifi+adapter&btnG=Search+Products&hl=en&show=dd

_________________
* * * * * * * * *
BigWarpGuy
* * * * * * * * *
OS/2-eCS.Org - OS/2 World
http://www.os2ecs.org - http://www.os2world.com
'supporting past OS/2 users and future eCS users.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group