thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:17 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:31 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Wheeling, IL
I posted this here and in the t60 forums
I guess an admin deleted it from here but I am not getting any response there
so, I am re posting it here

Come on guys, this is the best forums on the internet
sombody's got to have an idea
=============
I wanted to restore the F11 option at boot on my T60

I used "rnr31_rrd.exe" / "rnr31_rrd.iso" according to instructions ( i think)
Now the computer won't boot

I get the thinkpad start up screen, push thinkpad to change startup
No f11 option
Esc to boot
Next is a black screen with a flashing cursor, thats all she wrote !
------
I Created an iso on a bootable cd
if I "repair boot record" I get a Y:\> prompt
If I "replace boot record" I get "Error-Filters returned and empty menu"
Y:\>

I am able to access the entire drive from an external drive enclosure and see everything
I am doing this from another T60

Thanks for any help
Rich

_________________
    600 T23(2) T30(2) T40(3) T41(3) T60 Current
. . . . T2001 . . . .A Space Oddessy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:31 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Wheeling, IL
Ok,
so I supposed that no one answered because the 1st solution was so simple
Press thinkvantage, f1 then f9 to restore default bios

now it boots, sort of
after exiting intel boot agent
I get the message cannot boot from any device
that there is no bootable device or hard drive
or as they are listed
No valid operating system

I can see the entire drive using an external enclosure on another computer

Chkdsk and partmagic both found bad sectors
do i reformat externally and reinstall windows?

_________________
    600 T23(2) T30(2) T40(3) T41(3) T60 Current
. . . . T2001 . . . .A Space Oddessy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 8:26 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:23 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Atlanta/Barnesville, GA
When you reset the BIOS, did you check to see if you were running the SATA drive in compatibility mode? Do you know what you were doing originally?


Might be one thing to check.

Do you have media for a repair install of windows?

Can you run checkdisk using the enclosure to see if the drive can have the bad sectors cleaned up then try booting again?


Good luck.

Daniel

_________________
Daniel
T420 (4236-BR7) Win 7
X201 (3626-GQ1) Win 7
X61 (7673-4NU) Win 7


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group