thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 2:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:14 am
Posts: 5
Location: Ankara, Turkey
Hi,

I've just replaced my T510's 1600x900 LCD screen with a 1920x1080 one, but I'm having some problems.

The first problem is, colors on this screen are different. My old screen's colors were more .. brighter. And it looks like this shows less colors, ie. I'm visiting a page I visit every day and different tones of colors looks like the same.

Second problem, some red and blue pixels appear on some colors. You can see two examples in here: http://imgur.com/a/jaj7G . First photo is from a movie, you can see the obvious red line. And the second one is from an PDF text. You can see blue and red pixels appear on some characters.

So, do you have any ideas? Is it because of a hardware failure? Or did I do something wrong while assembling the new one?

Thanks.

Edit: I've tried reseating the cable to the motherboard 4-5 times now, but display is still the same. Could it be related with screen side of the cable? (I don't want to remove the whole screen again)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 5:31 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13266
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
That looks like a faulty LCD to me.
Have you set the proper resolution?
Try to reinstall the graphics drivers.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 11:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:14 am
Posts: 5
Location: Ankara, Turkey
I'm on a Linux and I don't think it's a driver issue. Because I'm getting a red line in the bios screen too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 6:35 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13266
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Return it, that's a faulty screen.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group