thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 12:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 10:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
I have an almost new Mobile Pentium 4 (Pentium M?) 1.4Ghz CPU with the following number: SL6F8. Which Thinkpad, if any will it fit? I looked on Intel's website and it says it has a bus frequency of 400mhz with PB1 (B-1) Speed stepping.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 10:44 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:42 pm
Posts: 2732
Location: Atlanta, GA
Why don't you do research on motherboards for various ThinkPads made in the last two years, usually, the spec sheet will list the CPU's it supports.

_________________
ThinkPad 600X (2646-D3U): 500mhz Pentium III, 320mb RAM, 13.1" XGA, 12gb, Win 2000 Pro SP4
Hewlett Packard 95LX: 5mhz NEC V20, 512kb RAM, MS-DOS 3.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 11:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
Thanks...I've tried that, but it's very confusing...not very specific information. I was hoping that someone here that knows their thinkpad well will respond with some information. Hey...I my first TP was a 380...though I did max the memory out at 80...LOL.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 11:59 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 5:33 pm
Posts: 130
Location: Albany, NY (college) or Pleasantville, NY (home)
Well, the Mobile Pentium 4 and Pentium M are VERY different. You have a Banias Pentium M 1.4GHz.

http://www.intel.com/design/mobile/spec ... 266512.pdf

Page 8 Table.

It should work in the T40, 41, and 42.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 9:58 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
I read somewhere it may work with X30 too....can someone confirm this? Also, for the 40 series....would a 1.4Ghz be a step down for most of them? If so, then I won't offer the CPU here, but go directly to eBay and put it up for sale. If a ThinkPad user could use it, I'll offer it for less here first.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:03 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 5803
Location: Toronto, Canada
Please don't get your hopes up. In the T4x series (at least) where you can do these upgrades, a person shelling out money for an upgrade would be better off with a Dothan. That is only my opinion, but once you have opened the case, equipped yourself with thermal compound and extracted the old CPU, why not put in the best possible. ... JD Hurst


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:14 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
jdhurst...you make perfect sense...that's why I wanted to know how much of an upgrade (if any) would the CPU I have be for ThinkPads. May be best not to waste my time here and offer it on eBay to someone who will notice a jump in productivity if they were to install this CPU in their machine.

BTW, I know that T22, T23's are speed-step technology enhanced. Would this processor work in either of those?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 11:01 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 5803
Location: Toronto, Canada
MadeInJapan wrote:
<snip>
BTW, I know that T22, T23's are speed-step technology enhanced. Would this processor work in either of those?


Someone else probably knows better than me, but I had a T23, and just looked in the Hardware Manual. It only lists P3 processors up to 1.2GHz (which are much slower than the Banias you have). I also looked up the support page on the IBM site for my particular T23 (2647-8NU) and it was no more illuminating in terms of CPU upgrade. I think, given the differences in motherboard, CPU technology and BUS speed/technology that it would not be possible to upgrade a T23 to a Banias.
... JD Hurst


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Knoxville, TN
- sigh - Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group