thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Legacy ThinkPad model driver and other support files will be mirrored here on thinkpads.com.
55 GB of files are being uploaded now.
More about this when support files are made available.

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 2:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:28 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 54
Location: Portland, OR
I just received my W520. I've logged in, created my password and fingerprints, set the time zone etc, and it tried to start installing Norton which I killed.

Simple question: What program (or ??) do I use to make my recovery discs and how do I start it?

The closest thing I find is in ThinkVantage Toolbox where there is:
"Enhanced Backup and Restore > Backup Solution: ThinkVantage Rescue and Recovery > Install Rescue and Recovery" (other option: Purchase Backup Drive)
Is this what I use? I got a little spooked on the "Install Rescue and Recovery" as though it might ask for media to do an R&R.

Related (or maybe not): I was going to hold off on swapping out the one factory stick of 4GB RAM with the new 4 x 4GB @1600 until after I create the recovery media. Is this the recommended sequence?

Thanks!

BTW, I search all over the TP forum and at Lenovo but I couldn't find the answer to this seemingly simple question. Most of the threads were about having lost the media or not having a CD/DVD drive (which I have). And ThinkVantage Help is no help . . . .

_________________
W520 4270-CTO 15.6"HD+ i7-2720QM 16GB@1600MHz 500GB@7200 Quadro 2000M, Win7 64
T60p 2623-8YU 14.1" SXGA+ || T42 2379 DXU 15" SXGA+
"The best things in life aren't things"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:57 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5640
Location: Israel
Don't have experience with W520, but on some Thinkpads I've had, there should be a start menu item somewhere under Thinkvantage, called "Create Rescue Media" or "Recovery Media" or something like that. Perhaps you need to have R&R installed for that, not sure.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:11 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 54
Location: Portland, OR
One other thing that came up: after I made this initial post and was getting ready to shut down (hoping for some TP'ers comments) there was a warning "x" on an icon in the lower right footer bar that had a message that Windows wanted to do (setup?) a backup. I clicked on it and it wanted to write to Q: drive and the routine only talked about hard drives, not CDs or DVDs. I'm guessing this is more of a typical backup that Windows is encouraging and not the R & R media.

_________________
W520 4270-CTO 15.6"HD+ i7-2720QM 16GB@1600MHz 500GB@7200 Quadro 2000M, Win7 64
T60p 2623-8YU 14.1" SXGA+ || T42 2379 DXU 15" SXGA+
"The best things in life aren't things"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:48 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:35 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Fort Myers, FL
antelope wrote:
Related (or maybe not): I was going to hold off on swapping out the one factory stick of 4GB RAM with the new 4 x 4GB @1600 until after I create the recovery media. Is this the recommended sequence?


you can swap out the ram whenever you want. if you just want to get it out of the way, do it now. it doesn't have any effect on the recovery media.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:03 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 54
Location: Portland, OR
Thanks to dr_st for getting me pointed in the right direction.

Instead of going for the too apparent ThinkVantage Toolbox icon in the bottom bar toward the right, I instead went to the lower left Start button > Programs > Lenovo ThinkVantage Tools. Within that is Factory Recovery Disks. This is what I was looking for. It says it needs a CD for the first disk but a DVD seemed to work fine.

(BTW, there seem to be a lot of junk programs for a new computer that purportedly only had Win7 installed . . . . )

_________________
W520 4270-CTO 15.6"HD+ i7-2720QM 16GB@1600MHz 500GB@7200 Quadro 2000M, Win7 64
T60p 2623-8YU 14.1" SXGA+ || T42 2379 DXU 15" SXGA+
"The best things in life aren't things"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group