thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
NOTICE: IF you receive a message saying your IP is banned, please read the post: ** IP Banned..? Please read me ** in Forum Announcements..

The SpamBot attack has slowed way down, most likely because christmas advertising is over for now..
We are still working on ways to prevent most or all SpamBots in the future..


If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:18 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:50 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Van Nuys CA
I have a T43P with a 1GB stick of PC4200 RAM. If I add a second 1GB stick of PC5300 will there be any problems?

Thanx

Mike

_________________
ThinkPad T42 2373
Pentium M 1.7GHz
2 GB Kingston RAM
40 GB HDD
2878 Docking Station


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:56 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 13184
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Nope, will run just fine, at PC2-4200 speeds.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriter collecting SSDI: A31p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T43pSF, T60, T61

On its way in: X301


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:00 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Van Nuys CA
ajkula66 wrote:
Nope, will run just fine, at PC2-4200 speeds.


Just wanted to be sure, I know IBM can be particular with hardware. I'm fixing it up to sell, don't want it to come back to me with problems.

Thanx again!

_________________
ThinkPad T42 2373
Pentium M 1.7GHz
2 GB Kingston RAM
40 GB HDD
2878 Docking Station


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 4:05 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:26 pm
Posts: 67
Location: Carouge, Genève, Suisse
Mike's question is very interesting.
And not only concerning the T43p; also for other T4x models.

As 1Gb sticks of PC-2700 RAM are quite hard to find and expensive, could it be cheaper to use DDR RAM sticks with higher maximal speed ?

Will a Thinkpad T4x perform as well with higher speed RAM sticks or could there be some loss of performance to some frequency conversion?

@ajukla 66 : Have you really tested RAM sticks 4200 on a Thinpad where 2700 RAM was initially ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 4:16 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 13184
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
thinktwice wrote:
@ajukla 66 : Have you really tested RAM sticks 4200 on a Thinpad where 2700 RAM was initially ?


No, because that's simply impossible. As in physically impossible.

ThinkPads that were shipped with PC2700 (T42/p, R50p, X32..) are DDR.

Those (like T43/p) that went out with PC2-4200 are DDR2.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriter collecting SSDI: A31p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T43pSF, T60, T61

On its way in: X301


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group