thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 7:03 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
I built up a 1.8" microSATA setup with a Shapeways caddy, Chinese adapter board and Kingston 1.8" microSATA drive. Installed the 1.8" microSATA setup in HDD0 and booted off of original HDD mounted in the Ultrabay, all normal. Opened Easeus to clone and all drives were present, cloned the drive, all said good. Removed Ultrabay and started machine and no system was found, used F12 at startup and the 1.8" microSATA SSD is no longer seen, went into the BIOS, boot order is okay. Removed power, battery and drives and did the 10 resets trick. Reinsert Ultrabay with original drive and everything boots fine but no SSD is seen in HDD0, any ideas, thanks in advance

burns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 8:06 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5687
Location: Israel
Does the original drive work in the internal bay (HDD0)?

Most likely just the adapter board is toast. Check the SSD in a different setup if possible.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 1:54 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
dr-st, I think your are right, original drive back in HDD and all boots fine, no way to check 1.8" microSATA by itself, it does not fit in my SATA ultrabay drive.

burns

Edit: board vendor says to update the bios, is there any merit in that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 10:21 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Well folks, I've been sent a replacement adapter board and I'm going to give it another try the same way tonight anybody got any suggested changes?

burns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 1:03 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2688
Location: Paragould AR USA
I think I would try installing something (maybe a light Linux distro) directly onto the 1.8" microSATA drive with the current hardware,and see if that works OK. Might just be something with your cloning process. It wouldn't be the first time a cloned drive would not boot.

On the other hand, I guess it wouldn't hurt to try the replacement adapter first, in case the first one was faulty. Everything could just boot up like expected in that case. But, if that doesn't work, then you could try a direct install to the 1.8" microSATA drive to see if that works.

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 3:22 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Neil, everything first time around everything was gone after first attempt at clone, the 1.8" microSATA could no longer be seen, so game over, nothing else I could do. No way to see a 1.8" microSATA without an adapter as it won't mate with anything, ie not ide, not sata

burns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 8:42 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Folks, the new board arrived and it was slightly different, it was to Rev1 of the board, anyway I assembled the same way into the shapeways caddy, plugged the 1.8" microSATA SSD in and inserted in HDD0. While the machine booted I hit F12 and the drive was visible in the boot list. Cloned the 1.8" microSATA SSD with Easytodo and no problem. The T42 works fairly well with the following numbers

Seq write 83 mbs read 79 mbs
512k write 82 mbs read 39 mbs
4k write 14 mbs read 16
4k QD32 write 16 mbs read 23 mbs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 5:36 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Folks, as you can see above I built a SSD for my T42 14" using a 1.8" microSATA, Shapeways caddie and a Chinese adapter board. I was happy with the performance when in cranked out about 90 Mbs read and write speeds. I moved the drive over to my 15" T42 and the speeds are horrible, like 30 mbs ie same as the old hard drive, what gives? Moved it back to 14" and it's fine. The machines are the same (I think) except the 14" has a 2.0 cpu and the 15" a 1.7 cpu.

burns

Moderator edit: Merged this post in with existing, directly related thread (no need to start yet another new thread).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:36 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Bump, anyone have any thoughts on this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 3:31 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Automobus suggested by PM checking the bios and ec on each machine, well they are different, the 14" is at bios 3.21 and ec 3.04, the 15" is at bios 3.13 and ec 3.04, what do you think? get them up to date or atleast the 15" upto 3.21/3.04?

burns

Searching shows the latest Bios is 3.23 and EC 3.04


Last edited by burns334 on Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 3:54 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13609
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Before you do anything stupid, check if those machines have the same (or different ) graphics...
They have different BIOS.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:09 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
RBS, both machines have the ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 Graphics

burns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:18 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 422
Location: Lincolnwood, Illinois
I would try flashing BIOS revision 3.20. Maybe: T40/R50 BIOS versions from earlier three years contained a routine/program, similar to that in earlier ThinkPads. Maybe everybody else who bought mSATA for Tforty, already had new firmware versions, so nobody else yet experienced this problem.

Subject: New SSD opt. for T4x : mSATA-to-IDE adapter ST663FD9 *PICS*
automobus wrote:
My new suspicion: firmware in certain mobile PCs derive host cable detection bit from devices at power-on, instead of always indicating 80-wire. Some models which might be so-programmed include ThinkPads: X22 T30 T23 A31p;

It changes something in ATA Identify, so it might also change cable-detection speed-limit.
README for BIOS update 1ruj37us.txt wrote:
<3.20 (1RETDOWW)>
- (Fix) Hang up when HDD identification is failed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group