thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:45 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Posts: 1455
Location: Window Rock, Arizona
I just had to take a picture of this. I'm somewhat amused that this even works :mrgreen:

I managed to get it working with the correct resolution and figured ... I don't even take the R51e out so....

Image
Image

That desk is my school/work desk. It had some kind of clear top but I don't know what someone put it to use for. Those speakers are IBM speakers that I found at the Goodwill for $5.99. They are loud and have great range. As many of you know I've tried to put that R51e up for sale. It's a little stubborn sometimes and I may send it in for a reflow, get me a motherboard, or I'll get simply get a tower and IBM USB keyboard. I've put the R51e lid w/LCD away in a box for safekeeping. I may sell the LCD. :idea:

Just decided to put my T400 in b/c I love it :D

In the meantime this works fine and dandy 8)

_________________
X200T 7449-88U | T500 2055-2CU | T61 6458-6QU | Dell Latitude E6510


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:46 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:40 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Brooklyn NY
did you amputate the screen? :o boy, :( make sure you're not going to do the same thing with T400 =))

_________________

Today: Apple MacBook Pro 13 (Late 2011)
In past: T400s , X300 , T400 (P8400) , X41 Tablet and R52


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:01 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:24 am
Posts: 56
I've been thinking of doing to same thing. Does the display switch to the second output automatically?

_________________
T61p - 2.4Ghz T8300 - 2GB - 570m 256MB - 160GB 5400rpm - 15.4" 1680x1050


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:16 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:33 am
Posts: 808
Location: Norwich, UK
One day, emeraldgirl08, I bet all PCs will be sold like that - to save space!! Great pics by the way, very clear! Are you going to put the T400 back together though?

_________________
Coming September 2014 (hopefully!)

Lenovo ThinkPad T540p | Core i5 4200M | 12GB 1600MHz RAM | 1920x1080 Display | UltraNav with Fingerprint Reader | 500GB 7200 RPM HDD | 720p Webcam | 9 Cell 100Wh Battery | Windows 8.1 x64

ex IBM ThinkPad A31, R40

My custom-built desktop - see pics!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:20 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Posts: 1455
Location: Window Rock, Arizona
:lol: Ha ha ha you guys are funny! There's no way that my T400 is going out like that! I love it too much!

*hugs T400 tighter*

@GIFF- to tell you the truth I'm not sure exactly how I did it :? I basically tested out the connection first by hooking up my R51e (when top was still on) VGA to the monitors VGA port. The monitor then pretty much mimicked whatever was on my laptop. I had to go into properties and mess with the display settings. It was displaying things at 1024X768 which is not the native resolution of this monitor. I fiddled with the settings in ATI Catalyst Control and the Windows display properties. At this point I found that extending the desktop was pretty neat. Whenever I moved my cursor off the R51e screen it would come into view on the Acer monitor :)

Neat!

At that point I decided I would try this without the lid and could make the necessary screen/resolution adjustments solely with the Acer monitor. I also went into BIOS and set the display to boot with the external monitor before I removed it. After that I went ahead with the removal of the R51e top and hooked the VGA cable back up.

It worked.

What you will need to do is make sure your graphics adapter is recognizing the monitor that is being used. My monitor is an Acer so naturally I went to Acers website and found my driver and updated the driver for monitor.

Right click on desktop>> click on properties>> Settings>> Advanced >> Monitor (if yours says Plug and Play you should get the driver from you LCD Monitors website)>> Properties>> Driver>> from driver choose Update Driver and you want to install the driver from where the zip file is at.

I then found out through Monitor properties that Monitor properties now said "Acer on ATI Radeon Express 200M Series" :D

I rebooted and the monitor turned on with the R51e.

That's pretty much how it went. I think mostly everybody here on the forum is somewhat savvy with their machines however some of us bumble through with good ol' trial and error :oops: My advice is to try it first with the lid on and then if you wish to proceed. Make sure you are adept at disassembling your laptop and are not going to violate your warranty.

PS make sure you do not forget to remove one of the Wifi antennae. I had to take the lid apart and remove one of the antennae wire. One is working out fine and I have that running out the absent LCD hinge area and perched on the back of the monitor.

_________________
X200T 7449-88U | T500 2055-2CU | T61 6458-6QU | Dell Latitude E6510


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:09 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:33 am
Posts: 76
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Nice setup, but it looks like you need a bigger desk. It looks like you would have a hard time using both the R and the T at the same time on the desk.

I think it does look good. A cheap upgrade that should help with productivity, nice for videos as well. :)

_________________
A31p, 2 X301, 2 Z61m Ti
Past: 390E, X41, X60, T61p, T400
Panasonic CF-W4, CF-W5, 2 CF-18, 2 CF-29, CF-30, 3 CF-52, CF-74


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:29 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 950
Location: San Jose, CA
I'm jealous of your clutterfree desk! Very clean lines on your setup too. :thumbs-UP:

The only thing I can't stand is the non-symetrical bezel on the T400. That annoys me to no end. :lol:

_________________
Current Thinkpads: 600E, 600X, 701C, A31 (Flexview), R51 (Flexview), R60, T42P (Flexview), TR50E, T60 (Flexview), X61s (Ultralight), Z61m (Ti) Non-Thinkpad: Toshiba 100ct


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group