thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:52 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:03 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Account changed to williamgeorgegardner 5/15/10
Hi I was just wondering is the second to last(forth one in) deslktop configuration any good for programming such as C#, C++ and visual studio an HTML etc. plus other office applications?

Here is the web page:
http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/gbweb/LenovoPortal/en_GB/catalog.workflow:category.details?current-catalog-id=FD6DB49790C7411D933567FC361231FB&current-category-id=56B772619740412C8AB8543DCBD7404D

It would also be used for internet browsing a lot but mainly for programming, office applications and internet.

Admin note: Combined consecutive posts

_________________
CompTechExpert
Learning to program
Tech central forum
YouTube


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:57 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:03 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Account changed to williamgeorgegardner 5/15/10
It would be used along with a BenQ monitor.
The applications it would have would be:
Microsoft visual studio 2005
Microsoft visual C++
Microsoft visual basic
Microsoft visual C#

Microsoft office
Firefox

The ones in read are the most used ones.I will update this list as I go on.

_________________
CompTechExpert
Learning to program
Tech central forum
YouTube


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:47 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 5:45 pm
Posts: 1266
Location: London, UK
Link doesn't work for me. That being said, for programming more basic stuff in VS pretty much any desktop on market today should be fast enough. You might want to get 2 GB of RAM so you're not swapping too much, and a dual core might help you do other stuff while you're compiling. I don't know if the system in the link has a display included, but in VS the more pixels you have, the better, so a high-res display is always helpful.

I've been running VS 2008 on my old Pentium M/1 GB RAM Thinkpad and it works decently well even on this. Pretty much the only thing I've seen VS do to strain a machine is working with either MSSQL or the new .NET technologies (opening and drawing Windows Workflow Foundation files in particular).

_________________
X200 and T60p/IPS
Nothing endures but change


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:57 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:03 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Account changed to williamgeorgegardner 5/15/10
I will fix the link it works for me but it is probably cos I was on the english lenovo site.

Plus thanks a lot for the great info that is really really helpful!!!!

I cant find it on the american lenovo site but it is the A58 small form factor with these specs:(they may ot be the same on the US site but probably will be similar)
ThinkCentre A58 TOPSELLER
  • Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core E5300 Processor ( 2.60GHz 800MHz 2MB )
  • Genuine Windows 7 Professional 32
  • Graphics Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X4500
  • 2 GB DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz
  • 320GB
  • DVD Recordable
  • Small Form Factor
  • One year parts and labour

It would also be used with an external monitor, external hard drive, webcam, external speakers, external microphone and other general hardware.

Admin note: Combined three consecutive posts and deleted two unnecessary, impatient, one-line posts

_________________
CompTechExpert
Learning to program
Tech central forum
YouTube


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 5:45 pm
Posts: 1266
Location: London, UK
comptechexpert wrote:
I cant find it on the american lenovo site but it is the A58 small form factor with these specs:


Nothing special to write home about, but should be fine for basic programming.

_________________
X200 and T60p/IPS
Nothing endures but change


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:58 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:03 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Account changed to williamgeorgegardner 5/15/10
OK fine thats great also would the X100e be good for programming because I need it to be portable for work and I need a laptop.

_________________
CompTechExpert
Learning to program
Tech central forum
YouTube


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 5:37 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7904
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
comptechexpert wrote:
Any thoughts?


Why don't you just Google up the system requirements for the programming software that you will be running? I looked up a few of those you listed and they seem to require only Pentium III and no more than a couple hundred MB of RAM. All desktops and laptops made since 2002 easily meet those requirements.

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 5:40 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:03 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Account changed to williamgeorgegardner 5/15/10
Thanks thats great what about the X100e?

_________________
CompTechExpert
Learning to program
Tech central forum
YouTube


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 5:52 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7904
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
comptechexpert wrote:
Thanks thats great what about the X100e?


The X100e just came out, 8 years after 2002, so of course it's powerful enough. If I were you, I would worry more about the screen's resolution, because the X100e's 768 rows of pixels won't allow you to see that many lines of text. But considering that you want something very light and small, brand new, and very cheap, I think you have very limited options and all of them have 1366x768 or lower resolutions. So, just go for the X100e.

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 5:59 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:03 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Account changed to williamgeorgegardner 5/15/10
Thanks but to optimise it for programming is there anything i can do such as upgrade it etc. And after the upgrade will it be a good programming rig or what?

It is the X100e with 2GB of RAM and a 250GB hard drive and Windows 7 Professional with a 1.6GHz processor.
I know this is not relevant but it is the black one because I want it to look professional.

Quote:
The X100e just came out, 8 years after 2002, so of course it's powerful enough. If I were you, I would worry more about the screen's resolution, because the X100e's 768 rows of pixels won't allow you to see that many lines of text. But considering that you want something very light and small, brand new, and very cheap, I think you have very limited options and all of them have 1366x768 or lower resolutions. So, just go for the X100e.

Also what do you mean by "all of them have 1366x768 or lower resolutions" ?

As well as the previous questions could you please give me your opinion on the X100e alongside the T42 for programming?

Admin note: Combined four consecutive posts

_________________
CompTechExpert
Learning to program
Tech central forum
YouTube


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:20 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 7904
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
comptechexpert wrote:
Thanks but to optimise it for programming is there anything i can do such as upgrade it etc. And after the upgrade will it be a good programming rig or what?


Like I said, the X100e (and all other desktops/laptops/netbooks made since 2002) is powerful enough for programming even without any upgrades. The only way you could make it a better programming rig would be to upgrade the screen to one with a higher resolution, but I am not aware of any 11.6" LCD that has a higher res than 1366x768. Even if there was, the upgrade would be expensive. Of course you could attach an external monitor with high resolution, but I don't think that's what you are asking about.

comptechexpert wrote:
Also what do you mean by "all of them have 1366x768 or lower resolutions" ?


It means all of the laptops that meet your requirements have low display resolutions, i.e. 1366x768, 1280x800, 1024x600, 1024x576, etc. Working on these low-res screens means you will have to scroll up and down a lot while working on your programs. I haven't done programming in over a decade but programmers often say that vertical screen real estate is very important. In other words, you want the second number in the resolution measurements (i.e. "768", "800", "600" and "576" in the above examples) to be as big as possible. The X100e has 1366x768, and 768 is very low. But like I said, given your criteria, you are limited to 1366x768. If you could tolerate used and bigger laptops, you would have higher-res options like 1400x1050 and 1600x1200.

comptechexpert wrote:
As well as the previous questions could you please give me your opinion on the X100e alongside the T42 for programming?


The T42 is much heavier and bigger, and you can't buy new ones any more. But it does offer 1400x1050 resolution in many (though not all) models.

_________________
Dell Inspiron 7500; Gateway NX860X; HP EliteBook 8740w; Panasonic CF-Y9; Sony Pro13, VGN-P530CH
Dell OptiPlex 9010 & 760, Precision 390; HP d7900, Elite 8300, 8200 & 8000
Dell 3008WFP,U2711,2408WFP,sp2309w,ST2220M,ST2210B,2007FP; HP ZR2740w,L2201x; Lenovo L220X; Samsung 2343BWX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:22 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:03 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Account changed to williamgeorgegardner 5/15/10
Well I may plug in an external monitor,also I know where to get a second hand T42 so the T42 would be the main programming computer and the X100e would be my portable programming computer and as I say I may also use an external monitor, so alongside each other would the X100e and the T42 be a good programming setup.

Plus thanks for all the other great information!!!!

Admin note: Deleted follow-up "C'mon people!" post. This type of post is not needed.

_________________
CompTechExpert
Learning to program
Tech central forum
YouTube


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 4:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:44 am
Posts: 35
Location: Ramsgate, Kent, UK
I think it would be a good idea to plug in an external monitor!

I have an A61e Small Form Factor Lenovo, a nice small box with external power supply like a laptop.

I have recently upgraded it Win 7 64 and it all works well

Mainly Photo Juggling, email, office

It was no good at all until I added the external monitor,

I couldn't see a thing!!!

keep at it !

_________________

Main K430, X201i, X220, X301
X21, X30, X31, X60s, X61, Hannspad 10.1"

Nikons D70s, D90,
Lumix LX5


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group