thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:03 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Atlanta, GA
I'm a newbie so I apologize if this is an obvious question. I have edited the .ini file and I see instructions for changing the temperature values depending on whether the program calculates in celcius or fahrenheit. But I don't see a parameter that instructs tpfancontrol to calculate it's temperatures in fahrenheit. How do I get tpfancontrol to calculate the temperatures in fahrenheit?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:03 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Atlanta, GA
I've solved my own problem. A careful review of tpfancontrol.ini revealed that if the temperature of the lowest level of profile "Smart Mode 1" will switch from celsius to fahrenheit if set higher than 79 degrees. I set it to 140 0 and now my display shows fahrenheit. It look good now. I'd like to suggest that you an ini file for fahrenheit users be distributed with the product where I could just rename the file and I'd be good to go. That would make it easy for a newbie like me. But then again, I wouldn't learn as much.

KB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:07 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Posts: 598
Location: United States
Nobody uses Fahrenheit with electronics. Why do you want the numbers in F anyway? It does not relate to anything else, as any comparisons or information you try to look up about about the temperatures you experience will all be in C. I really doubt they will ever make a different ini file for Fahrenheit when you can just make the simple change you mentioned.

_________________
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
R400 7439W1K- 8GB, Momentus XT 500GB, Intel 5300 WiFi
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB & Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:03 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Atlanta, GA
What is the point of your rude reply? The only reason you responded is to tell me I'm stupid. The reason I want the number is Fahrenheit is to understand quickly what is the temperature of this thing sitting on my legs. Thank you very much. I know all about celsius. I can convert it. But I've grown up in the US and Fahrenheit is our native language. I'm not trying to compare the temperature to anything electronic. I'm trying to compare the temperature to things biologic - my legs. Please refrain from posting such rude replies.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:29 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Posts: 598
Location: United States
kburel wrote:
What is the point of your rude reply? The only reason you responded is to tell me I'm stupid. The reason I want the number is Fahrenheit is to understand quickly what is the temperature of this thing sitting on my legs. Thank you very much. I know all about celsius. I can convert it. But I've grown up in the US and Fahrenheit is our native language. I'm not trying to compare the temperature to anything electronic. I'm trying to compare the temperature to things biologic - my legs. Please refrain from posting such rude replies.


You have my apologies. It was not my intent to sound rude, and I did not want to say you are stupid.

_________________
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
R400 7439W1K- 8GB, Momentus XT 500GB, Intel 5300 WiFi
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB & Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:08 am
Posts: 1
Location: Greely, CO
My thanks to the kind member who found a simple and effective way to change the temperature display of tpfancontrol from Degrees Celsius to Degrees Fahrenheit. I used the same method for Smart Mode 2, and it works Great! :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group