thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:19 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 146 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Hi Everyone
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:01 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 7:08 am
Posts: 81
Location: Mannheim, GERMANY
got my Wiag02 adapter today with an 5005gs chip on it, installed the wildpacketsdriver under XP and guess what... its working, selfconfigured its hardware(both on IRQ11/Wiags range:D0200000-D020FFFF/Intels range:D0210000-D021FFFF) means the Intel Chip changed its andressing so far i understood ur postings.

i just need to push the esc when it shows me that 09cwhatever error which is very anoying.(1802-is already "hacked")

Many ppl say that the EEPROM of the latest atheros chips is write protected.
Now my question/suggestion, is it possible to change the Intel Internel Network Adapters EEPROM? When yes is there any tool availiable?

Marc from germany


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:47 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 1:28 am
Posts: 610
Location: RI
Another update on my card: NO success.

I ordered an XG-621N card, thinking that it is an IBM card. But it turns out to be a Nortel card.

I burned the CD and applied the 1802 patch but I still my X41 complained with two beeps and one 1802 error.

This is the Atheros AR5212 Chip. I used a Dell laptop to flash the eeprom but still X41 will not recognize the card and complaining a 1802 error.

_________________
currently own X61S, T42, X31, Macbook Pro Unibody i5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:08 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 12906
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
T23 2647-4MU
Installed WiFi by replacing the modem with a SparkLAN WMIA-166AG WLAN 802.11a/b/g Mini PCI Module Atheros AR5006XS (AR5414A) Single Chip.
Fixed the 1802 error with no-1802.com
The LiveCD gives the EEPROM error, that it cannot write.
The 01C9 error keeps popping up, but after pressing Esc, the laptop boots up normally and works fine with the Sparklan drivers.
Currently running W2K, will install XPPro next.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: China shanghai
I found there is 24C32WP eeprom in my 5005GS. After searched with google, I got to know the pin 7 is for write protect. Maybe we can leave the pin 7 from the board, it should be enable the write. Someone can try this I hope.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: China shanghai
And there is a good way we should change the SUBSYS but not make the device type from Ethernet to Other ethernet, we will NOT get any error. We can change the SUBSYS to 04081468, it tells the NB the mini pci is a "really" card from IBM.
I write a chinese document show you how to change it, here is the link: http://www.51nb.com/forum/thread-427366-1-1.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 3
Location: Germany
Hello,

I have some minor updates for all who are still trying. I bought a
Gigabyte GN-WIAG02 minipci. It has an Atheros 5005GS Chipset.
I own a IBMThinkpad 570E which has an Agere Systems Modem
minipci. So, I put that one out and inserted the Giga one.
Started the Computer and while WinXP started, there came a blue screen
with "Hardware Malfunction" ... So, I tried to use the
"Linux live CD to remove the 1802 and 01C9 POST errors" CD ISO.
I think it's not the "1802 error" nor the "01C9 error".
While using the 01c9 utility to set the Class from 0x200 to 0x280
it said it could not write.

So, I looked on the Card and found the 24C32WP eeprom. After
downloading informations about it on
http://www.atmel.com/atmel/acrobat/doc0336.pdf
it says that PIN 7 is the WP Write Protect PIN. It says when it is on VCC
it disables write, when on Ground it allows it and when not connected
it is put on Ground. So, took a pair of scissors, really small one and
destroyed PIN 7. After that I tried to use the remove01c9.c tool from the CD
again. It made several times a Retrying write mesage. After a restart
I saw the Class ID was now changed from 0x200 to 0x0013 !
I also compiled the idchanger.c tool,
http://www.dagarlas.org/stuff/computing ... dchanger.c
which can reads the whole range and show it.
When you make a idchanger -r 0xf4000000 it gives you the contents.
I have it not exactly in mind but BEFORE doing something
I had the following output

Reading 0 current value 0x0013 DEVICE
Reading 1 current value 0x168C VENDOR
Reading 2 current value 0x0200 CLASS
Reading 3 current value 0x0001
Reading 4 current value 0x0000
Reading 5 current value 0x5001
Reading 6 current value 0x0000
Reading 7 current value 0xE911 SUBSYS
Reading 8 current value 0x1458 SUBSYS

After applying the remove01c9.c it did NOT change the class
from 0x200 to 0x280 but to 0x0013 !

Reading 0 current value 0x0013 DEVICE
Reading 1 current value 0x168C VENDOR
Reading 2 current value 0x0013 CLASS
:

So, the good one, write protect was off, bad one, the value
was not changed as wanted. Anyway, I thought let's see
if it boots WinXP now when the Class is not 0x200 anymore.
But still, same error with blue screen and "Hardware Malfunction".
So, it must be something different. So, I thought I try the idchanger.c
to change the Vendor/Device + Subsys to something whole different
just for testing. I choose a IBM card (I think 8086:4220/8086:2711).
I tried idchanger -w 0xf4000000 0x4220 0x8086 0x2711 0x8086
So, I hoped that locations 0x00 0x01 0x07 and 0x08 would be
modified. Again, it made lots of Retrying messages (it must be the
loop in the source code) but after that everything was 0x0013 !
I mean Vendor,Device etc. I think with that the card was filled with
just 13's. Also, the informations like Atheros etc which I got before
with lspci -nv was gone. So, to conclude, somehow puting
the PIN 7 away allows write but somehow not the values are
written as the source codes should do. I wonder why the
loop came anyway, because with rereading the modiefied data
it should not need a rewrite anyway. It went through thre loop maybe
30-40 times.
So, at least I thought I try to reboot now, and now WinXP boots
without bluescreen. So, I guess the reason was the Vendor/Device
or subsys thing not the Class-ID and in the BIOS there's
some kind of look for it, even on the old Thinkpad models.

I guess, the Gigabyte card now is destryoed unless I manage to
write the original contents back on the eeprom, which I don't have
sadly.

Another think, even if I had managed to change the Vendor ID,
the driver form atheros has 2 files, *.inf & *.sys file. If I had managed
to change the Vendor/Device and if I would have changed *.inf
File to fit that new values, would it have been worked or are
also Vendor things in the binary sys file ?

OH YES, VERY IMPORTANT. I bought a Gigabyte GN-WI01GS with an
Ralink chipset (14 EUR) and with this one, the Computer started
with no problem, the driver installed fine and WLAN works. Just
to let other people know that maybe the RALINK will also work on
other Notbooks who have problems with Atheros.

Maybe someone has an Idea how to repair/reprogramm the WIAG02
eeprom with the original values ? Maybe someone has it as file ?

Ok, Best Wishes
Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: China shanghai
zimso wrote:
Hello,

I have some minor updates for all who are still trying. I bought a
Gigabyte GN-WIAG02 minipci. It has an Atheros 5005GS Chipset.
I own a IBMThinkpad 570E which has an Agere Systems Modem
minipci. So, I put that one out and inserted the Giga one.
Started the Computer and while WinXP started, there came a blue screen
with "Hardware Malfunction" ... So, I tried to use the
"Linux live CD to remove the 1802 and 01C9 POST errors" CD ISO.
I think it's not the "1802 error" nor the "01C9 error".
While using the 01c9 utility to set the Class from 0x200 to 0x280
it said it could not write.

So, I looked on the Card and found the 24C32WP eeprom. After
downloading informations about it on
http://www.atmel.com/atmel/acrobat/doc0336.pdf
it says that PIN 7 is the WP Write Protect PIN. It says when it is on VCC
it disables write, when on Ground it allows it and when not connected
it is put on Ground. So, took a pair of scissors, really small one and
destroyed PIN 7. After that I tried to use the remove01c9.c tool from the CD
again. It made several times a Retrying write mesage. After a restart
I saw the Class ID was now changed from 0x200 to 0x0013 !
I also compiled the idchanger.c tool,
http://www.dagarlas.org/stuff/computing ... dchanger.c
which can reads the whole range and show it.
When you make a idchanger -r 0xf4000000 it gives you the contents.
I have it not exactly in mind but BEFORE doing something
I had the following output

Reading 0 current value 0x0013 DEVICE
Reading 1 current value 0x168C VENDOR
Reading 2 current value 0x0200 CLASS
Reading 3 current value 0x0001
Reading 4 current value 0x0000
Reading 5 current value 0x5001
Reading 6 current value 0x0000
Reading 7 current value 0xE911 SUBSYS
Reading 8 current value 0x1458 SUBSYS

After applying the remove01c9.c it did NOT change the class
from 0x200 to 0x280 but to 0x0013 !

Reading 0 current value 0x0013 DEVICE
Reading 1 current value 0x168C VENDOR
Reading 2 current value 0x0013 CLASS
:

So, the good one, write protect was off, bad one, the value
was not changed as wanted. Anyway, I thought let's see
if it boots WinXP now when the Class is not 0x200 anymore.
But still, same error with blue screen and "Hardware Malfunction".
So, it must be something different. So, I thought I try the idchanger.c
to change the Vendor/Device + Subsys to something whole different
just for testing. I choose a IBM card (I think 8086:4220/8086:2711).
I tried idchanger -w 0xf4000000 0x4220 0x8086 0x2711 0x8086
So, I hoped that locations 0x00 0x01 0x07 and 0x08 would be
modified. Again, it made lots of Retrying messages (it must be the
loop in the source code) but after that everything was 0x0013 !
I mean Vendor,Device etc. I think with that the card was filled with
just 13's. Also, the informations like Atheros etc which I got before
with lspci -nv was gone. So, to conclude, somehow puting
the PIN 7 away allows write but somehow not the values are
written as the source codes should do. I wonder why the
loop came anyway, because with rereading the modiefied data
it should not need a rewrite anyway. It went through thre loop maybe
30-40 times.
So, at least I thought I try to reboot now, and now WinXP boots
without bluescreen. So, I guess the reason was the Vendor/Device
or subsys thing not the Class-ID and in the BIOS there's
some kind of look for it, even on the old Thinkpad models.

Tim

First, thank you for your update. Can you show or draw a photo about your atheros card after you block pin 7? I also have a 5005GS card, I don't sure which pin is pin 7. Maybe we can connect pin 7 to pin 8, because of pin 8 is VCC.

And there are a lots of tools can write EEPROM directly, the tool named EEPROM Programer, you can find more detail from http://se-ed.net/mpu51/eprom/eprom.html. You can try it and rewrite the datas for you EEPROM on your mini card.

Please keep your update here, it is very interesting. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 3
Location: Germany
Hi,

I'm at work, so a short reply. The card looked like this:

WIAG02

Front view, Y=Antenna connectors
E = EEprom
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
x Y Y x
x 1 EE 8 x
x 4 EE 5 x
x x
x x
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

E 24c32 looks like this

xxxxxx
1 x x 8
2 x x 7
3 x x 6
4 x x 5
xxxxxx

4=GND
8=VCC
7=WP (Write Protect)

I think PIN 1 can be seen twice. Above EE is a little point
on the board, it is a little bit left. Second and more important
the left/up PIN has a little scratch on the black plastic. Do
you see this. I think both mean, PIN1 is the most left, most up
PIN looking straight to the board and then Chip.
I destroyed Pin7. So according to the manual, it is then put
to GND and thus write enable. Normal state is that it is tied
to VCC (which is the same as PIN 8) and has write protect.
So putting Pin7 to Pin8 doesn't make sense because it IS
then write protected as I understand it.

The problem is, I don't have the original data of the 24c32 chip.
You could only reprogramm it if you have the contents of
the chip which you may get with idchanger -r <address>
But Idon't have it sadly :-(( So, the card is useless for me now.

Tim
[/quote]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 3
Location: Germany
Code:
Front view, Y=Antenna connectors
E = EEprom
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
x                                                    Y    Y       x
x    1 EE 8                                                     x
x    4 EE 5                                                     x
x                                                                    x
x                                                                    x
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

E 24c32 looks like this

   xxxxxx
1 x       x 8
2 x       x 7
3 x       x 6
4 x       x 5
   xxxxxx

4=GND
8=VCC
7=WP (Write Protect)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: China shanghai
zimso wrote:
Hi,

I'm at work, so a short reply. The card looked like this:

WIAG02

Front view, Y=Antenna connectors
E = EEprom
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
x Y Y x
x 1 EE 8 x
x 4 EE 5 x
x x
x x
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

E 24c32 looks like this

xxxxxx
1 x x 8
2 x x 7
3 x x 6
4 x x 5
xxxxxx

4=GND
8=VCC
7=WP (Write Protect)

I think PIN 1 can be seen twice. Above EE is a little point
on the board, it is a little bit left. Second and more important
the left/up PIN has a little scratch on the black plastic. Do
you see this. I think both mean, PIN1 is the most left, most up
PIN looking straight to the board and then Chip.
I destroyed Pin7. So according to the manual, it is then put
to GND and thus write enable. Normal state is that it is tied
to VCC (which is the same as PIN 8) and has write protect.
So putting Pin7 to Pin8 doesn't make sense because it IS
then write protected as I understand it.

The problem is, I don't have the original data of the 24c32 chip.
You could only reprogramm it if you have the contents of
the chip which you may get with idchanger -r <address>
But Idon't have it sadly :-(( So, the card is useless for me now.

Tim
[/quote]
Tim,

Great news, my card is works on my X30 after change 0x0200 to 0x1300 when I cut off pin 7. You can find more detail about my card from http://www.51nb.com/forum/attachments/m ... Dny8H9.jpg, thank you for your important message.

Steven


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: China shanghai
Hi, this is short introduce how to crack atheros 5005 mini pci card. In fact, we can't write the eeprom of 5005. After a lots of googles, I found the pin 7 of eeprom named 24c32 is the key. The write protect can be disabledbb by cut off pin 7, why do I know cut pin 7? Because because of it says by the IC's datasheet, but not my owned, xixi;) Which one is pin 7, you can find it from http://www.51nb.com/forum/attachment.php?aid=290876. After cut off pin 7, the write protect is disable. We can modify the data in eeprom. Please run NO-01C9 from first topic. Hope it can help everybody. Please keep your update here, Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:07 am
Posts: 4
Dear all

I plug in a Atheros 5212A wireless card in my R51E,it doesn't show the 1802 error without crack because I modified the pci id to "168c 0013" subsys "04081468"

but it doesn't work after I install the IBM wireless driver for it,anyone can help me? Thank you very much.

BTW,it can works fine with the original driver


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: China shanghai
ivan_choi wrote:
Dear all

I plug in a Atheros 5212A wireless card in my R51E,it doesn't show the 1802 error without crack because I modified the pci id to "168c 0013" subsys "04081468"

but it doesn't work after I install the IBM wireless driver for it,anyone can help me? Thank you very much.

BTW,it can works fine with the original driver

Almost, we use atheros driver but not IBM's drive. You'd better use public drive from atheros.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:31 pm 
Offline
Special Member

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:24 pm
Posts: 5741
Location: UC Berkeley, California
I recommend using the driver straight from Atheros as well; namely because the IBM driver wasn't meant to be run on that R51E and handle an Atheros card even thought it is supposed to do so on other machines. :)

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43 Model 2668-72U 14.1" SXGA+ 1GB |IBM 701c

~o/
I met someone who looks a lot like you.
She does the things you do.
But she is an IBM.
/~o ---ELO from "Yours Truly 2059"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:07 am
Posts: 4
christopher_wolf wrote:
I recommend using the driver straight from Atheros as well; namely because the IBM driver wasn't meant to be run on that R51E and handle an Atheros card even thought it is supposed to do so on other machines. :)


but, the IBM Software Installed can find the R51E wireless driver for my atheros 5212A, so I tried to use it but fail.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:07 am
Posts: 4
can someone help me to change back the value from 0280 to 0200 for the wireless card?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: China shanghai
ivan_choi wrote:
can someone help me to change back the value from 0280 to 0200 for the wireless card?

I had replied you in 51nb. Please check url http://www.51nb.com/forum/thread-427366-3-1.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:16 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:02 am
Posts: 52
Location: Central California
Worked like a charm on an Atheros 5213A-00 mini-PCI FRU-93P3477 plugged into a T23 style 2647-8MU.

_________________
Dngrsone

T23 style 2647-8MU P3 1.13GHz dual-boot XP Pro/ Slackware 11

Saving lives, one protein at a time. Team 12912


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:20 am
Posts: 11
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Yep, cutting pin 7 works!

I couldn't apply the 01c9-Patch because I've got a AR5005. After cutting pin 7 the patcher still complained that it couldn't write (reading didn't work either), but after a reboot the error message was gone! Since I'm running Linux on this machine I can't tell if the Windows drivers still work with the changed ID.

Here's two pictures if you need help identifying the correct pin to cut:
(I assume no warranty whatsoever, the risk of damaging hardware is entirely up to you!)

Image
Image

Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:54 am
Posts: 16
Location: China shanghai
iHawk wrote:
Yep, cutting pin 7 works!

I couldn't apply the 01c9-Patch because I've got a AR5005. After cutting pin 7 the patcher still complained that it couldn't write (reading didn't work either), but after a reboot the error message was gone! Since I'm running Linux on this machine I can't tell if the Windows drivers still work with the changed ID.

Here's two pictures if you need help identifying the correct pin to cut:
(I assume no warranty whatsoever, the risk of damaging hardware is entirely up to you!)

Thank you!


Great job, with my experience, the "modified" mini card is works on windows excellent. You will found the card type will be changed with the data location 0x02 in your eeprom.


Last edited by p4s2wd on Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:35 pm 
Offline
Special Member

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:24 pm
Posts: 5741
Location: UC Berkeley, California
Awesome job everybody. :D

I changed the title of the thread to include a notice about large pics as well, hope nobody minds. :)

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43 Model 2668-72U 14.1" SXGA+ 1GB |IBM 701c

~o/
I met someone who looks a lot like you.
She does the things you do.
But she is an IBM.
/~o ---ELO from "Yours Truly 2059"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:20 am
Posts: 11
Location: Koblenz, Germany
p4s2wd wrote:
Great job, with my experience, the "modified" mini card is works on windows excellent. You will found the card type will be changed with the data location 0x02 in your eeprom.


Yes, I can confirm that. I just installed XP on the machine, and the wifi card works like a charm running the original GigaByte drivers.

iHawk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 24
Location: Austria
Would this patch also be necessary if I want to update my Intel 2100 WLAN card to an Intel 2915ABG card on my X31?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:20 am
Posts: 11
Location: Koblenz, Germany
If so, it would only be the 1802 patch, in case the new adapter is not whitelisted in the X31.

iHawk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:29 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 1935
Location: Orlando, Florida
FYI.

I use this NO 1802 error patch to install in my T40 [url=http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=110054243614]this card a 802.11a/b/g High Power Mini-PCI Card (400mW)
New Atheros 5006x Sixth generation chipset [/url] and works like a charm.

Thanks!! :Nice:

_________________
X32/2.0GHZ/2GB/ENGENIUS EMP-8602+S 600mw mini pci/WD 250GB
X60/1.83GHZ/2GB/Atheros/7K100


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:04 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Media, PA
Hello. I appreciate everybodys time and effort.
I have a thinkpad t30 2366 82u. I will be installing a an Atheros Super G+xr wireless card which has the AR5005 GS Atheros 5th generation chipset. I have downloaded and burned the image listed on this discussion on to a CD. I hope that this would prevent the 1082 error and now the other one as well? Will this in fact correct both issues? Does this change the info on the card really and not on the laptop itself? The card is on its way and I just want to make sure all will be ok. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:20 am
Posts: 11
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Well, in any case you have to install the 1802-patch before installing the card. Then, if you get the 01c9-error, you have to apply the 01c9-patch while the card is still inserted.
The 1802 changes the table of known-good Wifi adapters in the T30's bios, while the 01c9 changes the card's PCI id within the card itself. If the card's EEPROM is locked, you have to cut the pin to allow writing to it as pictured above. If you don't want to do that, the T30 will still boot, but the error message is quite annoying. Without the 1802 patch, it will not boot though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:04 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Media, PA
Thank you for the reply. I just want to make sure the image I downloaded from this site and made into a bootable cd is what I need. Is this cd image in fact both the 1802 patch and the other fix as well? In which case do I just follow through on some of the steps and not others for just the 1802 patch?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:20 am
Posts: 11
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Both patches are included. But remember to apply the 1802 before inserting the new card!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 24
Location: Austria
iHawk wrote:
Both patches are included. But remember to apply the 1802 before inserting the new card!

But when the card is supported from the BIOS you risk your waranty, or not?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 146 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group