thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SSD on ThinkPad T30
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 3:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 5:44 am
Posts: 23
Location: Milano, Italy
Hi,

my dad uses an old ThinkPad T30 with the following components:

CPU Pentium 4M 2 GHz
RAM 1 GB
HD 40 GB 5400 RPM
Graphic card ATI Mobility Radeon 7500
OS Windows XP Pro SP3

The computer works fine and it's perfect for his needs, but I would like to replace the current hard disk with an SSD (60 or 120 GB) and I have some questions for you:

1. Can you suggest me an SSD already tested with this computer?
2. Is it necessary to update the BIOS to use an SSD?
3. Will the SSD be detected in its full capacity (60 or 120 GB)?
4. Is Windows XP Pro SP3 able to manage properly the SSD?
5. I have the recovery disks. Will I be able to format the SSD and install OS and drivers without problems?

Thanks
Manuel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD on ThinkPad T30
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:25 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5772
Location: Israel
1) This computer takes PATA IDE drives. There are very few such drives available, and those that are are deemed overpriced and not good at all (i.e., Kingspec). The other option is an enclosure that includes a SATA SSD and a SATA-to-PATA bridge. This is deemed the preferred option by most, but I have no first hand experience with anything like that.

2) No.

3) Yes.

4) Not really. XP is not aware of the concept of SSD, so will treat it just like any hard drive. In particular the TRIM command which is used to periodically wipe unused blocks on the drive, which increases performance, is not supported. So you will have to rely on a software utility to do so manually, or use a drive with some built-in garbage collection capabilities in the firmware that make TRIM unnecessary.

5) Yes, but it will likely not align the partition properly, and so the SSD performance will be lackluster. It is possible to manually align and format the partition and install XP from its installation media, without formatting, but I am not aware of any way to do so with the recovery disks.

The computer being old as it is - not sure it is a worthwhile adventure. Perhaps a simple 7200RPM hard drive will be sufficient.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD on ThinkPad T30
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:06 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:43 am
Posts: 205
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana
For (1), you could also use use a mSata in a mSata-to-PATA bridge. If I am not mistaken, using a SATA-to-PATA bridge would require more room since you are using a full size sata drive with extensions at the front.

_________________
Thinkpads: T23, T41 (ATI bug), T43, T60, T61, W530

T61 (favorite): 2.4 GHz T7700, 4GB RAM, 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD, 802.11bgn, SXGA+, Intel GMA, T60 lid assembly, Middleton BIOS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD on ThinkPad T30
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:33 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12877
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
brchan wrote:
For (1), you could also use use a mSata in a mSata-to-PATA bridge. If I am not mistaken, using a SATA-to-PATA bridge would require more room since you are using a full size sata drive with extensions at the front.


The problem here is that one gets atrocious speeds since this generation of ThinkPads can't properly read SATA drives...see here:

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=115478

Honestly, the best option for such a machine is to get a 7200rpm HDD and max out the RAM at 2GB, then call it a day.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriters collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T61p (4:3)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD on ThinkPad T30
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 4:16 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 1579
Location: RTP, North Carolina
I have owned several T30 with the suggested 7200 rpm HDD, 2 gig cpu and 2 gig memory.
For a machine of this vintage is was surprisingly fast.
Take the advise and dont over think this. 99% of what can be gained will be with this set up.

Ron

_________________
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011

X30 x 2
X31 x 2
T30 (down to one, the rest donated)
Z61t (my NEW primary)
Z61m (wife's new daily driver)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD on ThinkPad T30
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 5:44 am
Posts: 23
Location: Milano, Italy
Thanks for your suggestions! As for the RAM advice, are you sure that this computer supports 2 GB? The official specs say that the max RAM is 1 GB...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD on ThinkPad T30
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:07 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12877
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Manuel wrote:
As for the RAM advice, are you sure that this computer supports 2 GB? The official specs say that the max RAM is 1 GB...


The official specs were published when the largest DIMM was 512MB, and never updated. With both slots working, T30 will take 2x1GB of PC 2100 (DDR266) or PC 2700 (DDR333) laptop RAM.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriters collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T61p (4:3)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group