thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Fri May 22, 2015 9:34 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 14
Location: Phoenix, Arizona - US
Is screen flicker pretty normal on these machines? It's most prominent when I'm loading a page or scrolling up or down on a page. Sorry for all the questions, but I'm still trying to get this dialed in.

Thank you.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:50 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14268
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
It's not.
Check the LCD cable connections on both sides. It may have come loose.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for 15" T60/R60/R61 Frankenpads
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 10:56 am 
Offline
Moderator1
Moderator1

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:17 pm
Posts: 5525
Location: Wisconsin
Do you have up-to-date drivers? I have seen this with generic drivers with Windows XP.

_________________
"Say hallo to ma lil' friend"...Rules of the Road

Selling off my Thinkpad museum :-/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:21 pm 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 1637
Location: RTP, North Carolina
I have also had several that flickered when pushed and charged with the wrong charger. 100% CPU with the 56 watt.

Ron

_________________
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011

X30 x 2
X31 x 2
T30 (down to one, the rest donated)
Z61t (my NEW primary)
Z61m (wife's new daily driver)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 14
Location: Phoenix, Arizona - US
I got a after market battery off of Ebay. Maybe that's it.

The FRU on my charger is 85G6738. It says the input is 100v 50-60Hz 90va. Output is 16v 2.2A.

I installed the newest video driver yesterday.

I'll give the LCD cables a shot.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 10:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 14
Location: Phoenix, Arizona - US
The screen flicker seems to be associated with the cheapo after market battery that I bought off of EBAY. If I take out the battery and surf the net I don't get a screen flicker. Oh well, maybe this will help someone out someday.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 2:40 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 9529
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
arizona wrote:
Output is 16v 2.2A.

If that is the case, then the supply is the wrong one for the T30. You should be using a 72 watt adapter. The output would be 16V @ 4.5A.

_________________
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T410 T420 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:22 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 1637
Location: RTP, North Carolina
jronald wrote:
I have also had several that flickered when pushed and charged with the wrong charger. 100% CPU with the 56 watt.

Ron


Yep, what I said.....................

Ron

_________________
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011

X30 x 2
X31 x 2
T30 (down to one, the rest donated)
Z61t (my NEW primary)
Z61m (wife's new daily driver)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scrren Flicker - T30
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:04 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:28 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
I did a double take myself when I saw that 16v @ 2.2A. instead of the standard 4.5.

If I can offer an alternate theory, Arizona, I wonder if it just doesn't have the oomph to run both the system and the charging circuit (including the cheapo battery), causing the flicker with the battery installed. But without the battery, it can manage to do the job. Like Ron said...

I'd definitely get a replacement for that power supply.

_________________
--Mike Blake
    T30: 2366-81U: Vista test machine
    T42: 2373-4WU: Daily driver that stays put
    Z61t: 9441-CTO: My mobile machine


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited