thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:07 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 4:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:22 am
Posts: 9
Location: Charlotte, NC
Hi!

22 May 2016 I wrote http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121110&hilit=headless+firewall detailing a build for a ThinkPad T61 Headless Firewall on Fedora 23.

I've been using this firewall ever since but noticed occasional "hitching" when playing games or using VOIP where everything just stops for 2 to 20 seconds. The challenge is it is infrequent so difficult to test. I have tested using ping and discovered complete packet loss during the periods of hitching I experience (via game or voip).

My question: Is my ThinkPad (see hw detail, below) powerful enough to support being a router, dns, and firewall for a 300mb/s connection?

HW Details:
1 ThinkPad T61 Type 7663-CTO
- Note: For those that aren't TP-experts the "CTO" means "Configured To Order".
- 2G Memory, 200GB HD, ethernet: Intel Corp. 82566MM Gigabit (sb NIC)

1 Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)

Code:
~]# dmidecode | grep Version
   Version: xxxxxxxx (2.29 )
   Version: ThinkPad T61
   Version: Not Available
   Version: Not Available
   Version: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T7500  @ 2.20GHz
   SBDS Version: 03.01

_________________
ThePowerTool


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 5:01 pm 
Offline
RBS15000
RBS15000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 16598
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
At just 2GB RAM that machine is totally underpowered.
It can have up to 8GB and should have at least 2x2GB.
I'm aware that Linux normally needs less RAM, but still...
Also, putting in a ~250GB SSD instead of that HD would speed up things considerably.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
And don't forget the Motherboards!
Refresh if needed!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited