thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 27
Location: Irving, TX
What could be the reason for horizontal grey line in middle of the screen, I bought a T61 14 Wide from ebay, the only problem is the horizontal grey line in the middle of the screen, seems it is an LCD issue, just wanted to clarify here in the forum

Can this be due to RAM?....Is this an indication of complete LCD panel failure or can i use it for a while if i dont bother about this line?

_________________
Param

T61 14.1 Wide T7300 2.0 Ghz
Dead T61 (6459CT) T8100 2.1Ghz | 15.4" WXGA TFT| 3.0 GB | 160 GB 5400 | 128MB NV Quadro 140M| Vista Home Premium
HP DV6 Pavilion
Toshiba Satellite-A100


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:51 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2692
Location: Paragould AR USA
Hard to say for sure without seeing the line, but usually such things are caused by a damaged LCD panel. About the only way to fix it would be to replace the panel. On the other hand, there isn't any harm in using it as it is, if the line doesn't bother you too much.

I have not been able to look at such defects for very long before I start wanting to repair it. Even a ThinkPad I once bought with a damaged LCD with the intention of using it with an external monitor exclusively. Still, it wasn't long before I was replacing the damage LCD. I just couldn't stand it.

EDIT: I just noticed your signature. Is the T61 in your signature the one we are talking about? I guess not, since the sig one is 15.4", and your asking about a 14". Still the question is does this 14" have nvidia graphics? It could be the GPU causing the line instead of the panel.

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:32 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:08 am
Posts: 254
Location: Atlanta, GA
it is not RAM related.

if you have nVidia GPU then the problem could be 50/50 on either the GPU or the LCD.
if you have the Intel GPU then it's the LCD most likely.

you can still use the laptop though, but I'm sure it will bother you at some point.


P.S. it could be the inverter for the LCD as well ..

_________________
T61: 14.1" 1400x1050, T9500 @ 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM CL4, nVidia 140m @ 600/925 MHz, Samsung 830 256GB, DVD-rec, 5300agn, FP, BT, 6-cell, clean XP Pro
T61: 14.1"w 1280x800, T9500 @ 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM CL4, Intel X3100, Samsung 830 256GB, DVD-rec, 4965agn, 4-cell, clean XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 27
Location: Irving, TX
Thanks for the info, by the way the T61 in my signature is already dead due to faulty GPU and am now in possession another used T61 14 wide with intel GPU

Thanks
Param


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:41 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Posts: 1734
Location: Hockessin, Delaware
nVidia GPU failure does sometimes present with graphic artifacts, but not with one so specific and symmetrical. I'd say this is probably an LCD problem. The easiest way to fix it would be to swap out the Lid assembly. I do have many T61 parts, including many displays, but the cheapest fix would be a WXGA lid, which I'm currently out of stock of. I do have a A+ conditon WXGA+ lid assembly, and I can get you the WXGA as soon as one is available, or as mentioned, you can probably continue to use it as it is.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group