thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: T60p stalls randomly...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:45 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
So ever since I got this machine in my hands it's been annoying me with crashing and stalling.
I've tried to get to the problem part that's making those issues but still no success, so help is really needed.
The machine itself is T60p (2007-A16) with Intel C2D T5600, ATI FireGL 5200, 3GB RAM (1GB is original lenovo, and the other is Kingston), 120GB HDD (not original), 9 cell battery etc. Win XP SP2

In the very begging I've used the laptop with another HDD (original lenovo part) - same problems.
Second thing I though could be causing the problem was the RAM. For the moment I've tried using 2x1GB RAM both identical (2Rx8 PC2-5300S-555-12) and the other two (Kingston PC2-667 + 2Rx16 PC2-6400S-666-12).
I've tried any configuration of the above RAM pieces, even single RAM, still no success.

Besides this, I though it was caused by the high (IMO) temperature (60-70* C) but even with lower temperatures, after the cooling mod, the laptop still stalls and crashes.
Now I'm begging to think that It could be the AC adapter (65W) causing those problems, since it could not supply enough power for such laptop.
I'm quite confused, so if you have an idea or some experience please let me know.

PS: Today I've been noticing that when it's charging or discharging the battery the problem does not occur. Which is strange because when discharging it is set to save power, BUT when charging the AC adapter charges the battery and supplies the laptop which seems to be more power draining, than just supplying the laptop only. (which is odd if the power supply is the PITA)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:24 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12025
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
The temperatures that you're reporting are quite common for a machine with V5200.

Try running the machine without the battery and let us know how it behaves.

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61, T61p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:25 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 12915
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
With the ATI FireGL GPU you do need the 90W AC adapter.
The one you have now is meant for T60 with Intel graphics.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:36 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
RealBlackStuff wrote:
With the ATI FireGL GPU you do need the 90W AC adapter.
The one you have now is meant for T60 with Intel graphics.


I know that for sure, but while waiting for the 90W AC adapter, this is an issue that's quite worrying me. I though that it was not caused by battery or AC adapter.
Anyway the system now still seems to be stable without the battery, but I cannot decide whether it's the battery or the AC.
I'll give it a shot with the 90W AC and report then.

EDIT: Without battery - not a sign of the problem. I suppose the AC Adapter is weak.
EDIT2: Putted back the battery - problem appears, so selected lighter power profile, and works stable until now.

Thanks a lot guys, I think the problem is almost solved :thumbs-UP:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:55 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
The new AC Adapter is here, plugged in, and everything seems to be working perfect.
Thanks for the advices.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:48 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Hello again...

The problem is still here. I have no idea why, but again the laptop freezes randomly, with the new AC adapter plugged in.
As said before - without battery the machine works perfectly. On battery it starts freezing when below 50% (or less).
Could it be the non original battery I'm using?

PS Have in mind I've plugged in an original Lenovo WWAN module (Ericsson F3507G 3G) but still have not reflashed the BIOS. But didn't receive any error messages (don't know why).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:15 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 12915
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Nobody in his/her right mind would rely on a non-IBM/Lenovo battery.
Get a real one, even if used.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:20 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Nobody in his/her right mind would rely on a non-IBM/Lenovo battery.
Get a real one, even if used.


I've got same problems with an original 6-cell battery.
Ideas?

EDIT Last night after one of the crashes, the sound card was not working, either in the device manager etc.
Took a look at the BIOS, and didn't find an option to disable it. Could it be that the problem could be related to the SB :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:39 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Posts: 1651
Location: Hockessin, Delaware
I would try swapping a harddrive from a similar system, which would tell me if the problem is software or not, but if you don't have another drive to boot from, try a Linux live cd. If it crashes in linux too, then you'll know it's a hardware problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:51 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Ok, some news on the problem.
After stalling and rebooting, the windows could not always find the sound card.
At the moment this doesn't sound good to me, cause I think it could be a broken MB, but it could also mean that the windows XP is just making a trouble.

BTW I've installed the WWAN modem (Ericsson F3705G) and it worked just fine, except that when I press Fn+F5 I don't see it as a device there. Should I reflash the BOIS in order to have it displayed it in this menu? The card seem to be working just fine. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:02 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12025
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Try booting a "live" Linux CD and see whether the problems persist there...if they do, it's a hardware (likely motherboard) problem...

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43p

Abused daily: T43pSF, T60, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61, T61p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:06 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
In the morning I found out that the HDD metal cover was not screwed to the HDD. So put four screws and no problems for the moment.
To be honest I didn't have much time testing the laptop, but in the evening I'll see if it works stable. If not, I'll give it a try with the HDD from my old T60.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:58 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Problems seems to be solved - under the CPU found a wire, which probably is a pin mod.
Now it's removed and everything works fine, even with the non original battery :mrgreen:
I'll keep you you informed if problem still exists

PS have this in mind when buying 2nd hand laptops :thumbs-UP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group