Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at
  Support the forum, shop at
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Sat Oct 10, 2015 4:08 am

All times are UTC-05:00

Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:32 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

I am having problems with WiFi card. The card is 4965AG.

So over the night the wireless stop working. There was no way that i could connect to my wifi.

It always said that the connection is having limited access. But the internet was working fine with my other laptop.

I bought a new mini WiFi card and it is also not working. The Windows not recognize it.

So i have 2 Wireless card which are not working. (one is recognized by the W7 the other one not!)

Is there problem in cables or where should i look for the problem?

Thanks in advance

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:12 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:29 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Fleming Island, FL
Since your other laptop is connecting (wirelessly?) just fine, the problem seems to be either the location of your computer (too far from router, EMI/RFI), or your router is not configured correctly to accommodate your PC. Did you change the security method or key? Is it possible someone has changed the configuration of your router to include MAC filtering and the exclusion of all but indicated MAC addresses? Do you receive your LAN IP address dynamically, or have you created a manually assigned IP in your TCP/IP properties? Can you see your router when you view available wireless networks? And finally, are you entering your security key in correctly? It is case sensitive of course and make sure you aren't including a space either before or after the key you enter.

Thinkpad X61

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:58 am 

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Posts: 1830
Location: Hockessin, Delaware
I think there is a very good chance all you needed to do was power off your router and all computers, then reboot them all. I've seen the problem you report many times and rebooting the network will usually fix it, but you could indeed have a unique problem.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:30 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14856
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
The quality of your router is also important.
I run only ASUS routers.
My current RT-N16 (with Tomato Firmware) has now been up 159 days without rebooting (bought in September 2011).
The previous ASUS WL-520GU router had been up (uninterrrupted) for nearly 3 years and was only replaced because I wanted wifi-N and Gigabit ethernet.
Both routers have USB for an external printer and/or NAS.

Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for Mods and other Services

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited