thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:29 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 4:08 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 500
Location: Brooklyn, New York
I want to solder a DVI or HDMI port on to my T61 motherboard. I know the signals exist on the dock connector. Does anybody know the pinout?

EDIT: Looks like dual-link DVI signals are easily present on the dock connector. This should not be too complicated.

_________________
Give your T43/T43p/R52/X41 the SATA it deserves! http://mikejmoffitt.com/sata


Last edited by Bibin on Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:48 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:44 am
Posts: 89
Location: London, UK
buy thingy to hdmi and job done :) obviously you will have to run jack from earphone connector to the thingy of hdmi :)

_________________
IBM ThinkPad
T61 C2D-T8300 + FingerPrint.

ArchLinux ThinkPad
X220 i5-3320M


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:53 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 6344
Location: Israel
Bibin wrote:
EDIT: Looks like dual-link DVI signals are easily present on the dock connector. This should not be too complicated.
One thing to keep in mind is that you only need (can use) the single-link DVI signals. HDMI and DVI are identical up to single-link. Dual-link DVI is not compatible with HDMI, because HDMI uses a different approach (higher clocks rather than multiple links) to achieve higher resolutions. So if you are looking for a completely passive solution, you can go roughly up to 1920x1200 with the single link.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 6:49 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 500
Location: Brooklyn, New York
I see, that's a little bit disappointing. I'm not sure I'm going to bother going through with the mod simply because I have a T450s on the way.

EvoT61 wrote:
buy thingy to hdmi and job done :) obviously you will have to run jack from earphone connector to the thingy of hdmi :)

I'm having trouble understanding what this message is trying to say.

_________________
Give your T43/T43p/R52/X41 the SATA it deserves! http://mikejmoffitt.com/sata


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:14 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 6344
Location: Israel
Probably to get a USB to HDMI or VGA to HDMI converter, instead of modding.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 500
Location: Brooklyn, New York
dr_st wrote:
Probably to get a USB to HDMI or VGA to HDMI converter, instead of modding.

The former won't provide a decent image or accelerated graphics, especially limited by USB 2.0's bandwidth; those adapters are best used by putting them in the trash bin. The latter won't provide any convenience where HDMI is useful, and even still the resulting image will be worse than a native digital connection and consume more power.

_________________
Give your T43/T43p/R52/X41 the SATA it deserves! http://mikejmoffitt.com/sata


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:54 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 6344
Location: Israel
Yep.

Although in terms of static image quality I don't see why USB adapters would necessarily be inferior, and USB3 adapters can actually provide decent bandwidth. But the T61 does not have a USB3 port anyways, and although one can be added via ExpressCard, it is already far too complicated to be practical, IMO, and is not guaranteed to work well.

Like you, I would stay away from USB-to-video, if it can be avoided.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:12 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 500
Location: Brooklyn, New York
dr_st wrote:
Yep.

Although in terms of static image quality I don't see why USB adapters would necessarily be inferior, and USB3 adapters can actually provide decent bandwidth. But the T61 does not have a USB3 port anyways, and although one can be added via ExpressCard, it is already far too complicated to be practical, IMO, and is not guaranteed to work well.

Like you, I would stay away from USB-to-video, if it can be avoided.


Most (maybe all?) USB video adapters employ lossy compression. In a perfect world no, there shouldn't be loss for static images, but cheap devices are seldom designed to the best specifications. Even with USB3's bandwidth, the video accelerator has to support routing image data through USB3, and unless a system was explicitly designed for it it's not likely (that's routing the GPU's output back down into PCI-E, then into a USB3 controller).

_________________
Give your T43/T43p/R52/X41 the SATA it deserves! http://mikejmoffitt.com/sata


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:18 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 3:10 am
Posts: 70
Location: st louis, mo usa
T61 did not have proper GPU and jack for the HDMI adapter, it came out on the W500 series and only level 1 quality


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:50 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:20 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Merry Olde England
I'd love to see the outcome of this mod if you ever decide to go through with it.

I've only ever seen 17" PC laptops and Mac laptops with a DVI port built in. The ports on Apple laptops had the extra pins for use with a VGA adapter too (DVI-I? I always forget).


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:06 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 3:10 am
Posts: 70
Location: st louis, mo usa
MrMaguire wrote:
I'd love to see the outcome of this mod if you ever decide to go through with it.

I've only ever seen 17" PC laptops and Mac laptops with a DVI port built in. The ports on Apple laptops had the extra pins for use with a VGA adapter too (DVI-I? I always forget).


IBM W500 had the DVI ports installed as did W520 with high end GPU on 15"-15.5" display but they where made to plug into larger display with 1st level HD not the newer higher levels of HD. as Graphics limit quality and pixels resolution. I have the DVI/HDMI adapter for My W500. have yet to try it on my 42" Visio TV


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:42 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 6344
Location: Israel
There are no DVI ports on the chassis of any Thinkpad.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:38 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:43 am
Posts: 1240
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana
HDMI or displayport mod on T61 models would be awesome.

Also, W700/W701 models actually have built in dvi on the back.

_________________
Current Thinkpads: W530 (functional classic keyboard mod), X301, T61, T60, T43, T23, 600X, 770
Other: mk5 Toughbook cf-19, mk1 Toughbook cf-53


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:22 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 500
Location: Brooklyn, New York
DisplayPort won't happen, that's an active adaption. I thought of HDMI because of the common use-cases, which are plugging into a TV or projector at a friend's house or other place. Most projectors accept VGA, but many TVs now do not, and DVI/HDMI will look better and not require an active conversion.

I'm tempted to put a DVI port, though, because that will allow a dual link connection. Since I'm probably going to use the expresscard slot area, which I never utilize for its original purpose, I might have space to throw an HDMI and DVI port there, though of course they can't work in tandem because they share the same lines.

_________________
Give your T43/T43p/R52/X41 the SATA it deserves! http://mikejmoffitt.com/sata


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:13 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Posts: 1073
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Bibin wrote:
Since I'm probably going to use the expresscard slot area, which I never utilize for its original purpose, I might have space to throw an HDMI and DVI port there

I don't think the T61's Expresscard+Cardbus slot is wide enough for both ports.

_________________
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 Tablet C2D L7700 with broken hinge :(
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], X60 CD T2300 [board only]
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:08 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:20 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Merry Olde England
axur-delmeria wrote:
Bibin wrote:
Since I'm probably going to use the expresscard slot area, which I never utilize for its original purpose, I might have space to throw an HDMI and DVI port there

I don't think the T61's Expresscard+Cardbus slot is wide enough for both ports.

But it might be tall enough.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:28 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Posts: 1073
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
MrMaguire wrote:
But it might be tall enough.

The double-stack slots are tall enough for the DVI port, but I think you'll run into trouble if you try to fit the HDMI port as well.

It might fit if the DVI port is on the upper left corner of the slot, and the HDMI is on the lower right corner, but wouldn't it be easier if a DVI-HDMI passive adapter was used instead?
Image

_________________
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 Tablet C2D L7700 with broken hinge :(
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], X60 CD T2300 [board only]
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 500
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Those work, but again the intention is to not carry adapters. If it has to only be one, then I'll pick HDMI.

_________________
Give your T43/T43p/R52/X41 the SATA it deserves! http://mikejmoffitt.com/sata


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:01 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 3:10 am
Posts: 70
Location: st louis, mo usa
the adapter is about the size of a thumb drive and can be left on the HDMI cable used. still dont think the GPU options for T61 can handle even the low res version of this though. my T61 wont I know.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:15 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 6344
Location: Israel
n2ri wrote:
the adapter is about the size of a thumb drive and can be left on the HDMI cable used.
Because you assume that the laptop will always be in one place or that the user will always carry the cable?

n2ri wrote:
still dont think the GPU options for T61 can handle even the low res version of this though.
What exactly don't you think the T61 is able to handle?

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:44 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:43 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Trumbull CT
I'm interested in adding an HDMI port to a Frankenpad just for hooking up to
a TV or projector. Why not put it in the modem connector location by using
the female end of a cable, cutting it and connecting to the back of the dock
connector or pads on the motherboard.
Anyone tried this - is there enough room?

_________________
Frankenpad 15" TuuS MB X9000, T61 14" doner, T61 15" fixed gave away
X61s L7700 7666-B7U Prefer a T8100 X61t L7500 7762-B48 Price was right
Toughbook CF51 with SSD, Dell: D830, M4400, M6400, E4300


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:48 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Posts: 1073
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
^ You'd probably need a flat cable.

_________________
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 Tablet C2D L7700 with broken hinge :(
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], X60 CD T2300 [board only]
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 6:16 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:43 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Trumbull CT
Thanks makes sense, or maybe some very small twisted pair.

_________________
Frankenpad 15" TuuS MB X9000, T61 14" doner, T61 15" fixed gave away
X61s L7700 7666-B7U Prefer a T8100 X61t L7500 7762-B48 Price was right
Toughbook CF51 with SSD, Dell: D830, M4400, M6400, E4300


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited