thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 5:50 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 am
Posts: 26
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Hi,

I'm trying to install Fallout 2 on my T61. Whenever I start the setup the screen goes conpletely black. I have tried different compatibility options and sifferent screen resolutions, it goes always black.

I run Windows 7 32 Bit. Fallout 2 runs well on my desktop on Win 7 64 Bit.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:08 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13625
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
That's an easy one (and you asked for it): do not game on a laptop.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 am
Posts: 26
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
It is a simple game from 1998, it shouldn't overstrain a Thinkpad from 2007. I have had several Laptops and so do many of my friends and family and none of those Laptops were destroyed from gaming. I am confident a 2007 laptop should be able to handle the strain of a 1998 game. If you don't want to play games on a laptop, fine don't. But please adress the issue, which is that the installer goes black and does not start. It's like A: "How do I bake an apple pie?" B: Don't, pie is not good for you.".

Could you please adress the problem.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:19 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13625
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
"Compatibility mode" comes to mind...

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 am
Posts: 26
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Thanks, tried every single compatibility mode. I also tried about every single resolution setting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 am
Posts: 26
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
The gfx drivers weren't up to date.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group