thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
NOTICE: IF you receive a message saying your IP is banned, please read the post: ** IP Banned..? Please read me ** in Forum Announcements..

The SpamBot attack has slowed way down, most likely because christmas advertising is over for now..
We are still working on ways to prevent most or all SpamBots in the future..


If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: dd and MBR
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 10:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 5:11 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Toms River, NJ
I used dd to clone the XP c:\ drive and want to use dd
to restore XP on a new drive.
Will dd copy the MBR to the new drive?

jozien


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dd and MBR
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 12:16 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Posts: 805
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
What's the exact command you used for backup?

_________________
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dd and MBR
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 5:11 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Toms River, NJ
twistero wrote:
What's the exact command you used for backup?


I used:

dd if=/dev/sda1 of=/dev/sdb1

jozien


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dd and MBR
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 8:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Posts: 805
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
jozien wrote:
dd if=/dev/sda1 of=/dev/sdb1


Well, then you only copied the first partition of the hard drive, not the MBR, because the MBR is not part of any partition. You'll have to do something like
Quote:
dd if=sda of=sdb

i.e. copying the entire drive, to clone the MBR. If you know exactly how long the MBR is, you can use the "bs" and "count" arguments of dd to selectively clone the MBR only.

However, if you still have the source drive, I suggest using a "smarter" cloning tool like Clonezilla, which is also free and open source.

_________________
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group