thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:48 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
I tried to use a Wifi PCMCIA card in the X41t. There is no sign of life, not a single LED on the card. I even tried a second card, no luck. I know for sure both cards are in good working order.

Under the Windows XP device manager, I can see that the PCMCIA Ricoh is present. I even tried to uninstal the driver and do a hardware scan for changes, windows detect the Ricoh PCMCIA slot but still no luck, any PCMCIA card I insert in the slot still do not show sign of life

What else can I try?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:31 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Milpitas, CA
Go into the BIOS and make sure it's enabled, then reboot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
mediasponge wrote:
Go into the BIOS and make sure it's enabled, then reboot.



hmm I went into BIOS, navigated through the menus, I don't seem to see anything specific to PCMCIA, only serial, parallel, usb, PCI addresses but nothing PCMCIA, are you sure it should be there?

Besides, if the Windows XP device manager can see the Ricoh PCMCIA, it means that the card is already enabled in Bios right?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:21 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Milpitas, CA
Try plugging some other kind of PCMCIA card into the slot, like a USB hub. Was there a driver for the Wifi card? Perhaps you're supposed to install the driver first, then plug in the card when it asks you to. I've seen that process on some add-ons.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
mediasponge wrote:
Try plugging some other kind of PCMCIA card into the slot, like a USB hub. Was there a driver for the Wifi card? Perhaps you're supposed to install the driver first, then plug in the card when it asks you to. I've seen that process on some add-ons.

I tried installing the driver first that came with the Wifi PCMCIA card, still no luck. I also tried an old PCMCIA modem, still no luck. I don't know what else to try. I peeked inside the slot, no apparent damage, all pins seem ok and lined up.

Other than taking the machine apart, what else can I try? even if I take the machine apart, I would'nt know how to fix it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:38 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Milpitas, CA
I'm out of suggestions. The slot might be dead, which is a motherboard issue.

_________________
A31p: 2653-N5U, 1.7GHz, 1.5GB, 320GB (upgr), CDRW/DVD, Win XP-Pro SP3
X41: 2528-5FU, 1.5 Ghz, 2GB, 40GB, Win XP-Pro SP3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
I solved my problem: I took the machine apart and found out that one of the pin on the PCMCIA receptable slot was slightly pushed back and therefore not making good contact. It was just a matter of pushing it forward and now the slot works fine


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:14 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Milpitas, CA
Good to hear. If the pin is loose, it may get pushed back again. A small drop of non-conducting epoxy on the backside may prevent that happening again.

_________________
A31p: 2653-N5U, 1.7GHz, 1.5GB, 320GB (upgr), CDRW/DVD, Win XP-Pro SP3
X41: 2528-5FU, 1.5 Ghz, 2GB, 40GB, Win XP-Pro SP3


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group