thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:54 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
I believe the Restore partition is still intact, how do I restore the OS to the factory settings? does pressing on the blue Access IBM will do that? I cannot see that option when I press on the button, it only propose to restore from a previous backup (does not see any) (this is for X41 tablet)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:36 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Milpitas, CA
When you reboot, is F11 one of the boot options presented? If so, selecting that will do a restore to factory settings. It has to be done from a reboot or a cold boot. If F11 is not presented as an option, the restore partition may not be intact.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
mediasponge wrote:
When you reboot, is F11 one of the boot options presented? If so, selecting that will do a restore to factory settings. It has to be done from a reboot or a cold boot. If F11 is not presented as an option, the restore partition may not be intact.


Thanks for the info, I would have never known that because the splash screen does not present F11 option. I hit F11 anyway and I was greeted with the system recovery menu and yes, the factory setting restore option is present. Right now the computer takes about 4 to 5 minutes to boot up before I can use it, it is stuck a long time on the IBM Access Connection. I am still trying to do a clean up and tweak a bit and if I don't succeed, I will restore to the factory OS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:32 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Milpitas, CA
If you go into the BIOS settings, one of them should be Logo vs. BIOS screen. I always choose to see the BIOS messages. You might also try either a diagnostic startup from the boot menu, or boot into windoze and run "msconfig", choose diagnostic startup and turn things off in the startup section. If IBM Access Connection is the culprit, disable it, or try uninstalling it and reinstalling it.

I loathe complete re-installs. I would find out what is causing the slowdown and fix that. Like it says in the book of I Ching, "Perseverence Furthers." :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group