thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:04 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: X201T USB 2.0? USB 3.0?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:32 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:01 am
Posts: 445
Location: Sheridan, WY
I apologize in advance if this issue has been addressed.

I'm buying a portable USB 2/USB 3 external hard drive for backup and storage.
Currently I back up to a eSATA hard drive in the Ultrabase bay.

What kind of speeds should I expect backing up to the external drive?
Are all the USB ports on the X201T just USB 2?

I looked on the spec sheet and didn't see USB 1 or 2 or 3 specified. I didn't look in the hardware maintenance manual.

By the way, I still use a Seagate 500 gb 2.5 inch hard drive in the internal hard drive bay. It is not noticably slower than the 128 gb SSD drive I purchased with the X201T

OS is Win7 Pro x64 with 8 gb of ram.

_________________
First Thinkpad 755CX in 1995. First IBM: PC 1982 8088 w 64K RAM, dual floppy. Currently in use:
X230T with Win8Pro x64, i7, 500gb ssd; W700 WUXGA RAID 1 Blu-Ray W7Pro x64, occasionally a T61p with Win7Pro x64


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:11 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
USB 3.0 comes with the new Intel Sandy Bridge processors which X201T doesn't have. Even then, not all Thinkpad refresh laptops would get USB 3.0 given that they have Sandy Bridge, for instance T420 still has USB 2.0.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:15 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 6016
Location: Israel
Strictly speaking, there is no connection between USB3 and Sandy Bridge. It is not integrated in the chipset, but on a separate controller. This is why some previous generation machines (like W510) already have it. :)

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited