thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
FORUM NOTICE: This forum is under attack by hundreds of spam "BOTS" IF you experience SLOW performance or an error page it is due to these spam "BOTS", take a look at the footer and if you see more than 100 forum users and guests that is what is happening. The normal user/guest count should be about 60 to 90. Sorry for this trouble, I am working to exclude all such spam bots.

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Dec 24, 2014 7:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
hi

I cannot upgrade RAM in ThinkPad X30 Type 2673 from 2 x 256MB to 2 x 512MB.
I've bought:

2 x Apacer SO-SDRAM PC133 512MB, non-ECC, CL3-3-3, 3.3V, 144 Pin

but it doesn't work, I get just a black screen and nothing happens.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:41 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13863
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Try it one module at the time, change slots. Any better?

_________________
Nollaig Shona agus Athbhliain faoi Mhaise Daoibh!
(Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all!)

And this too is a lovely day for a pint of the Real Black Stuff: Guinness!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Try it one module at the time, change slots. Any better?


I've tried what you suggested, but still doesn't work, really strange.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 6:32 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13863
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Maybe those RAM modules are defective. Can you return them for a refund?

_________________
Nollaig Shona agus Athbhliain faoi Mhaise Daoibh!
(Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all!)

And this too is a lovely day for a pint of the Real Black Stuff: Guinness!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Maybe those RAM modules are defective. Can you return them for a refund?


Really strange, I've exchanged this RAM module and get the same problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:47 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13863
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
You need low-density modules, with 16 RAM chips (8 on each side).
The ones with 8 chips (4 on each side)don't work.

_________________
Nollaig Shona agus Athbhliain faoi Mhaise Daoibh!
(Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all!)

And this too is a lovely day for a pint of the Real Black Stuff: Guinness!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
RealBlackStuff wrote:
You need low-density modules, with 16 RAM chips (8 on each side).
The ones with 8 chips (4 on each side)don't work.


Thx, but my new RAM module has 8 chips on each side, perhaps do I need those with 4 chips on each side, because the old working modules 2 x 256MB have just 4 chips on both sides.
What kind should I buy?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:57 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13863
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
The 256MB should be 8 chips (4 each side).
The 512MB should be 16 chips (8 each side).
Those modules you got could still be faulty.
Until this post, I'd never even heard of Apacer RAM...

_________________
Nollaig Shona agus Athbhliain faoi Mhaise Daoibh!
(Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all!)

And this too is a lovely day for a pint of the Real Black Stuff: Guinness!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 10:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
RealBlackStuff wrote:
The 256MB should be 8 chips (4 each side).
The 512MB should be 16 chips (8 each side).
Those modules you got could still be faulty.
Until this post, I'd never even heard of Apacer RAM...


Apacer RAM is here:

http://www.steg-electronics.ch/de/artic ... 26558.aspx

but the picture there is wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 11:11 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13863
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
We can discuss this until the cows come home, but obviously your RAM does NOT work, so get a refund and buy another brand.

_________________
Nollaig Shona agus Athbhliain faoi Mhaise Daoibh!
(Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all!)

And this too is a lovely day for a pint of the Real Black Stuff: Guinness!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:48 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:47 am
Posts: 202
Location: Pukekohe, New Zealand.
ccc wrote:
Thx, but my new RAM module has 8 chips on each side, perhaps do I need those with 4 chips on each side, because the old working modules 2 x 256MB have just 4 chips on both sides.
What kind should I buy?

Well, this RAM that I'm selling (or trying to) works just fine in an X30, which is more than I can say for a lot of 512MB SODIMMs, low density or otherwise.

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing ... =402549381

_________________
Shaun.
T60 2007-72U [T7400, UXGA FV]
T43p 2668-H2M [FV]
T43 2668-84M [FV]
R52 1847-A18
T42p 2373-KXM [FV]
T42 2374-M97 [SXGA+]
R51 1829-E5C [FV]
R40 2723-BAM [SXGA+]
R40 2723-26M
X32 x 2 2672-CM5/W58
X31's x 8 Four working.
X30 2672-4HM
X24 2662-FMT
Etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group