thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
FORUM NOTICE: This forum is under attack by hundreds of spam "BOTS" IF you experience SLOW performance or an error page it is due to these spam "BOTS", take a look at the footer and if you see more than 100 forum users and guests that is what is happening. The normal user/guest count should be about 60 to 90. Sorry for this trouble, I am working to exclude all such spam bots.

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:12 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:03 am
Posts: 121
Location: Hayden, Idaho
I have a new-to-me X60 with a freshly loaded XP-Pro OS. I'm having an issue with it going into standby. It's set up to go into standby whenever the lid is closed, but rarely does it actually complete the action. It also will not go into standby when prompted, via Fn + F4.
Sometimes it will, but most times it won't. Strangely enough, when you prompt it to shut down, it will then go into standby, but when you wake it from standby, it's in the process of shutting down, and it will continue to turn off.

I've gone through the settings that I'm aware of, but haven't found any solutions.
Any assistance would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:57 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12906
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
A shot in the dark...

Do you have the correct graphics driver installed?

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriter collecting SSDI: A31p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T43pSF, T60, T61

For sale: T61p (4:3)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:41 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:03 am
Posts: 121
Location: Hayden, Idaho
I ran Lenovo's System Update, and it didn't suggest anything. ??
Is there another way I could check that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:45 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2710
Location: Paragould AR USA
Look in device manager and tell us what graphics driver is in use.

And, go to Lenovo support site and download the video driver for your machine and OS, if you haven't already. Sometimes System Update misses stuff.

_________________
Collection = T500 - T400 - T61(14" WSXGA+) - X40 (x2)- T43p- T42p - A31P - A30P - 600E - 770


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:05 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:03 am
Posts: 121
Location: Hayden, Idaho
Here's the info I found on my driver: (it's the latest version available from Lenovo)

Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile Report


Report Date: 04/24/2012
Report Time[hr:mm:ss]: 10:58:38
Driver Version: 6.14.10.4926
Operating System: Windows XP* Professional, Service Pack 3 (5.1.2600)
Default Language: English
DirectX* Version: 9.0
Physical Memory: 2038 MB
Minimum Graphics Memory: 8 MB
Maximum Graphics Memory: 224 MB
Graphics Memory in Use: 28 MB
Processor: x86 family 6 Model 14 Stepping 12
Processor Speed: 1995 MHZ
Vendor ID: 8086
Device ID: 27A2
Device Revision: 03


* Accelerator Information *

Accelerator in Use: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
Video BIOS: 1313
Current Graphics Mode: 1024 by 768 True Color (50 Hz)


A bit further down is this:

Monitor Supported Modes:
1024 by 768 (50 Hz)
Display Power Management Support:
Standby Mode: Not Supported
Suspend Mode: Not Supported
Active Off Mode: Supported


Why would that be?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:53 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:03 am
Posts: 121
Location: Hayden, Idaho
Apparently, nobody had any idea what the issue was here, but I accidentally solved it myself, although it's still something of a mystery.

My keyboard had a couple "sticky" keys; they were fully functional, just annoying, so I decided to get a new keyboard for it.
Got a beautiful new keyboard from 'Thinkpad Lover'and put it on the other night.

Standby problem's SOLVED! It works flawlessly now. :banana:

Any ideas why that would have done the trick? :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group