thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:04 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:14 pm
Posts: 1
Location: rio de janeiro, brazil
Hi guys
i own a 2009 T61 , 7663-B71 with a nvidia quadro nvs 140M graphic card
i want to know what are my best options , some of those distributions? (iatkos , ipc , ideneb etc) or install retail snow leopard with boot-132 or something like that?
will the nvidia work fully? wireless?
i have found a lot of different information thats why im opening this topic.
since i use this pc for work , i really need graphic , sound , bluetooth wireless and ethernet working.


thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:40 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 8:17 pm
Posts: 345
Location: Riga, Latvia
razael wrote:
will the nvidia work fully? wireless?

No and no. Wireless card can be replaced, but video won't work ever. Was never supported by OSX and never will. Sorry.

_________________
ThinkPad T60p with Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Intel Core 2 Duo T7600
4GB RAM, ATI FireGL V5200 256MB (1400x1050)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:49 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
Silencer wrote:
but video won't work ever. Was never supported by OSX and never will. Sorry.


Wireless +1 ... not working for sure ... look for MercurySquad on facebook ... this is your only hope (or you switch your card!)

Video not so sure :

Leopard : works on Dells but not on Thinkpads ... (Source)
Snow : Might work (Source)

Quote:
Chipsets supported by NVDANV50Hal.kext [v1.6.2.35 (18.6.5f11)]:
0x042010de&0xfff0ffff:
0429 Quadro NVS 140M


I think you should give a try ... :roll:

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:37 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma USA
ThinkPad T61 Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M No QE/CI yet. ( Oct/12/2010)
mouse pad, audio in/out, wireless, nic card.
I'm looking for the solution to QE/CI

2 different injectors
---
Quadro NVS 140M:

Chipset Model: Quadro NVS 140M
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 128 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0429
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: Silent Natit x86_64 v1.0.2
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1024 x 768
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Display Connector:
---
Quadro NVS 140M:

Chipset Model: Quadro NVS 140M
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 128 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0429
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: NVinject 0.2.2
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1024 x 768
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Display Connector:

---- NVEnabler info ----

NVEnabler: init : begin
NVEnabler: probe : probe
NVEnabler: probe : ROM shadow enable
NVEnabler: probe : patch PRAMIN
NVEnabler: False ROM signature: 0x0000
NVEnabler: probe : patch PROM
NVEnabler: False ROM signature: 0x6f35
NVEnabler: probe : patch bios at 0xc0000
NVEnabler: dcb table at offset 0x9dd0
NVEnabler: dcb numentries 10
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 0: 01000323
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 1: 02811300
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 2: 02822312
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 3: 014333f1
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 4: 0000000e
NVEnabler: numentries = 10 num_outputs = 5
NVEnabler: found LVDS
NVEnabler: Channel 1: 01
NVEnabler: Channel 2: 1e
NVEnabler: DEBUG Model found: Quadro NVS 140M
NVEnabler: DEBUG VRAM: 128
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @0,compatible
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @0,device_type
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @1,compatible
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @1,name
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @1,device_type
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @0,name
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property device_type
NVEnabler::probe fails
NVEnabler: init : begin
NVEnabler: probe : probe
NVEnabler: probe : ROM shadow enable
NVEnabler: probe : patch PRAMIN
NVEnabler: False ROM signature: 0x0000
NVEnabler: probe : patch PROM
NVEnabler: False ROM signature: 0x6f35
NVEnabler: probe : patch bios at 0xc0000
NVEnabler: dcb table at offset 0x9dd0
NVEnabler: dcb numentries 10
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 0: 01000323
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 1: 02811300
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 2: 02822312AirPort: Link Down on en1. Reason 1 (Unspecified).
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 3: 014333f1
NVEnabler: Raw DCB entry 4: 0000000e
NVEnabler: numentries = 10 num_outputs = 5
NVEnabler: found LVDS
NVEnabler: Channel 1: 01
NVEnabler: Channel 2: 1e
NVEnabler: DEBUG Model found: Quadro NVS 140M
NVEnabler: DEBUG VRAM: 128
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @0,compatible
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @0,device_type
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @1,compatible
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @1,name
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @1,device_type
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property @0,name
NVEnabler: DEBUG Setting property device_type
NVEnabler::probe fails
----
I saw Nvidia Quadro 140m drivers on Nvidia website, for FreeBSD and Linux. maybe somebody can work on it to get QE/CI.
or
Did somebody find a solution for it? or any other idea? or other options to try?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:17 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1498
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
Do try out the SL stuff and share :) I've kept this on hold since I found the QE/CI issue being a hindrance.

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 11:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 11:05 am
Posts: 7
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Hi

It seems the nvidia cards on the thinkpad have address space difference from dell and hp laptops with the same video cards.

I myself am trying to get on a t61p the nvidia nvs 570m working to no avail, and believe my only option will be to go back to windows 7.

I am trying to find a way to dump the video bios,but nvflash does not work due to where lenovo puts the video bios.

If this could be done, I have been told, the issue could be fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group