thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
FORUM NOTICE: This forum is under attack by hundreds of spam "BOTS" IF you experience SLOW performance or an error page it is due to these spam "BOTS", take a look at the footer and if you see more than 100 forum users and guests that is what is happening. The normal user/guest count should be about 60 to 90. Sorry for this trouble, I am working to exclude all such spam bots.

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 2:29 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:04 pm
Posts: 1
Hi everyone. I don't know that much about computers and I don't really know what my problem could be, so I'm just going to tell you everything. Please feel free to skip useless details.

I am trying to clone my hard drive on my Lenovo 3000 N100 to a new hard drive, but I am getting the blue screen halfway through the operation every time.

Items:
old hard drive: 80GB, two FAT32 partitions
new hard drive: Seagate 7200.4 Momentus SATA 500GB, using a 2-USB set-up to transfer

Error message:
***STOP: 0X0000008E (0XC0000005, 0X8052E797, 0XB3EA5380, 0X00000000)

Beginning dump of physical memory....

Cloning software used:

free Acronis
Norton Ghost
one other, I don't know name

Procedure:
1. Open Acronis True Image Home 2010
2. Under Tools & Utilities, click clone disk
3. Select Automatic Clone Mode
4. Select source disk: 93.16 GB HTS541010G9SA00 MBZI IDE(0) Primary Master
5. Select target disk: 465.8GB StoreJet Transcend USB
6. Click Finish and blue screen

Norton Ghost is just freezes up my computer after install. Must be removed to function properly. Never even opened program.

Things I've done:
1. Deleted all personal files (after back up) to go from 19GB free space to about 60GB free space
2. Defragmented hard drive
3. Run virus scan using ESET in safe mode
4. Cleaned disk of temporary files
5. Run disk error check at start up (it was clean)
6. Bought and run RegCure and fixed 1300+ errors
6. Banged head on table, cursed and swore off IBM forever


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:39 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Port Matilda, PA
Sorry to hear, that is unfamiliar territory for me too. I just thought I'd mention that you can request/buy operating system install discs from Lenovo. I have also read of different ways people try to force them to send a free copy, but I have my doubts about that.

_________________
Mine: 3000 N100


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:01 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
Put the new disc in the Thinkpad and attach the old disc via USB. Clone from old to new. If that doesn't work I'd also recommend recovery discs from Lenovo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:46 am 
Offline
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:41 am
Posts: 1758
Location: Long Island New York
I would create a Acronis rescue CD. Boot from the CD with the target drive in the laptop like Harry mentions and then proceed with cloning.

Brad

_________________
Long Island New York
T43p 2669-Q1U, A22p's UTU A21p HXU
Transnote, 770's 8AU, 600, 701CS, 755CD


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group