thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Sun Aug 30, 2015 6:54 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:35 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:12 pm
Posts: 309
Location: New York, NY
When I place my X220 on a dock that has ethernet connected, it does not switch to wired connection, instead it stays on wireless.
Is there anyway to enable this auto switching functionality? The wifi at the office is open, I don't want to keep connected to that (public) instead when I dock I want to go through our local Ethernet without having to switch antenna on and off.

_________________
8/18/2011 - X220, Intel i5-2540M, 12.5" IPS, FingerPrint, Cam, BT, Intel 6205 Wifi, 8GB, U2312HM on Mini Dock Plus 3
1/15/2012 - S405 (Wife's), AMD A6-4455M, 14", 4GB RAM, Windows 8
7/02/2015 - T450s Intel i5-5300U, 14" FHD IPS, FingerPrint, Cam, BT, SSD, Intel 7265, 4GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 9:04 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:12 pm
Posts: 309
Location: New York, NY
I was able to achieve this by using Access Connections and setting the office as new location. I don't know how it recognizes the new location, but I assume it uses wifi to determine the location first, then switch settings. Now it is successfully connected to LAN.

_________________
8/18/2011 - X220, Intel i5-2540M, 12.5" IPS, FingerPrint, Cam, BT, Intel 6205 Wifi, 8GB, U2312HM on Mini Dock Plus 3
1/15/2012 - S405 (Wife's), AMD A6-4455M, 14", 4GB RAM, Windows 8
7/02/2015 - T450s Intel i5-5300U, 14" FHD IPS, FingerPrint, Cam, BT, SSD, Intel 7265, 4GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 8:03 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:38 pm
Posts: 277
Location: Chicago, IL
I don't use Access Connections, but I had the same issue. I'm pretty sure I fixed it just by going into Windows 7 connection manager thing, seeing it was connected to both ethernet and wifi, and disabling the wifi connection. Somehow Windows remembered that as its only connected to ethernet when docked since.

_________________
Current: X230 - 2325-2RU - i5-3360M 2.80GHz - 8GB DDR3L - IPS - 128GB Crucial M4 mSATA + 500GB HDD - Intel 6205 2x2 - Webcam/BT/FPR
Previous: X60s - 1702-3QU | X200s - 7466-44U
Projects: 560 - 2640-2OU | 600E - 2645-3AU | T21 2647-6AU | X60t - 6366-L6U


~I love the new keyboard~


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 8:43 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:12 pm
Posts: 309
Location: New York, NY
In my case, windows was not remembering it, what happened was it never enabled (or started using) wired connection, even though it was enabled. I think windows uses wired connection as priority, but for some reason it wasn't routing data via wired through dock.
Access Connections is a bit flaky, it hangs when you want to modify settings and save them, but once saved, it runs seamlessly.

_________________
8/18/2011 - X220, Intel i5-2540M, 12.5" IPS, FingerPrint, Cam, BT, Intel 6205 Wifi, 8GB, U2312HM on Mini Dock Plus 3
1/15/2012 - S405 (Wife's), AMD A6-4455M, 14", 4GB RAM, Windows 8
7/02/2015 - T450s Intel i5-5300U, 14" FHD IPS, FingerPrint, Cam, BT, SSD, Intel 7265, 4GB


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited