thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
LIVE LONG AND PROSPER
Goodbye, Mr. Spock, wherEVER you've gone..


If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Tue May 05, 2015 11:28 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:32 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Skaneateles NY
I would like to upgrade the wireless card on a x220 and wanted to know what would work best for reliability, distance and speed. Also if I could add a card with bluethooth would be a plus. The card in the x220 now is a 1x1 11b/g/n. There is a front camera on my unit.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:51 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 12:51 pm
Posts: 1579
Welcome to the Forum!

Intel 6205 (Lenovo FRU #60Y3253) or Intel 6300 (Lenovo FRU #60Y3233):
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lenovo-Thinkpad ... 35c38555d2
http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-LENOVO-THIN ... 20cefdcd13

Bluetooth is supported via a different module: FRU #60Y3271 or FRU #60Y3275.
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odkw=%2 ... 9&_sacat=0

Parts, their locations, and installation details for the your machine are in the Hardware Maintenance Manual (HMM):
http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/guides- ... MIGR-77125


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:32 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Skaneateles NY
Thanks for the welcome and links.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:45 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:59 am
Posts: 64
Location: United Kingdom, Sheffield
If upgrade, then Intel 6300 only, or 5300 perhaps...
450mbps is just great !

_________________
24/7 in use : X200.AFFS-120.8GB.Vertex4.Intel6300.NMD.Ultrabase
others : X60 | T43p.UXGA.sata | 600e | X300
ex : Edge.11 | T60.UXGA.T9300


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:15 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:38 pm
Posts: 277
Location: Chicago, IL
Intel 6205 or 6250 is what you want.

A 6300 would would work, but you wouldn't be able to take advantage of the third antennae connector. The webcam takes up the spot where a third antennae would be, so those units are limited to a 2x2 setup.

_________________
Current: X230 - 2325-2RU - i5-3360M 2.80GHz - 8GB DDR3L - IPS - 128GB Crucial M4 mSATA + 500GB HDD - Intel 6205 2x2 - Webcam/BT/FPR
Previous: X60s - 1702-3QU | X200s - 7466-44U
Projects: 560 - 2640-2OU | 600E - 2645-3AU | T21 2647-6AU | X60t - 6366-L6U


~I love the new keyboard~


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:50 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:59 am
Posts: 64
Location: United Kingdom, Sheffield
Atreides wrote:
Intel 6205 or 6250 is what you want.

A 6300 would would work, but you wouldn't be able to take advantage of the third antennae connector. The webcam takes up the spot where a third antennae would be, so those units are limited to a 2x2 setup.


What I did is just bought antenna on ebay and installed in, when upgraded lcd and webcam.
it is not the best solution, but everything works as it should do.
450mbps speeds now...

_________________
24/7 in use : X200.AFFS-120.8GB.Vertex4.Intel6300.NMD.Ultrabase
others : X60 | T43p.UXGA.sata | 600e | X300
ex : Edge.11 | T60.UXGA.T9300


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:53 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Houston, Texas
bretahrnek wrote:
Atreides wrote:
Intel 6205 or 6250 is what you want.

A 6300 would would work, but you wouldn't be able to take advantage of the third antennae connector. The webcam takes up the spot where a third antennae would be, so those units are limited to a 2x2 setup.


What I did is just bought antenna on ebay and installed in, when upgraded lcd and webcam.
it is not the best solution, but everything works as it should do.
450mbps speeds now...


hate bumping an old post but how did you do this? I'm having spotty coverage at school and i have the 6205 +webcam. Given how cheap the 6300s on ebay are I was considering upgrading.... I also have the F5521 WWAN too if that makes any difference.

_________________
X220/Win7 Enterprise: i5, 16gigs, SSD, WWAN, Webcam!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited