thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 6:01 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:33 am
Posts: 4
Location: NYC, NY
Hi there,

I have a company issued T420, and it has Win XP installed on it. I am thinking of getting the Intel mSata 310 drive and installing Win 7 on that drive, use the laptop as a dual-booter.

I have noticed that the laptop came with a Win 7 Professional OA license key. Here is the question: can I download a torrented version of untouched Win 7 Professional and activate it with the key that my laptop came with? Or, due to the OA designation of the Win 7 Professional license I have to buy recovery discs from Lenovo?

Any input sincerely appreciated, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:34 pm 
Offline
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Posts: 6861
Location: ThinkPadLand
you MIGHT be able to do as you suggest and it MIGHT work..
not sure what you mean by torrented version of win7 but if its warez or the like i'm not sure that i would do that..

the recovery discs would, IMO, be a better solution..

your IP manager might complain or there might be some other safeguard against such a thing..
i would inquire, discretely, about what happens when others who work for your company do such things..

i think others here will have a better or more helpful response.. :)

welcome to the forum..

_________________
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:33 am
Posts: 4
Location: NYC, NY
BillMorrow wrote:
you MIGHT be able to do as you suggest and it MIGHT work..
not sure what you mean by torrented version of win7 but if its warez or the like i'm not sure that i would do that..

the recovery discs would, IMO, be a better solution..

your IP manager might complain or there might be some other safeguard against such a thing..
i would inquire, discretely, about what happens when others who work for your company do such things..

i think others here will have a better or more helpful response.. :)

welcome to the forum..


Hi Bill,

Thanks for the response. The Win 7 version I speak of is untouched (as in no activation, hacks or what have). As in, it is just a copy of a retail Win7 Pro installation DVD and requires the use of a legitimate license key. But I am looking into purchasing recovery discs if necessary.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:47 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:22 am
Posts: 1040
Location: St John's , Newfoundland , Canada
It should work no problem.
My T410 has the COA for Win7Pro. It came with 32bit. I upgraded the ram to 8 gigs so i needed the Win 7 Pro 64bit cd.
I just googled Win7 Pro 64 bit ISO and i think one of the first links came up with the 64bit ISO. Its jut the ISO of the install CD.Not hacked or not warez or anything.You still need to put in and use your COA on your thinkpad.

_________________

Bill Wheeler
Great White North
Lenovo X301-C2D SU9600 1.6Ghz-8GB Ram-128GB SSD.
Microsoft Surface Pro 128gig+64gig MicroSD,type cover.
[Donor]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:33 am
Posts: 4
Location: NYC, NY
SaberX wrote:
It should work no problem.
My T410 has the COA for Win7Pro. It came with 32bit. I upgraded the ram to 8 gigs so i needed the Win 7 Pro 64bit cd.
I just googled Win7 Pro 64 bit ISO and i think one of the first links came up with the 64bit ISO. Its jut the ISO of the install CD.Not hacked or not warez or anything.You still need to put in and use your COA on your thinkpad.


Thank you. Now I cannot wait for my intel mSata to come in ;)

By the way, does installing an mSata in a T420 require a the BIOS Supervisor password? I don't have it, and am not likely to get it.

P.S. I tried caddying an HDD in the optical drive slot, and no password was required... however, changing the boot order is an entirely different story I guess for that the BIOS password is required.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:13 am 
Offline
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Posts: 6861
Location: ThinkPadLand
Quote:
however, changing the boot order is an entirely different story I guess for that the BIOS password is required.


yeah, its a corporate machine and no IT manager is NOT goin to password protect the bios.. :(

you might have a bit of a problem there..

yopu can always just swap the corporate drive for your own drive.. that should work without needing to go into the bios..

_________________
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 2:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Posts: 598
Location: United States
leftrighting wrote:
By the way, does installing an mSata in a T420 require a the BIOS Supervisor password? I don't have it, and am not likely to get it.

P.S. I tried caddying an HDD in the optical drive slot, and no password was required... however, changing the boot order is an entirely different story I guess for that the BIOS password is required.


What happens when you hit F12 repeatedly at startup?

_________________
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
R400 7439W1K- 8GB, Momentus XT 500GB, Intel 5300 WiFi
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB & Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:33 am
Posts: 4
Location: NYC, NY
Quote:
What happens when you hit F12 repeatedly at startup?



Hi! so at startup, I hit the blue thinkvantage button, and then hit F12 to change the boot order, temporarily. This is a cumbersom process, but oh well, I can live with it.

Unless I am mistaken, I am also unable to utilize the UEFI when I install the SSD due to not having the BIOS password.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 3:03 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:52 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Molde, Norway
You could have the bootloader on the normal drive and Windows on the mSata?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 7:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 7:39 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Found this on the Lenovo forums the other day:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/windows-os-software/428068-legal-windows-7-download-links-just-like-vista-before.html

Not tried it my self yet, I have T520 on order and will probably do a clean Windows 7 install after I get it.

You should be-able to install Windows 7 to the mSATA and it should update the boot loader on the hard drive so you can choose which OS to start.

The product key you use determines what edition of Windows 7 you get.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: egoods and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group