thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2014 12:00 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Posts: 182
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
Hello all,

I recently purchased a T410 2518-ahu from a forum member and am having a difficult time installing a new hard drive. The drive is a WD 320 GB Black. It came to me with a modded BIOS 1.45 slic 2.1 wifi whitelist removed.

I was able to install the drive, install W7 32 bit and have it do all the updates. The only problem is that the only way I can make the machine recognize the HD is to enter the BIOS on boot up and save it (hit F10). Once I do that it happily sees the drive and runs W7. If I shut down the machine and restart it will give me a "2100 HD initialization error" every time, however if I hit escape, enter the BIOS, save it (either AHCI or Compatibility mode) it sees the drive and loads the OS just fine.

Oh, I put the new drive into another machine and it recognizes it. I also put another drive (SSD) into the T410 and it sees it.

Any thoughts about what is going on? Does the modded BIOS not like the drive? Should I roll back to a standard Lenovo BIOS? This is a new drive out of the box, is it sick? I am currently doing a DBAN wipe on the drive to see if that helps.

Thanks ahead of time for any ideas or thoughts...

Bruce

_________________
T60p T7600 UXGA (me) , T60 XGA X1300 (wife), X61 (travel), HP 8710w multimedia
Under my care, T42 XGA Radeon7500, T23, T61 14" 4:3 Intel GPU
, I went over to the darkside...Iphone 4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2014 11:03 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Posts: 182
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
Hello all,

Here is an update: I have rolled back the modded BIOS, tried Lenovo 1.44 and 1.45 BIOS and had the same problem, hard drive initialization error 2100.

Repeated my experiment of putting two different drives (A SanDisk SSD and Hitachi 250GB 7200 rpm) into the T410. They were recognized by the BIOS, started up W7 and crashed as they are not configured for this machine. So, they essentially work. Also repeated putting the new drive into my X61. It was recognized by the BIOS.

I guess the only thing left is to send the new drive back for a replacement.

Bruce

_________________
T60p T7600 UXGA (me) , T60 XGA X1300 (wife), X61 (travel), HP 8710w multimedia
Under my care, T42 XGA Radeon7500, T23, T61 14" 4:3 Intel GPU
, I went over to the darkside...Iphone 4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 9:59 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Posts: 182
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
Update: Sent the WD320 off for a replacement but had a new Toshiba 500GB 5400rpm drive that I installed and it showed up in the BIOS fine.

Meanwhile tried to install W7 64 bit on this drive and having BSOD on install. I started a new topic on this list.

Not sure whether to post on this list (T410) or Windows 7 OS list. I posted on both, probably the wrong thing to do.

Bruce

_________________
T60p T7600 UXGA (me) , T60 XGA X1300 (wife), X61 (travel), HP 8710w multimedia
Under my care, T42 XGA Radeon7500, T23, T61 14" 4:3 Intel GPU
, I went over to the darkside...Iphone 4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 10:54 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Posts: 1103
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
From reading this and your other post, I would suspect a bad BIOS or a hardware issue. A corrupt BIOS will certainly do it. Having said that I would suspect a hardware connection somewhere. At this stage I would eliminate the HDD being the issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 11:13 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12539
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Cigarguy wrote:
From reading this and your other post, I would suspect a bad BIOS or a hardware issue. A corrupt BIOS will certainly do it. Having said that I would suspect a hardware connection somewhere. At this stage I would eliminate the HDD being the issue.


IDK...

I've owned a T410 which was throwing fits - the same error as discussed here - at a particular SSD which worked with no errors in a X61T, was sold with and is still working in the aforementioned tablet AFAIK.

A different SSD was subsequently installed in the said T410, and the laptop has been made its way some 6,000 miles away where it still works today.

Do I have a 1001% foolproof answer on what's going on with OP's machine? No.

I just feel that this particular bit of info was worth sharing.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2014 11:46 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Posts: 182
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
The replacement drive arrived and not to my surprise the problem was not fixed. I was able to install W7 64bit by doing a BIOS save. It installed fine doing a couple of restarts. After doing a hard restart I got the dreaded 2100 hard drive installation error again.

As previously mentioned the new Toshiba drive works fine, the BIOS seeing it on each restart. I did re-install the modded BIOS to get a different wireless card to work. It does not seem to be a BIOS issue related to the mod, although it might be another BIOS bug that has always been there.

I also tried to load a new SATA driver when W7 was unable to find the drive. The driver seemed to be the correct one but the drive was still not there.

I did find a patch on the Lenovo site http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail. ... MIGR-74582 that is supposed to fix HD detection issues but have not had any luck getting this installed. Not sure it is applicable but thought I might try anyway.

At this point i am running out of ideas and am tempted to put back the Toshiba drive although I would like to find a 7200 rpm drive that worked.

Any more ideas appreciated.

Bruce

_________________
T60p T7600 UXGA (me) , T60 XGA X1300 (wife), X61 (travel), HP 8710w multimedia
Under my care, T42 XGA Radeon7500, T23, T61 14" 4:3 Intel GPU
, I went over to the darkside...Iphone 4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 12:02 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Posts: 1103
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Try pulling the HDD out. Boot a few times to a Live Linux distro and see if you are still having the same issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 12:17 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Posts: 182
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
Success ..well not quite.

I got the Lenovo patch to install and it Restarted fine. It finds the drive when doing a Shutdown / Restart but not from a Shutdown and then a start from the on/off switch. I guess I will just put in the Toshiba and call it quits.

I am unclear how the patch is helping. It creates a task for the Task Scheduler, but that runs within windows so I am unclear how it could make the HD recognizable. Someone who understands this better might help me take it the rest of the way.

Bruce

_________________
T60p T7600 UXGA (me) , T60 XGA X1300 (wife), X61 (travel), HP 8710w multimedia
Under my care, T42 XGA Radeon7500, T23, T61 14" 4:3 Intel GPU
, I went over to the darkside...Iphone 4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 4:07 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Posts: 182
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
I returned the new WD 320GB Black Drive hoping it was a drive problem but realizing it probably was not. Well, I was correct. The new drive behaved in the exact same manner as the previous one only be recognized by the BIOS after doing a saving then being forgotten on start up.

My solution was to use a new Toshiba 500 GB 5400 rpm drive. It has been running fine now for a couple of weeks with W7 64 bit Pro. I was really hoping for a 7200 rpm drive but gave up on getting the WD to work. Maybe someone will someday figure it out and post a solution.

I am moving on...

Thanks,

Bruce

_________________
T60p T7600 UXGA (me) , T60 XGA X1300 (wife), X61 (travel), HP 8710w multimedia
Under my care, T42 XGA Radeon7500, T23, T61 14" 4:3 Intel GPU
, I went over to the darkside...Iphone 4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 4:49 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2317
Location: Glendora, CA
I wonder if it's just an issue with WD drives.

I remember on earlier Thinkpads that I owned I would have to update the embedded controller firmware in order for it to recognize some drives. I don't know much about your machine, but it could be worth a shot.

On another note, unless you need 500GB of HD space and dislike the 5400RPM speed of your current HD, have you given any thought to adding a 256GB+ SSD?

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T410, i5 M520, 8GB DDR3, 1440x900 LCD, 128GB SSD, DVD-RW, Bluetooth, fingerprint, webcam. 2522-26U

Old:
Dell Latitude E6500, E6520, Precision M4400 (Still in use), D630
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 4:57 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12539
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
I'm reasonably certain that all of my past T410 units had Hitachi drives...When it comes to spinners, that is.

Just a thought.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group