thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
LIVE LONG AND PROSPER
Goodbye, Mr. Spock, wherEVER you've gone..


If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:03 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: T410s Mbd in T400s
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 5:04 am
Posts: 580
Location: Vancouver, WA
Can one put a T410s motherboard in a T400s? How compatible (or incompatible) are they. Thanks.

_________________
X201s -- T430s -- W530
I have an X301 to sell - let me know if you are interested.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: T410s Mbd in T400s
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:07 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 602
Location: Melbourne, Australia
it should be a direct drop in swap, since they have the exact same chassis and casing.

_________________
Current ThinkPad: T430u, T430s, X1 Carbon, X1, X230t, X220t, X230, X220, X201t, W520, W701ds, T500, T420 and many more


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: T410s Mbd in T400s
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:08 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:09 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Chicago, IL
Unless you have a specific need, you're better off with the T400s. T410s really sucked in battery life.

_________________
T440s


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: T410s Mbd in T400s
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:47 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2361
Location: near RTP, NC
vinuneuro wrote:
Unless you have a specific need, you're better off with the T400s. T410s really sucked in battery life.


I'd second this. The first-gen Core i series were a step down in terms of power management.

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X200s/X201 hybrid
Current workstation: none


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: T410s Mbd in T400s
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 5:04 am
Posts: 580
Location: Vancouver, WA
Thanks for the advice .. Definitely worth considering. The T410s is significantly faster with the higher-end CPUs. So that's my dilemma .. power vs. power-savings. :|

_________________
X201s -- T430s -- W530
I have an X301 to sell - let me know if you are interested.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: T410s Mbd in T400s
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Posts: 607
Location: United States
Well, you could always go with the best of both worlds with the T420s. I am still amazed at the performance and battery efficiency of Sandy Bridge.

_________________
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi, Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB SSD w/ microSATA adapter
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB SSD, Crucial M550 512GB mSATA SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: T410s Mbd in T400s
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 5:04 am
Posts: 580
Location: Vancouver, WA
Thanks for the info. That's true - I'd love to be able to afford a T420s. But I'll keep my eyes open for one - maybe postpone my purchase awhile. Do the T420s motherboards also fit into a T400s?

_________________
X201s -- T430s -- W530
I have an X301 to sell - let me know if you are interested.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: T410s Mbd in T400s
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:27 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2361
Location: near RTP, NC
BobA wrote:
Thanks for the info. That's true - I'd love to be able to afford a T420s. But I'll keep my eyes open for one - maybe postpone my purchase awhile. Do the T420s motherboards also fit into a T400s?


I don't believe so. The T420s is a new mechanical.

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X200s/X201 hybrid
Current workstation: none


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited