thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:19 am
Posts: 30
Location: Lansing, MI
So I'm watching the price of W700 units slipping to beneath a grand on eBay, and I just can't help but think that it would be so cool to have a 17 inch Thinkpad. On the other hand, a W520, with significantly better specifications can be had for not much more.

But it would be so cool to put a W520 board in a W700, if that's possible (we are talking a down the road upgrade, this is not something I would do all at once). I know HP uses the same form factor boards for at least some of their laptops, and just runs longer cables through the machine (dv6000/9000 come to mind). Or how like all T4X machines has the same basic board, and just the interposer card to make up the difference in width from 14 inches to 15 inches.

So, does the W700 use a unique board, or can a W520 board be used with the W700 plastics, LCD, etc.

Thanks for the help guys!

_________________
Compal QAL51
Gateway M275
HP Pavilion DV9287cl (Ill)
IBM A31p Type 2653-CU5 (Ill)
IBM A31p Type 2653-R5U
Lenovo R61 Type 8933-WJJ
'Snowblind' Custom Build PC (ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/AMD Phenom II x4 980BE/nVidia GeForce 560Ti/8GB Kingston HyperX/OCZ ModXStream 700/Cooler Master HAF 922)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 3:39 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:00 pm
Posts: 233
Not possible.
The W520 (W510 has similar or same board dimensions) and W700 have significantly different motherboards as illustrated by these (W700) photos (W510).

That said, though, there isn't a lot of difference between a W700 with a Q9000-series processor and a W520 with a 2720QM other than power consumption and heat, especially if you add an SSD to the mix. So if you want a W700, get a W700; you can upgrade parts later as you see fit. And besides- graphics in the W700 series are faster than those in the W520 series; though the Quadro 2000M series approaches the FX2800M in speed, you're looking to spend another 250 bucks on that upgrade. The Quadro 1000M doesn't come close.

_________________
W520 (i7-2720M, Quadro 1000M), T41, 600E
Just say no to the ThinkBook Pro.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 3:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:19 am
Posts: 30
Location: Lansing, MI
Good to hear.

I have not stayed on top of Intel technology, most of my Intel machines are fielding Core 2 Duo or older. While I know that cutting edge Intel is better than that of AMD, I've never used a Core 2 Quad CPU. Do you have any idea how that would compare to say, the Phenom II's?

_________________
Compal QAL51
Gateway M275
HP Pavilion DV9287cl (Ill)
IBM A31p Type 2653-CU5 (Ill)
IBM A31p Type 2653-R5U
Lenovo R61 Type 8933-WJJ
'Snowblind' Custom Build PC (ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/AMD Phenom II x4 980BE/nVidia GeForce 560Ti/8GB Kingston HyperX/OCZ ModXStream 700/Cooler Master HAF 922)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group