thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:43 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:51 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Singapore
Hi all,

I've recently purchased a Thinkpad-branded Gobi 3000 card for use in my W520. Everything works fine, but I would like to know if it's possible to use the card and connect with it, without installing Access Connections?

I find AC terribly bloated and unnecessary for wireless connections, and if possible I'd like to avoid installing it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

_________________
Main PC: ThinkPad W520, i7-2760QM, Intel 520 SSD 240GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro 1000M

Home rig: ThinkPad W701, i7-920XM, Intel 320 SSD 300GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX2800M

NAS PC: ThinkPad T420, i7-2620M, Intel 520 SSD 180GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia NVS 4200M


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 12:09 pm
Posts: 44
Location: North Carolina
I would recommend installing Access Connection first if you haven't already, to activate the WWAN and get it on the network you are going to use.

If you are using the WWAN on Verizon, you should be able to install the VZ Access Manager from www.vzam.net. I am not sure about AT&T. I would think they would have a similar piece of software.

After you install that, you should be able to uninstall Access Connections.

I personally use Access Connections on mine as I find it works pretty well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:51 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Singapore
monkeybagel wrote:
I would recommend installing Access Connection first if you haven't already, to activate the WWAN and get it on the network you are going to use.

If you are using the WWAN on Verizon, you should be able to install the VZ Access Manager from http://www.vzam.net. I am not sure about AT&T. I would think they would have a similar piece of software.

After you install that, you should be able to uninstall Access Connections.

I personally use Access Connections on mine as I find it works pretty well.


Hey monkeybagel,

thanks for the response! I've already installed AC, and can see the WWAN card in the Fn+F5, menu, everything runs fine right now.

I was just wondering if there was a way within Windows itself to manage WWAN connections, like how Wifi connections are handled. I'd just rather avoid installing AC if I can avoid it, since I much prefer Windows' way of handling Wifi connections.

I'm not in the US, and from what I gather there's no dedicated software for my carrier for connecting using this card.

_________________
Main PC: ThinkPad W520, i7-2760QM, Intel 520 SSD 240GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro 1000M

Home rig: ThinkPad W701, i7-920XM, Intel 320 SSD 300GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX2800M

NAS PC: ThinkPad T420, i7-2620M, Intel 520 SSD 180GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia NVS 4200M


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 12:09 pm
Posts: 44
Location: North Carolina
Sorry - I should have looked at your location.

There is probably a way to do it - I am not aware of a way that Windows will manage a WWAN card on its own, but you should be able to create a DUN connection for the COM port that is assigned to the WWAN, and dial the data number (in the US, Verizon is #777) and establish a connection.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:51 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Singapore
That does sound pretty onerous, and if that's the only way I'll probably live with Access Connections.

Surely Windows would have a simpler way of handling connections, like PPPoE and other network connections?

_________________
Main PC: ThinkPad W520, i7-2760QM, Intel 520 SSD 240GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro 1000M

Home rig: ThinkPad W701, i7-920XM, Intel 320 SSD 300GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX2800M

NAS PC: ThinkPad T420, i7-2620M, Intel 520 SSD 180GB, 8GB RAM, Nvidia NVS 4200M


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group