thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
LIVE LONG AND PROSPER
Goodbye, Mr. Spock, wherEVER you've gone..


If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:02 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:46 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
I might be getting a X1300 equipped R60 with SXGA display later today.

I have two questions.

I have a T43p with UXGA IPS display, as far as I understand, it will work just fine, no mods required, in an R60, is this true?

I have a T61p with a 2.5GHz Penryn CPU (dead video card though), does anyone know what happens if that CPU is plugged in to an R60? (born with Core 2 CPU).
I suspect it will work, but the bus will be clocked at 667MHz so the CPU would be limited to around 2GHz, if no one knows, I don't mind testing it.

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:52 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 13400
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
No for the CPU. You need T5500/5600/7200/7400/7600 which are socket M, not socket P found on *61 series.

Maybe...for the LCD.

I don't know whether R series had the same restrictions as its T contemporaries...

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriters collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T43pSF, T60, T61

Project: T50


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:53 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14123
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
IF that T43p screen has an EDID chip, it might work.
Without EDID chip it will NOT work, but you could solder one on and program it (search the forum for EDID).
Just try it first, you won't damage anything.
And a T61/R61 CPU will NOT work in a T60/R60, unless you do all sorts of pinmods and who-knows-what else...

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check my website The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 10:43 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
Ah ok, thanks for your answers.

I didn't realize the sockets had changed, must have something to do with the die shrink.

I'm not sure if my IPS screen has an EDID chip, but I'll try it out and see what happens, I think it's a late production display so I might be in luck.

I didn't get the R60 today though, the owner has not yet finished migrating to a new unit.

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:58 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14123
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
T60/T61 sockets are identical, it's the CPUs that are completely different.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check my website The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
RealBlackStuff wrote:
T60/T61 sockets are identical, it's the CPUs that are completely different.


Well, about as different as a P3 Coppermine and a Tualatin, and there is some degree of cross compatibility between those two.

Remember that T60/R60 came with Yonah and Merom CPU's, T61/R61 came with Merom and Penryn CPU's, so they definitely can't be completely different CPU's.

I'm not convinced, I might try it.

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:01 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 13400
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Adda wrote:

I'm not convinced, I might try it.


Please don't...it's been done so many times that it's not even funny.

The last person who didn't take this advice ended up with a dead planar. It doesn't happen all the time, but it DOES happen.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriters collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T43pSF, T60, T61

Project: T50


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
ajkula66 wrote:
Please don't...it's been done so many times that it's not even funny.

The last person who didn't take this advice ended up with a dead planar. It doesn't happen all the time, but it DOES happen.


Ok if it has been tried before, there is no reason for me to try it as well.

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
By the way, I will be posting my findings with regards to the display swap, incl. relevant info from the stickers on the panel it self.

It will be a while though.

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:22 pm
Posts: 602
Location: Hesperia, California
Interesting... I hope it works out!

_________________
Incompitent(sp?) Power User: caffeine addicted, techno blasting, ThinkPad hoarder.

Dream achieved!: W700DS
Current Fav: S70/X300
Alternate: Bubbly X61T, T30, T43p, A31p, iBook G4
Hoarding: PS/2 Note, 235, 770X, 755CE, 365XD, 701C


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:56 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
So I finally got my hands on this R60, a model 9461-5FG upgraded with a Seagate 7200rpm 320GB drive and 2x2GB RAM.

First install, test IBM_ECW, and then I'll try my spare T4x UXGA IPS.

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
I really like the R60, got a fantastic keyboard on here, I didn't check the brand, but it came off a T61p.
I don't wanna' say it, but it DOES compete with the A30 for best typing experience, closely followed by the NMB/LiteON keyboard found on the last of the 7 row keyboards, which are just ahead of the T4x series NMB (IMO).

So far Win7 x86 runs well on it too, updating take a while though...

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 6:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
It was not meant to happen, yet it was meant to happen, a T4x FRU: 92P6753 UXGA IPS display in an R60 born with XGA, WORKS without any probelms what so ever, drop in replacement!

Happy days!

Too bad this one has, well plenty of spots on it, acceptable though, barely.

Edit: Hurraaaay the R60 has a Texas Instruments Firewire controller!!! it works perfectly with my Audiofire2, no other laptop I have can do that, not even the W510 (crappy Firewire controller).
This R60 is quickly turning in the my new travel companion, it's battery is good, it can hold my entire music collection, and I works with my Audiofire, no USB transport needed, excellent!

I ordered an UXGA IPS display for it, I hope it's decent, and a Core 2 Duo T7200.

Edit: the R60 is a very cool running ThinkPad, I can't get it past 59C for the CPU and 68 for the GPU, using two threads of Prime95 and Furmark.
The T2300E CPU is at 1.025v.

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 657
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
Got the display and CPU now for some testing.
The UXGA IPS is PERFECT, completely flawless!!!

Edit: well the T7200 is quite snappy little CPU and mine undervolts well, 2GHz@1.125v, 1.5GHz@ 0.95v.

Max temp test yet to be done, I suspect it will max out just above 70C.

Ooh, it does run quite a bit hotter with this CPU, max temps seems to be 72C for the CPU, 76C for the GPU.
I didn't do a long burn though, to temps might climb one of two degrees higher.
Tested with two threads of Prime95 and furmark.

Edit: By the way, IPS displays are a bit thicker then the stock displays in the R60, so you may have to enlarge the holes the IPS display screws in to, so that the display can be moved back a little, this makes the screen bezel fit better.

_________________

In service: W510, R60 15", T43p 15", T43p 14.1", A30, X20
Extras: 570
Misc: T510, T61p 15.4"
Past: T500, X200, R51 14.1", T41, R50p, G40, T22, A21m, 390, 380


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited