thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: z61t and maximum ram
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 12
Location: Athens Greece
hello mates

a while back, i had made some questions
about the z61t, i am still thankful for your answers but now that i will procced to actualy upgrade my machine i got rather confused again.

half people said that z61t can use all of the 4gb ram if it has a x64 able proccesor such as the t7400 and a x64 OS, the other half said that due to the chipset the z61t cannot use more than 3gb.

i made my search on the forum, and in this thread and this thread people say that its not possible to actualy use more than 3gb.

but is that the case?
my model, the z61t 9443 97G, as i found here is based on the Mobile Intel 945GM Express Chipset.
according to intels datasheet (pg 23) , the 945GM can handle 4 gbs.

so what is the case?
different models have different chipsets? eg model 9442 could potentialy have a different chipset from model 9443?
meaning that some can handle less ram and some more?

does anyone knows the actual memory i can use for my 9443 model? and if it can only be 3gbs then why? since apparently its not a mater of the chipset.

thank you for your time in advance :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: z61t and maximum ram
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:25 pm
Posts: 742
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
The Z61 is the same generation as the T60, which only supports 3gb ram. Even if you can use a x64 os, you can only use 3gb ram. Unless you have a x64 program, I would reccomend sticking with x86.

_________________
Elitebook 8440p, i5 520, 8gb, Samsung 840 SSD
Old/Not Working/Dead Laptops:
T61 7661CC2, 4gb, Windows 7 x64, 240gb intel SSD, 500gb Ultrabay drive
Toshiba Portege 7020ct
Thinkpad T41 23737FU
Dell Latitude LS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: z61t and maximum ram
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 12
Location: Athens Greece
Intel says here that chipset 945GM can have a max memory of 4gb
on the datasheet it says up to 4gb as well.

and as the guy said on the other post
Quote:
Maximum memory capacity may require the replacement of standard component with largest supported component available. On ThinkPad systems with an Intel 945GM, 945PM, GM965, or PM965 chipset, even though it is possible to physically install 4GB of memory, the actual amount of memory addressable by an operating system will be limited to 3GB. This limitation does not exist with the Intel GM965 and PM965 with the 64-bit operating systems Windows XP Professional 64-bit and Windows Vista 64-bit Editions.


but that is the issue, the chipset can have a max memory of 4gb, the socket can have a x64 core 2 duo proccessor, and i can install a x64 OS

i don't understand
why does the z61 support only 3gb ram then?

craigmontHunter wrote:
The Z61 is the same generation as the T60, which only supports 3gb ram. Even if you can use a x64 os, you can only use 3gb ram. Unless you have a x64 program, I would reccomend sticking with x86.


i don't have a x64 program, i was just trying to figure out what i will upgrade on my laptop since i decided to stick with it instead of buying a new one, and memory is one of the factors in the upgrade cpu question :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: z61t and maximum ram
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 8:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:25 pm
Posts: 742
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
The desktop version of the 945 supports 4gb. the laptops only support 3. If you put 4gb in, you will get the dual channel speed advantage (In my experience, only helpfull for intergrated graphics), but can only see 3gb.

_________________
Elitebook 8440p, i5 520, 8gb, Samsung 840 SSD
Old/Not Working/Dead Laptops:
T61 7661CC2, 4gb, Windows 7 x64, 240gb intel SSD, 500gb Ultrabay drive
Toshiba Portege 7020ct
Thinkpad T41 23737FU
Dell Latitude LS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: z61t and maximum ram
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 12
Location: Athens Greece
haven't thought about the dual channel before, ty :)

but both the sheet and the site clearly says mobile... :S


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: z61t and maximum ram
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:23 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12452
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Let's put it this way:

No ThinkPad or this era - and I've owned just about every single one of them - will utilize more than 3GB regardless of OS.

They will "see" 4GB in BIOS, but if you were to run the memory test from the machine itself, only 3GB will get accounted for.

In my experience, any 32-bit OS will run great on any of these machines, my preference is still along the lines of XP, but W7 is fast enough as well.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61p (4:3), T420, T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: z61t and maximum ram
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 7:55 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2342
Location: near RTP, NC
ajkula66 wrote:
Let's put it this way:

No ThinkPad or this era - and I've owned just about every single one of them - will utilize more than 3GB regardless of OS.


George is right.

3 GB is all you get, and it's the hardware's fault. 64-bit OSs only see 3 GB, same as 32-bit ones.

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X200s/X201 hybrid
Current workstation: none


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group