thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:52 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 4:36 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Hello, I've some spare parts from T42p, especially 14" shell, SXGA+ LCD, 1.8GHz CPU, RAM module, HDD 7200rpm etc... Because of broken mobo I just bought very well priced R50e motherboard in warranty and I am curious if I can use the SXGA+ LCD with this board or should I look for XGA LCD instead? Mobo's FRU is 27K9969. Thank you.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:50 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13398
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
The 27K9969 is an Intel-GPU board, and will not work with SXGA+.
You'll need an ATI-GPU mobo for SXGA+

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 6:22 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
I've no problems with XGA resolution as this will be my secondary laptop for Linux. I will swap the SXGA+ screen in my closest PC shop aimed to used laptops, for the XGA screen. Just want to know, if can I use any 14" XGA screen from T40/41/42/43 series with this R50e board?

edit:
My second question is related to CPU fan. As I have long fan available in my stuff and this is an Intel GPU board, may I use this long fan even the GPU part of the fan will stay 'in air' over the mobo? Or should I put there some piece of rubber to simulate GPU chip under it?

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:09 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13398
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Any T4x/R5x XGA panel will work.
You can use the long fan if you want. Just make sure the 'hang-over' part does not cause a short-circuit anywhere.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:10 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Thanks for the replies. Just one question - where I can get more detailed information about FRU 27K9969? Google is not so friendly in that sense and if I would like to know, what ports are on the mobo available how to check it?

For example: there were many versions of R50e's - some of them were equipped with touchpad, some of them were not. Is it only difference in palmrests or is it really missing connector on motherboard? Some of them were equipped with power connector in UltraBay, some of them not - how to recognize, which motherboards has battery connector in UltraBay?

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:34 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13398
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
I have collected probably the most comprehensive T4x/R5x motherboard list on the planet, see: http://theboardroom.info/ibm_list.htm
All R50e boards are missing several components like the docking station connector and infrared, the optical drive is non-removable, etc. Only available with Intel GPU (R51e only ATI GPU). Some don't even have a wifi-slot.
For R50e specs see: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 58527.html

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 1:58 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
I'm slowly completing my R50e project... Just got the mobo today. I've tried to start the basic configuration but no success. What I've assembled:

- R50e mobo (27K9969)
- Pentium M 745 (SL7EN)
- 256MB RAM, FRU: 10K0031
- keyboard: 14" version FRU 08K5066
- long fan from T43p
- speakers from T42p
- CMOS battery IBM P/N 08K8050
- battery (tested with and without also)
- LCD 14.1" SXGA+ from T42p (not supported on Intel GPU but to test LEDs and backlit)

Not connected:
- WiFi card
- daughter card
- HDD
- optical drive
- battery

After pressing the power button, fan will start, LEDs under the LCD will signalize power on, Num+Caps lock will turn on shortly. No beeps. No backlit of LCD's CCFL. No video signal through the VGA port to my external display. I tried to start it also without LCD connected and only using the VGA cable to my external display. I'm pretty sure that the board seller is honest and the mobo was shipped 100% functional, well packed in anti-static bag etc... What to do now?

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:10 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12451
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Does the board beep with no RAM installed?

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61p (4:3), T420, T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:58 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
No beeps even without RAM installed.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:33 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13398
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Disconnect the CPU fan cable and LCD cable, then without RAM try again to see if it beeps 1-3-3-1.
You sure those speakers are OK and connected properly?

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:10 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
RBS, I will try your recommendation today. Speakers should be OK and if I'm understand correctly, those would be compatible with R50e (the speakers comes from T42p) - I connected them properly I think.
Also another question came into my mind: could be this problem also caused by defective CPU? Only the CPU I haven't tested yet in another laptop. Will the defective/missing CPU cause that the CCFL will not light up and the system will not beep any error messages?

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:33 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
lukee wrote:
Will the defective/missing CPU cause that the CCFL will not light up and the system will not beep any error messages?

Yes


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 2:48 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
I have no chance to get another 400MHz Dothan/Banias processor for test it today. Will the R50e motherboard boot up with 533MHz Dothan CPU altough it will be underclocked to 400MHz?

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:46 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12451
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
It should...

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61p (4:3), T420, T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 10:47 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
I got an XGA LCD from my brother - the LCD comes from Dell Latitude D600 and it is following model:
Manufacturer: Toshiba
Model: LTD141EA0D

Before I will disassembly my 14" T42p lid completely, may this LCD work with R50e board?

Thanks.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:24 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12451
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
If it has an incorrect pinout - which is most likely the case - you *will* end up blowing something...

Swap the CPU, and if the board doesn't beep just send it back or kiss it goodbye.

Good luck.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your friendly retired FlexView farmer)

Collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: T60, T61, R60F, R500F

For sale: T61p (4:3), T420, T601 QXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 2:50 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Still no success :|
I get the SL6F8 processor (Banias 1.4GHz) today, connected it + speakers + LCD + fan + 256MB SO-DIMM SDRAM + keyboard... Same behavior - power-on LED will turn on, Num+Caps Lock LEDs will turn on shortly and the machine is staying in this mode with CCFL turned off until I press the power button again which will cause shutdown. No beeps, only the fan is sound-maker in this system.

Probably major finding:
- Northbridge will get hot shortly but CPU seems to be cool or slightly warm without heatsink (no power to the CPU?)

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:53 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 380
Location: CZ / Europe
Agreed with the seller... the motherboard will be sent back to him. So I've to stop my R50e project now.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T400


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group