thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:16 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:59 am
Posts: 5
Location: humberston, lincolnshire UK
hi there, i have been trying to reboot my thinkpad R50e laptop but having problems.on start up i press the blue access ibm button,i then get a startup interupt menu with a choice of... ESC to resume normal setup, F1 to enter the IBM BIOS set up utility and F12 to choose a temporary start up service .where do i go after this ? ive also put in the cd that i burnt when i bought the laptop for rescue and recovery but it is not acknowledging it ....phhhhh..... please help !!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:02 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14689
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
If you want to boot from that CD/DVD, at boot time select F12, then the CD/DVD drive.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for Mods and other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:59 am
Posts: 5
Location: humberston, lincolnshire UK
hi there, yeah , i got to the point where it copied everything to the predesktop ...... then it told me to remove disk , power off, then power back on again and its just lead me back to the restore from a backup box on the IBM rescue and recovery with rapid restore page.... feel like i,m going round in circles !


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:56 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14689
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
What are you trying to achieve?

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for Mods and other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:59 am
Posts: 5
Location: humberston, lincolnshire UK
trying to get back to how the comp. was when i first got it.....how do i get desktop back ..... the icons eg. pre installed stuff that came with it etc.....


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:08 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14689
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
viewtopic.php?f=31&t=52133

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for Mods and other Services


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:59 am
Posts: 5
Location: humberston, lincolnshire UK
hi.... i only have one disk and that is what i burned on the day i got the computer when it advises you to do so in case you need to start all over again ........on that link it says that you need a few disks ????


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited