thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 12:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:08 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:21 am
Posts: 241
Location: EU
Hi guys,

I have one question: Can I use Win7 Pro 64bit installation DVD from HP/DELL to install windows7 onto ThinkPad :?:
I suppose it won't be activated due to slic2.1 conflict but that I can solve later..
What I need to know is if the OS will install in such way :?:
The reason I ask is that Lenovo doesn't provide Win7 installation media.
Thanx for all replies..

Rgds,

_________________
Image T43-2668-CTO , T43p-2668-G7G
ex: A31-2652-D5G with 1GB Ram


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:39 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!
masterus wrote:
I have one question: Can I use Win7 Pro 64bit installation DVD from HP/DELL to install windows7 onto ThinkPad :?:

No, for a whole host of reasons.

You need to use Microsoft installation media.

Cheers,

Bill B.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:27 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:21 am
Posts: 241
Location: EU
Hi Bill ,

I didn't mean in terms of license

What I meant was if the installation even run , if yes what kind of issues appear

Regards,

_________________
Image T43-2668-CTO , T43p-2668-G7G
ex: A31-2652-D5G with 1GB Ram


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:44 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 5:20 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Kent, WA
It depends. I haven't used the recent generations of HP media, so I can't say for sure...

*If* they use standard Microsoft installation methods (Boot to WinPE and deploy a relatively generic WIM vs. some other imaging system) AND
*If* they don't check the BIOS (just had an old HP a1230n fight with me when reinstalling XP MCE because after a BIOS update it didn't recognize it as a legit HP machine) AND
*If* your Thinkpad doesn't need any special drivers (it shouldn't),

Then it *might* work. Issues could include:
- HP's Bloatware
- HP Customization (wallpapers, support images, etc)
- Ghost devices showing up in device manager
- Activation issues (SLIC, as you mentioned, won't match up)

It's not really a great idea, but if that's all you've got there's not really any harm in trying. You'd be better off with the correct media, though. If you hunt around you can probably find an ISO to download (just don't get a hacked/pirated one, that's just asking for trouble).

_________________
EasyMac308
MCITP: EDA, MCSE NT, MCSE 2000, A+
Work: Thinkpad T410 / i5-650 / 8GB / 500GB / Win7 Ent x64
Personal: T60 (4:3) / T7200 / 4GB / 500GB / Ubuntu 12.04 <scrap built>
Retired: 570E, T20, T21, T23, T30, T40, T42, T43


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group