thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:24 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:14 am
Posts: 172
Location: Perth
I have noticed that when I select XP mode with my Thinkpad order with 64-bit Windows 7, I get charged something like $14 more. But XP mode seems to be free to download from the Microsoft site?

Is there any reason I should pay for it through Lenovo instead of downloading it for free from Microsoft?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:49 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:00 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Peshtigo, Wisconsin USA
Your paying the extra $14 for the convenience of having them install it. If it were me, I'd save the $14 and do it myself with the free download.

_________________
My Laptop Collection:
IdeaPad Z570, 8gb RAM & Win 7 Home Premium / Win 8.1 Pro
Toshiba A75-S206, 1.5gb RAM & Windows 7 Home Premium
ThinkPad T-22 (Formerly a T-20), 512mb RAM & Win XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:52 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:14 am
Posts: 172
Location: Perth
Ah - thanks for the confirmation Dale.
The $14 can go towards the fingerprint reader LOL.
(I am still amazed sometime we are talking about such small numbers these days on computer stuff.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:37 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:00 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Peshtigo, Wisconsin USA
The installation of XP mode isn't that difficult to do and goes fairly quick. If you decide to update XP mode with the latest security patches then that can be a little time consuming. I had a copy of my desktop until I decided to bump the processor speed up. Windows 7 adjusted to the overclock without problems, but XP mode didn't like the change and deactivated. :eek: Wound up uninstalling it in the end. Eventually when I am done tweaking the processor I will try it again.

_________________
My Laptop Collection:
IdeaPad Z570, 8gb RAM & Win 7 Home Premium / Win 8.1 Pro
Toshiba A75-S206, 1.5gb RAM & Windows 7 Home Premium
ThinkPad T-22 (Formerly a T-20), 512mb RAM & Win XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:14 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:47 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Pullman, WA
XP mode also requires a license key.

_________________
7mm SSD list
Guide to fixing T4x GPU problems via reflow

Current: T420s
Former: X301, X61t, T40


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:37 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Posts: 500
Location: SFO/HNL
I don't know if this is a location thing(AUS/U.S) or Tpad model, but when configuring a W520 from the U.S. site(lenovo.com), there is no added charge for selecting XP mode.

I'd rather have it come pre-installed, for convenience and support reasons. $14 ain't much, and if you have problems, you can go back to Lenovo for support.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:58 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:00 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Peshtigo, Wisconsin USA
visionviper wrote:
XP mode also requires a license key.


Yes, XP Mode does require a license key, but it is included with the download. If you install XP Mode in Windows Virtual PC then the license information and product activation will be done automatically during the install.

_________________
My Laptop Collection:
IdeaPad Z570, 8gb RAM & Win 7 Home Premium / Win 8.1 Pro
Toshiba A75-S206, 1.5gb RAM & Windows 7 Home Premium
ThinkPad T-22 (Formerly a T-20), 512mb RAM & Win XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:10 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 571
Location: Melbourne, Australia
i thought the XP mode cost was due to the slightly upgraded ram.

_________________
Current ThinkPad: T430u, T430s, X1 Carbon, X1, X230t, X220t, X230, X220, X201t, W520, W701ds, T500, T420 and many more


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:40 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2342
Location: near RTP, NC
Quote:
Why does Lenovo.com charge for XP mode?


Because Microsoft charges for XP mode.

Volume licenses for XP mode cost OEMs more money -- Microsoft's trying to phase out XP, hence the price premium.

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X200s/X201 hybrid
Current workstation: none


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 2:59 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 2:38 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Westminster, California
1) MSFT charges for XP Mode but the price is embedded in the relevant OS. Whether you choose to use it or not its a feature of W7.
2) Download it yourself. If you are downloading songs etc. or installing stuff like Firefox then I don't see why you would be apprehensive given MSFT always makes things consumer friendly.
3) RAM has absolutely nothing to do with the price adjustment. Nowhere in the configuation page would Lenovo increase your RAM cost because you choose XP Mode. But you probably should consider more RAM if you intend to run XP Mode and do lots of things with your host OS at the same time.
4) Would you rather use VMWare Player or VirtualBox and pay for an XP license or take the one MSFT gives you to run in VirtualPC?

_________________
Có một ngày tuyệt vời!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:18 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5319
Location: Israel
ThinkRob wrote:
Because Microsoft charges for XP mode.
Do they really? I understood that the XP license is included in the license of Win7 Professional/Enterprise/Ultimate.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 1:35 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2342
Location: near RTP, NC
dr_st wrote:
Do they really? I understood that the XP license is included in the license of Win7 Professional/Enterprise/Ultimate.


It is, at least for the end-user. But it was my understanding that Microsoft charged OEM's slightly more for the rights to sell pre-downgraded computers (as part of their push to retire XP.)

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X200s/X201 hybrid
Current workstation: none


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:38 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 344
Location: Canton, MI
ThinkRob wrote:
It is, at least for the end-user. But it was my understanding that Microsoft charged OEM's slightly more for the rights to sell pre-downgraded computers (as part of their push to retire XP.)

That's very different from XP mode though. "Downgrading" means actually installing XP instead of Window 7, not running XP in a virtual machine. (XP mode is basically MS Virtual PC bundled with a pre-activated copy of Windows XP plus some integration features.)

_________________
Current Thinkpads:
X31 (PM-1.4), X40 (PM-1.2 LV), X60s (CD-1.66 L2400), X61 (C2D-2.0 T7300), X201 (i7-620M), W520 (i7-2720QM, 2000M, FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ, FHD)
Dells: Latitude XPi, Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, Precision M6500 (WUXGA)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:04 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 2342
Location: near RTP, NC
jdrou wrote:
That's very different from XP mode though. "Downgrading" means actually installing XP instead of Window 7, not running XP in a virtual machine. (XP mode is basically MS Virtual PC bundled with a pre-activated copy of Windows XP plus some integration features.)


Yikes. I totally misread the post I was responding to.

Disregard my comment.

_________________
Need help with Linux or FreeBSD? Catch me on IRC: I'm ThinkRob on FreeNode and EFnet.
Code:
Current laptop: X200s/X201 hybrid
Current workstation: none


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:51 am
Posts: 3
Location: adna, washigton
I have noticed that when I select XP mode with my Thinkpad order with 64-bit Windows 7, I get charged something like $14 more. But XP mode seems to be free to download from the Microsoft site? Is there any reason I should pay for it through Lenovo instead of downloading it for free from Microsoft?

_________________
Android eBook Reader
electric wheelchair


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:19 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:00 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Peshtigo, Wisconsin USA
I would just wait and download the free version. They'll both work the same.

_________________
My Laptop Collection:
IdeaPad Z570, 8gb RAM & Win 7 Home Premium / Win 8.1 Pro
Toshiba A75-S206, 1.5gb RAM & Windows 7 Home Premium
ThinkPad T-22 (Formerly a T-20), 512mb RAM & Win XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group