thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:30 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Compaq #2-07 Fail
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 12:43 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 648
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
Im fixing a Compaq C500 that has Windows XP Pro on it. It attemps to load Windows XP and then a bluescreen flashes in a sec and cannot even get a chance to read the error. And the laptop will reboot all the time to enter safe mode and start windows normal options. Safe mode fails too. I check the bios and see that is has a HDD check and scan the HDD and comes out #2-07 Fail. Im use to working on IBM PCs /ThinkPads so not sure what this error is. So I took out the drive witch is a SATA and plug it into my desktop and it boots Windows XP just fine and loads up. I run a virus check and cleaned it up, disk cleanup, disc defrag and scan disk. After that the HDD boots just fine, and later put back into laptop and the same problem. I even tryed reinstalling Windows XP and even Windows 7 and comes out No Hard Drives were detected but attemps to load the HDD of Windows XP. :?:

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T23, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Compaq #2-07 Fail
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 12:46 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1064
Location: Chico, California
I'd try any other SATA HDDs in the laptop if you have any, but it sounds like the laptop's Hard Drive controller or something else might be bust. It could also be that certain Hard Drives rub the Hard Drive controller in the Compaq the wrong way... just cross-check with other hardware and see what anomaly pops up.

_________________
Trying my hardest to collect Thinkpads, but college and being broke kinda gets in the way. However...
701C, 760, 770, X24, T30, G41, A31p, T43p, T60/61 Frankie, Z61p, X60 SXGA+, W700ds
MEDESSEC

and yes. I am a bit of a lunatic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Compaq #2-07 Fail
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:45 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 648
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
I tryed a USB external HDD with Windows Vista on it and it attemped to boot and then flashes a blue screen really fast and still cant read it in time and restarts the same way the factory HDD does. Other then this the computer works fine, Im guessing its not the HDD that is inside it. the Bios is F 16. I also cleaned out the machine and put new thermal paste on the processor to help it out with cooling. And the fan makes a grinding noise, even bofore I cleaned it out. It has 512MB RAM installed aswell.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T23, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Compaq #2-07 Fail
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:00 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 648
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
Ok so I took my camera and video taped the booting of Windows XP and paused it on the blue screen and can only see the basic of a blue screen. A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent any damage, the rest I couldnt read.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T23, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Compaq #2-07 Fail
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:52 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13771
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Last week I was working on an older laptop that kept stopping somewhere during booting, no matter what hard disk I put into it.
I would suggest to try and replace the RAM, as replacing mine got the HD going again!

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Compaq #2-07 Fail
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 648
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
Well I fixed it, it was a simple Disable select. Their was a option SATA Native Support Enabled and selected Disable and it booted Windows. Not sure what that is.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T23, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Compaq #2-07 Fail
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:22 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1064
Location: Chico, California
Agh. Should've known it'd be something like that. BSODs and actually getting into the OS before error-ing out can easily hoodwink a simple BIOS setting.

The D900T and D901C Clevo monster laptops are the worst at this. XP only boots on IDE/RAID settings, XP over SATA doesn't work if the settings are ever changed, and the D901C just refuses to boot USB devices unless AHCI is on with a HDD installed.

_________________
Trying my hardest to collect Thinkpads, but college and being broke kinda gets in the way. However...
701C, 760, 770, X24, T30, G41, A31p, T43p, T60/61 Frankie, Z61p, X60 SXGA+, W700ds
MEDESSEC

and yes. I am a bit of a lunatic.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group