thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:41 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 628
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
I have a ThinkPad 560X and painted the top lid black gloss like my SL500 is and bought the silver lenovo logo and new THINKPAD logo badge. would there be a way to add the red dot on the "i" lightup? I think this would make it look very nice for an old laptop. http://www.geek.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/thinkpad_sl300_01.jpg

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 12:28 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 628
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
My IBM ThinkPad 560X
http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/9158/560xd.jpg (200KB 1280 x 1024)
By patrick_b2007 at 2010-10-02

Is there a way to update the IBM logo startup screen to the new lenovo one like all the new ThinkPads have?
My 560X is the bottom right startup screen.
Image
By patrick_b2007 at 2010-10-02

Admin edit: Removed 200KB inline image. Allowing second one. Please keep images <50KB and post a warning in the subject line.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 5:49 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1282
Location: Toronto, Canada
There is no way I know of to modify the default boot-up screen on any Thinkpad. These screens are part of the BIOS, I think. To change it, you would have to modify the BIOS.

Phil.

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:59 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 628
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
I remember a long time ago on my ThinkPad 560X I had a floppy disk where I was able to change the easy setup ThinkPad background. It was part of the software from IBM on the laptop folder where configration would be.

I'm thinking of adding the new ThinkPad logo to some of my older ThinkPads like what you seen in my image of my 560X above is link on this forum.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 8:19 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1282
Location: Toronto, Canada
Oh. Maybe you are right. I haven't seen either of these things before (custom Easy Setup or custom BIOS boot screen. But re-sellers may have access to special (and not permitted to share) versions of configuration disks that may allow some branding to be done on various screens. I don't know about these things, and can't help you there.

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 628
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
You would download load it from IBM.com or lenovo.com now. The software would ask you to insert a 1.44MB disk in drive A:. If I remember you would have to restart it and it would load from the floppy. You could edit the what easy setup is on all old ThinkPads The tilt ThinkPads lettering in Microsoft paint and save it to the IBM disk.

Image
By patrick_b2007 at 2010-10-03
My IBM ThinkPad 560X with new ThinkPad sticker logo and new Intel Inside sticker, RIGHT, Left My ThinkPad R31

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:12 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Youngstown, OH
Is that 560X bootable from that external IBM CDROM drive?

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:33 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 628
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
It maybe. You can see the External PCMCIA CD Drive next to my 560X but I'm still looking for the right IBM PCI PCMCIA CD card for it.
Image
By patrick_b2007 at 2010-10-10

My IBM ThinkPad 560X specs: Intel Pentium 233MHz, 160MB RAM, Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:00 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Youngstown, OH
Just wondering, I recently won a 560X on ebay (waiting for it to ship) and I have that portable IBM CDROM drive with the correct cable/PCMCIA card (should get a new battery pack for it someday).

Luckily I have the cable that should connect the machine to a floppy drive so I can boot from something to reinstall the OS even if the CDROM drive does not boot.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:36 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Posts: 628
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania
I had to install Windows 95 "14 Floppy Set" to get started with installing Windows XP on it since I had no CD Drive at the time.
Its a good idea to own the Windows 95 on floppy for older computers that never came with a CD Drive.

_________________
IBM: 700T, 700C, 701C, 760XD, 755CD, 770Z, 360Cs, 600X, 560X, 570, 310ED, 380Z, 390X, i1200, i1400, 240, 850, A22m, A30, G40, R31, R40, R50, R60, S30, T20, T30, T40, T60, X21, X30, X41, X41T, X60, X60T, Z60m, TransNote, X3200 Server, NetVista 6792, 8363, X40 Aptiva 2170,ThinkCentre S50, S50 Ultra, A50p, M51 WorkPad 20X, Z50


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 3:53 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Youngstown, OH
I keep a pretty good library of original OS disks and CDs around from DOS 5 up to around Win2k for my collection.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 12:17 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 379
Location: Lincolnwood, Illinois
ThinkPad560X wrote:
I remember a long time ago on my ThinkPad 560X I had a floppy disk where I was able to change the easy setup ThinkPad background. It was part of the software from IBM on the laptop folder where configration would be.

Personalization Editor
(found in Changing BIOS Boot Logo - IBM Thinkpad T41)

_________________
(USA) Toshiba Satellite 2535CDS : vintage economy laptop, bidding starts at $5 plus shipping
(USA) LF: T61 15.4" IGP planar 42W7651 or 42W7875


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 12:37 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Youngstown, OH
The 560x arrived. P233mmx, 64MB RAM, 4GB HD, and after I installed a working CMOS battery I found the main battery charges and works (says something like 2 hours)!

Now I need to test some external drives.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:39 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1282
Location: Toronto, Canada
Thanks for finding that thread for us, automobus.

I think I've actually used the Personalization Editor on one of my machines before. But I didn't realize it offered a means to change the logo on the boot screen as well.

Phil.

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group