thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
I have a IBM 600E with the 300MHZ Pentium 2 MMC-2 and want to upgrade the cpu, which one of these 2 cpus would be better?

Intel Mobile Pentium II 400Mhz PMG40002001AA

Intel Mobile Celeron Pentium II 466MHz PMI46601001AA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:17 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Youngstown, OH
Probably the cheaper of the two. The celeron 466 has 128K cache while the P2 400 has 256K, but the speed differences probably even them out. I think the FSB is the same for both.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 950
Location: San Jose, CA
If you're running PC100 memory already,then I'd suggest going straight to a PIII 500Mhz upgrade. These modules are only $10 or so on Ebay. It's a little more work, but all the info can be readily found on the forum.

E.g. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0597037660

_________________
Current Thinkpads: 600E, 600X, 701C, A31 (Flexview), R51 (Flexview), R60, T42P (Flexview), TR50E, T60 (Flexview), X61s (Ultralight), Z61m (Ti) Non-Thinkpad: Toshiba 100ct


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
virge wrote:
If you're running PC100 memory already,then I'd suggest going straight to a PIII 500Mhz upgrade. These modules are only $10 or so on Ebay. It's a little more work, but all the info can be readily found on the forum.

E.g. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0597037660


I am running on PC66 memory (2x128MB + the onboard memory), does that prevent me from going with Pentium III ?

I am still confused about the PII vs PIII and the hack required, maybe you can clarify this for me about the 150MHZ penalty. I read that going with a pentium III will inflict a 150MHz penalty because the motherboard does not support SpeedStep? Does the hack with the 2kOhm resistor allows to go full speed? How many hacks are we talking about? (as I understand, the first hack is to get rid of error 127 by going into the bios and using a Hex editor to change one bit to disable the L2 cache and the second hack involves physically soldering a 2 kOhm resistor on the CPU). After the hack, will I be able to use the PIII at full speed ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:19 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1306
Location: Toronto, Canada
I think you've got it basically right, except that the PIII 500 is not a SpeedStep CPU so you won't lose 150MHz due to lack of support for SpeedStep -- it'll run at 500 just like a regular CPU. Also, you need to have some kind of utility that will re-enable the L2 cache after you bypass the L2 activation during the boot process.

Moving to a PIII 500 on a 600E should not require hardware soldering or physical hacks, only software and BIOS "hacks"/edits. Though as virge says, it is a bit of work.

Regarding the memory, I think only a very few people have successfully pushed their PC66 up to 100MHz bus speed. Normally, you replace the PC66 with PC100 and disable the onboard RAM (or it is automatically disabled when it fails to work during boot).

Phil.

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:36 am
Posts: 44
Location: Montreal, Canada
Hi everyone, I am following-up on this thread by giving you an update:

Initially: 600E-AU3 300MHz orginal CPU, 256 MB or PcC-66 RAM

I bought the Dell 5000 CPU P3 600MHz PMM60002101AB from ebay.

Installed the CPU, modified the Bios to get rid of error 127 and installed Powerleap and enabled to force L2 cache on startup.

The computer is much faster than before. XP and IE8 run smoothly, I can even play 360p youtube videos almost smoothly.

As I expected, using CPUID, I see it is running at 500MHz (100MHz penalty) and the FSB is at 100 MHz

Now my question is should I disable the onboard memory? (change the byte 80 to 81 in the CMOS), I am a bit confused.

If I want to run at full 600 MHZ, I should do the mod with the 2.1k resistor right?

I can't find the exact post with the picture of the mod, could someone point me to the right direction please.

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group