thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
  Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
Our oldest longest advertiser of parts for ThinkPads
LIVE LONG AND PROSPER
Goodbye, Mr. Spock, wherEVER you've gone..


If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Sat Apr 25, 2015 4:46 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: corners & edges on T420
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:19 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 130
Location: Abbotsford B.C. Canada
Hi! I went to corners and edges and turned off every available bar. They still come up and its extremely annoying. Need some help!

Admin note: Moved from T400/410/420 as it appears that this is a Windows 8 issue


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:11 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14230
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
If you want help from this forum, you'll have to come up with better descriptions than the gibberish you put up here!
This is not the first time you fail to provide details!

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Back from Sunny Ireland in Rainy Pennsylvania :evil:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:12 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 9487
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
I think we're going to need some more information before we can make any suggestions:

- I'm assuming that we're talking about "toolbars" that are popping up?
- do you know what the toolbars control or are for?
- what operating system
- what browser, if the toolbars are appearing only inside a browser
- if you can get a screen capture and then post a link to the image, a picture is definitely worth 1,000 words

_________________
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T410 T420 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:01 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 130
Location: Abbotsford B.C. Canada
My apologies to the forum in General but certainly Not to the Sarcastic real black stuff.
I am on a T420 and using Win8.1 The Corners and Edges I refer to are the sides that show the large black borders with the Charms showing. I searched for a solution and was advised to go to PC Settings,then Corners and Edges and turn OFF all bars. As soon as my mouse comes close to the edges the Charms show up and close the site I am on . Any help will be appreciated but frustrated ( would be gurus ) can please just disregard the many novices requiring help and patience.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:15 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 9487
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
I have no experience with Windows 8 but this is what is found with a simple Google search ("windows 8 charms bar disable"):

http://www.askvg.com/how-to-disable-hot ... ndows-8-1/

_________________
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T410 T420 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:22 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 14230
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
tomjrc wrote:
My apologies to the forum in General but certainly Not to the Sarcastic real black stuff.

Nothing to do with being sarcastic!
More to do with not having a clue (like most people on this forum) about much-disliked Windows 8 or 8.1.
And EVERYTHING to do with your lack of giving information!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:49 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:31 pm
Posts: 130
Location: Abbotsford B.C. Canada
To: rKawaKami: thanks for the site1 I went there and found that what I did do was to apply the #2 fix first and that was what I tried to explain in my 1st post. It did not work. After your tip I went to fix #1 and found all the boxes were set properly except "replace command prompt with windows power shell '
that I clicked a check mark. I have tested 2 sites and so far NO charms have showed up .
Thanks again!!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited