thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 2:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 10:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Wallkill, NY
Hi, Mr. Newbie to this forum, here.

Running a T30 dual boot Win98SE and XP Sp3. HDD was totally wiped when I received the machine, so I loaded the operating systems, 98 first then Xp.
Installed as many of the Lenovo drivers for XP as I could find, but when running Win98 the only screen resolution is 600x480, all other choices are grayed out.
The two operating systems are a necessity as some of the software is run under real DOS which can be accessed if the boot-up is halted before 98 is loaded.
Others are written for 98, the rest for XP. Several of the programs which run under 98 are cumbersome at the minimum screen resolution, their images more than fill the screen.
I read on another forum about reinstalling 98 in order to add resolutions, but if that's going to require that I reinstall XP afterward, well, not good. May as well back up the HDD and start over.

Anybody been down a road like this before? Any less painless ways to make this happen?

Thanks,

Stan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 1:37 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:33 am
Posts: 845
Location: Norwich, UK
Have you got the appropriate video/display drivers for 98? That could be it.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad L540 | Core i5 4200M | 8GB 1600MHz RAM | 1920x1080 Display | UltraNav with Fingerprint Reader | Seagate SSHD 1TB | 720p Webcam | 6 Cell 56Wh Battery | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Past: IBM ThinkPad A31, R40

My custom-built desktop - see pics!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 2:06 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5780
Location: Israel
Second that. Win98 MUST have a specific video driver, as the generic VGA driver will only go up to VGA resolution.

On an unrelated note, if you put BootGUI=0 in Win98's MSDOS.SYS file, it won't load on startup (you can load it by typing WIN). Perhaps you know that already. :) I guess it depends on how frequently you need to run pure DOS versus Win98 software.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 5:30 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13859
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
All W98 drivers can be found here: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 42358.html

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 7:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Wallkill, NY
A31 wrote:
Have you got the appropriate video/display drivers for 98? That could be it.


Well, I thought that I did, but I'll give it another whack... that's why I'm here.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Wallkill, NY
dr_st wrote:
Second that. Win98 MUST have a specific video driver, as the generic VGA driver will only go up to VGA resolution.

On an unrelated note, if you put BootGUI=0 in Win98's MSDOS.SYS file, it won't load on startup (you can load it by typing WIN). Perhaps you know that already. :) I guess it depends on how frequently you need to run pure DOS versus Win98 software.


Will download the driver set and install them.

As relating to the boot sequence, I've inserted a call to a DOS menu program which takes care of calling all the DOS stuff. Once the menu is quitted, the boot continues to W98. Although, I'll remember that tip.
Actually I use the DOS software more than the W98 stuff... all of which is used to program the operating specs into 2-way radios. Some old enough that DOS is the only way to do the job.

Thanks, Stan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 10:27 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:33 am
Posts: 845
Location: Norwich, UK
stancomm wrote:
Well, I thought that I did, but I'll give it another whack... that's why I'm here.

Thanks.


Well if you have an ethernet/internet driver can't you just tell it to go and search for the appropriate driver over the web, or does 98 not have this feature? I really can't remember I've not used it in such a long time! Anyway if it does, right click "My Computer" to bring up the system properties, then to "Hardware" and then to "Device Manager" and right click on the video controller and tell it to find a driver online.

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad L540 | Core i5 4200M | 8GB 1600MHz RAM | 1920x1080 Display | UltraNav with Fingerprint Reader | Seagate SSHD 1TB | 720p Webcam | 6 Cell 56Wh Battery | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Past: IBM ThinkPad A31, R40

My custom-built desktop - see pics!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 3:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:25 pm
Posts: 742
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
@A31, win98 does not have this feature (actually, device manager is built into system properties, not a sperate window.

After you have downloaded and run the program from IBM, you need to go an install the driver, which should be in the c:\drivers folder - look around, and there should be an installer program, which will enable everything.

_________________
Elitebook 8440p, i5 520, 8gb, Samsung 840 SSD
Old/Not Working/Dead Laptops:
T61 7661CC2, 4gb, Windows 7 x64, 240gb intel SSD, 500gb Ultrabay drive
Toshiba Portege 7020ct
Thinkpad T41 23737FU
Dell Latitude LS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 8:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Wallkill, NY
craigmontHunter wrote:
@A31, win98 does not have this feature (actually, device manager is built into system properties, not a sperate window.

After you have downloaded and run the program from IBM, you need to go an install the driver, which should be in the c:\drivers folder - look around, and there should be an installer program, which will enable everything.


Thank you all! It works!

Stan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 11:37 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Posts: 593
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
craigmontHunter wrote:
@A31, win98 does not have this feature (actually, device manager is built into system properties, not a sperate window.


98 Actually did have this, it was just on the same screen as searching disks for the driver...

5k IMG:
Image

But it hasn't worked since July 11, 2006... even before MS discontinued support, it was very limited as to which drivers it had in MS's database... it was basically luck :P

_________________
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 12:28 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:25 pm
Posts: 742
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
I guess my issue is that I never had a 98 system connected to the internet long enough to discover that (or it never worked) - I went to windows 2000 shortly after I got wifi, which was worlds better 8)

I don't think you would have had much luck with it anyway :lol: - I don't think ATI ever posted their older laptop video drivers on windows update, regardless of the windows version (up to xp), even when they were new.

_________________
Elitebook 8440p, i5 520, 8gb, Samsung 840 SSD
Old/Not Working/Dead Laptops:
T61 7661CC2, 4gb, Windows 7 x64, 240gb intel SSD, 500gb Ultrabay drive
Toshiba Portege 7020ct
Thinkpad T41 23737FU
Dell Latitude LS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 12:41 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Posts: 593
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
It usuually had things like sound, or, laugh... modem drivers... remember this was mostly dial-up days :P

_________________
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 2:58 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5780
Location: Israel
Automatic driver search by Windows only started working well with Vista. And really well only with Win7. Vista had a pretty solid database of drivers already supplied with the distributive, but if you needed something new from the internet, it still not quite as good as Win7 (at least my experience has been such).

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 7:45 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 450
Location: Youngstown, OH
Even if MS had the correct driver it would be a very old one anyway, you are better off looking up the latest driver for that chipset (once you know what it is).

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 9:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Posts: 593
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Unknown_K wrote:
Even if MS had the correct driver it would be a very old one anyway, you are better off looking up the latest driver for that chipset (once you know what it is).


bigtime agree, laptop oem manufacturer site is always your best bet, chipset if you see it fixes a problem that the oem ain't got around to including in there driver pack.

_________________
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 1:51 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:37 pm
Posts: 450
Location: Youngstown, OH
I keep all the original disks for my old equipment, but if I am reloading a system I go for the last drivers made since many original drivers were VERY buggy (like my first Nvidia card back in the day, a TNT1 AGP card with nasty artifacts from the OEM drivers).

IBM seems like they would fix any major bugs with their own chip designs, but most laptops have off the shelf chipsets and getting newer drivers from the OEM is the best bet.

_________________
Collection: 310ED, 350C, 360C, 365C, 365XD, 380D, 380XD, 380Z, 390E, 390X, 560X, 600, 600E, 701C, 750CS, 755C, 755CD, 760C, 760CD, 760ED, 760EL, 760XD, 760XL, 765L, 765D, 770, 770E, 770Z, T21, T22, T23, T30, A20P, A21P, A22M, A30, A31, A31P, T40, T42, T43P, T60


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group