thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 21  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Fujitsu MHT2080AH
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 7:33 pm
Posts: 32
I bought an off-the-shelf 80 GB 5400 RPM Fujitsu HDD (MHT2080AH) for my T43 (2668-ES1) and also got the 2010 error. I later downloaded the firmware update from here:

http://www-306.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... hd3318.exe

I was able to update the firmware without problems. No need to fiddle with .PRO or .DAT files here. I'm running the latest BIOS 1YET57WW (1.22) and I'm not getting the error message anymore.

Just wanted to give a heads up to others wanting to upgrade their hard drives.

I also posted this message in the Hitachi 7k60 thread. Thought some of you might be interested.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:55 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:33 pm
Posts: 212
Location: switzerland
i have a toshiba 1032GAX and bios 1.22 but the 2010 error msg is still here...

_________________
17.06.05:
t43p (2668G4G), PM750, 2Go dual, 1032GAX (100gb/5k/16mb) 2010 error msg, SXGA+ 14.1", V3200, DVD-RW, GBeth, Intel abg, bt, 9 cells, XPPro/Ubuntu, Fingerprint,
800MHz-0.7Vcore, LCD min -> 13Watts


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 3:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 8:09 am
Posts: 1
Location: Cph, DK
I have a 20Gig hd leftover from a retired ThinkPad T21 named Hitachi DJSA-220 which also cannot be upgraded with the current firmware release and therefor produces the 2010 error.

An upgrade bought for the above mentioned T21 a Hitachi HTS726060M9AT00 also cannot be upgraded and produces the 2010 error.

World wide issue it seems.

Kim
2K-Design
Copenhagen, Denmark

_________________
T43 2668-45G | P M 750(1.86GHz),512MB RAM,40GB 5400rpm HD, 14.1in 1024x768 LCD,64MB ATI Radeon X300, CDRW/DVD,Intel 802.11abg (MPCI), Bluetooth/Modem(CDC),1Gb Ethernet(LOM), UltraNav,Secure Chip, Fingerprint Reader,6c Li-Ion batt,WinXP Pro


Last edited by kramaric on Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 4:43 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:33 pm
Posts: 212
Location: switzerland
I just posted that on lenovo's site...
Quote:
Hello,
concerning the 2010 error msg. I have bought and installed a toshiba 1032GAX (100gb, 5400rpm, 16mb cache) in place of the original 7k60. All works fine except the 2010 msg. i saw this page on your site :
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-60169
with 3 solutions.
The first is to update the firmware of the hdd. My firmware is up to date and there is still the problem. The 2 other solutions are just avoiding the problem by installing the hdd somewhere else.

My question : why this message asking to press f1 or escape is permanent ? This msg should be "disablable" in the BIOS... even if there were a disclaimer... But the present solution only makes a kind of monopoly for some hdd manufacturer. By the way it's a Overused word for all people who installed another hard drive.

Thanks for help

EDIT : I recieved an answer :
Quote:
Dear Mr *****,

would you please provide the FRU P/N of the Hard Disk Drive so i can check the
compatibility?

If you do not use an IBM-Option you hopefully will understand, that we can not
support the Hard Disk Drive as it's compatibility is not checked and the drive is not
certified for our machines. It might simply be the possibility that the drive doesn't
support the S-ATA Controller on the machine.

Best Regards
**** ****
IBM eSupport


IBM Personal Computing Division
http://www.ibm.com/pc/support

It seems he is avoiding to answer my question by throwing me a standard answer isn't he ?

_________________
17.06.05:
t43p (2668G4G), PM750, 2Go dual, 1032GAX (100gb/5k/16mb) 2010 error msg, SXGA+ 14.1", V3200, DVD-RW, GBeth, Intel abg, bt, 9 cells, XPPro/Ubuntu, Fingerprint,
800MHz-0.7Vcore, LCD min -> 13Watts


Last edited by nrj45 on Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:19 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:37 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Relocated To Tokyo,Japan
I got T43P(2668-G3U) last week and replaced 7K60 with Seagate ST9120821A(120GB/5400RPM) yesterday. It does not occur 2010 err msg!!
Bios is 1.22(1YET57WW) 7/20/2005.

_________________
X60Tablet (6366AJU:Replaced 12"SXGA+)1.83GHz,4.0GB,Fujitsu MHZ2320BH G2(320GB/5400RPM),Atheros Wifi,3yrs.
T60P(200784U)2.16GHz,2G,100G7200RPM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:16 am
Posts: 5
Location: WV, USA
Wow, seems like this whole situation has turned sour since I hacked up the firmware utility to flash my drive. I got a PM concerning this, and I thought I'd check back in...

I have had *no* problems with my 7k60 or the T43 in general since the update. The latest laptop bios is still okay with it. As long as they don't get around to checking that fifth hex value, I see no reason why it would change.

I would also note that for issues like Ojisan, IIRC, the checksum should be reported by the back-end flash utility as "actual". The essence of what I did was to copy what it reported as actual into the plain-text file that gives the utility the "expected" value to begin with, giving it only one option: flash the drive. So, for any future attempts that don't seem to be working, just look at the value it gives you, then feed it right back to the program via the configuration file. Also note the switches available. You can run the utility with -h or something to get a list if you want to play around.

Anyway, I don't have much more than that. The laptop has been fantastic for law school this far; the 7200rpm didn't really affect the battery life at all while it did pick up the performance. Good luck to everyone...

_________________
T43, 2687-D3U...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 4:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 8:02 am
Posts: 14
This thread is getting quite long, I am lost whether there is a way to get the HDD I want to use in my T43p to work without the error message.

Hitachi IC25N080ATMR04-0 80gb 4200rpm 2mb cache 2.5"

I have no FDD, so I don't think I can update the firmware anyway ..

It's totally annoying and I got the machine in Germany where you can't buy it directly from IBM, the dealer would never take it back.

I will call IBM and complain, they have to advertise that they use proprietary HDDs, I have a T42p and might as well stick with that where I can use whatever HDDs I wish.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 8:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:12 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Atlanta, GA
I agree with you goodgirl, I'm losing track also. From what I've read it seems that only egnatius and NJ_IT are the only 2 that have been able to buy off-the-shelf HD and have it work in a T43 w/o the 2010. Others have bought HD that should have worked with the flash bios but did not.

Because I've just placed an order for a T43 w/40GB, I'm really interested in this thread.

Egnatius and NJ_IT, you specified the model# and bios you have, can you both also please specify where you bought the HD (ex. newegg, compusa?).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:20 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:37 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Relocated To Tokyo,Japan
Edward wrote:
can you both also please specify where you bought the HD (ex. newegg, compusa?).


I bought Seagate ST9120821A(120GB/5400RPM) in Newegg web two weeks ago. Very quiet , fast enough and not so hot!

_________________
X60Tablet (6366AJU:Replaced 12"SXGA+)1.83GHz,4.0GB,Fujitsu MHZ2320BH G2(320GB/5400RPM),Atheros Wifi,3yrs.
T60P(200784U)2.16GHz,2G,100G7200RPM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 3:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:05 pm
Posts: 11
NJ_IT wrote:
I bought Seagate ST9120821A(120GB/5400RPM) in Newegg web two weeks ago. Very quiet , fast enough and not so hot!

May I ask you again to double check: the seagate drive you got from Newegg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822146231
is working "as is" (without fw upgrade) on your T43 as the main disk drive ?
You are not using the ultrabay as a secondary drive ?
No error 2010 at boot ? No data corrcuption ? ...
Do you know what is different between your drive and my same Seagate drive
but the 100GB version, which is NOT working on my T43 laptop ?
I would like to avoid buying an other hdd that I cannot use in that poorly designed T43 !
Thank You and Best Regards, Gilles


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:05 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:37 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Relocated To Tokyo,Japan
I am using exact the same drive (ST9120821A)as you indicate(but price is little reduced than at that time I purchased !!!)
This harddrive has been fully operational and NO 2010 msg as a main drive without firmware update in my T43P.
Regarding 100G/5400rpm(ST9100823A),I used for T43(not P) ,but 2010 err msg happened.
BTW I just found Seagate ST910021A(100GB/7200rpm $337) in newegg web.

_________________
X60Tablet (6366AJU:Replaced 12"SXGA+)1.83GHz,4.0GB,Fujitsu MHZ2320BH G2(320GB/5400RPM),Atheros Wifi,3yrs.
T60P(200784U)2.16GHz,2G,100G7200RPM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 6:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:05 pm
Posts: 11
NJ_IT wrote:
I am using exact the same drive (ST9120821A)as you indicate(but price is little reduced than at that time I purchased !!!)
This harddrive has been fully operational and NO 2010 msg as a main drive without firmware update in my T43P.
Regarding 100G/5400rpm(ST9100823A),I used for T43(not P) ,but 2010 err msg happened.
BTW I just found Seagate ST910021A(100GB/7200rpm $337) in newegg web.

Thank you for your response.
I would like to understand if the problem of the T43 has been now solved by IBM on the new models and/or the T43P ? Or if the new Seagte 120GB/5400 wil just work as is on all (old) T43 models ? Would it be possible for you to try your new Seagate 120GB/5400 drive on your old T43 (not p) and tell us if you see the 2010 error message ? Thanks a lot, Gilles


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 7:20 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:37 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Relocated To Tokyo,Japan
ruymbeke wrote:
I would like to understand if the problem of the T43 has been now solved by IBM on the new models and/or the T43P ? Or if the new Seagte 120GB/5400 wil just work as is on all (old) T43 models ? Would it be possible for you to try your new Seagate 120GB/5400 drive on your old T43 (not p) and tell us if you see the 2010 error message ? Thanks a lot, Gilles


I have just replaced the previous harddrive(Seagate 100GB/5400 )which occurs 2010 err msg in my old T43(2668-46U,Bios 1.22 1YET57WW 7/20/2005) by Seagate New 120GB/5400 which keeping T43P driver images and used as a main harddrive of my new T43P (with NO 2010 msg).
Result; 2010 msg was NOT detected in T43(not P) and looks like fully operational.
Maybe this new harddrive has new firmware fitted to IBM harddriver criteria.
Does someone try to fit the newest Seagate 100GB/7200rpm harddrive to T43/P?

_________________
X60Tablet (6366AJU:Replaced 12"SXGA+)1.83GHz,4.0GB,Fujitsu MHZ2320BH G2(320GB/5400RPM),Atheros Wifi,3yrs.
T60P(200784U)2.16GHz,2G,100G7200RPM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:42 am 
Offline
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Posts: 6861
Location: ThinkPadLand
i get the 2010 error with a new 100gig 7200RPM travelstar on my new T43p 2668Q2U..

:?

_________________
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:21 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:37 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Relocated To Tokyo,Japan
BillMorrow wrote:
i get the 2010 error with a new 100gig 7200RPM travelstar on my new T43p 2668Q2U..

:?


It is strange.
Are you talking about 100GB/7200rpm travelstar which already equipped in 2668Q2U as a original main harddrive ?

_________________
X60Tablet (6366AJU:Replaced 12"SXGA+)1.83GHz,4.0GB,Fujitsu MHZ2320BH G2(320GB/5400RPM),Atheros Wifi,3yrs.
T60P(200784U)2.16GHz,2G,100G7200RPM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 12:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 7:33 pm
Posts: 32
Edward wrote:
Egnatius and NJ_IT, you specified the model# and bios you have, can you both also please specify where you bought the HD (ex. newegg, compusa?).


Edward, I don't know if you'll find this helpful, but I bought the hard drive at a local computer store in Monterrey, Mexico called PC City.

For what it's worth, I browsed newegg and found that while they don't carry the exact model I'm using, they do have anoher line of Fujitsu HDDs that are listed in the IBM firmware update page.

Those models are MHT2060AT and MHT2080AT which have 60GB and 80GB capacities.

You can check out the hard drive update page for yourself at:
http://www-306.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... yout=print

Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 12:19 am
Posts: 958
Location: Austin, Texas
OK, I hope this information helps some of you.

As far as updating the firmware on Hitachi drives NOT purchased from IBM, this is likely a dead-end.

Here is why:
I had a 7K60 60GB 7200rpm Hitachi drive that I had purchased from a vendor on the web.
After IBM released the firmware updater program, I tried to update the 7K60 firmware.
I would get a message that the firmware had been successfully updated, but when I rebooted the notebook and went into device manager, the drive showed the old firmware revision. I repeated this several times, and still saw the old firmware revision.

So...I called Hitachi....and HERE is why it didn't work...

Hitachi manufactures the drives for IBM with an EEPROM chip (eraseable, re-programmable) for the firmware.

Hitachi manufactures most other drives with a PROM chip for the firmware (programmable ONCE).

The drives manufactured with PROM's can NOT be flashed. No how, NO WAY. Doesn't matter how many times you try, won't work, because a PROM can only be written to once.

This is like the difference between a CD-R and a CD-RW.

Why do they use a PROM instead of an EEPROM for most drives?
Simple...it saves them a few pennies per drive because the PROM costs less!!!


They figure that 99+ % of people won't need to flash their drive firmware.

IBM drives have EEPROM's because IBM spec'd the drives from Hitachi with EEPROM's.

Anyhow, this was on a T42, so I was not dealing with the 2010 error. I was simply trying to update my 7K60 firmware.

I confirmed this with Hitachi technical support.

Anyhow, hope this helps.

I didn't read this entire thread, so I didn't know if this had been covered.

Andrew
Austin, TX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:47 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:37 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Relocated To Tokyo,Japan
aamsel wrote:
Hitachi manufactures the drives for IBM with an EEPROM chip (eraseable, re-programmable) for the firmware.

Hitachi manufactures most other drives with a PROM chip for the firmware (programmable ONCE).



Thank you for information,but still I have a question.
Any type(EPROM or PROM) of 7k100 are the very latest HDD,so Firmware maybe same in both HDD(I guess).If so , it must be same symptom on 2010 error message.
But reality is.......
I heard that 7K100 performance is much greater than old 7k60.
Should I buy 7K100 or not? It's a problem!

BTW, I expect New Seagate 100GB/7200rpm does not bring 2010 err msg,because NO 2010 err msg on the New Seagate 120GB/5400rpm HDD (I verified)
Does someone try to buy and check Seagate 100GB/7200rpm HDD?

_________________
X60Tablet (6366AJU:Replaced 12"SXGA+)1.83GHz,4.0GB,Fujitsu MHZ2320BH G2(320GB/5400RPM),Atheros Wifi,3yrs.
T60P(200784U)2.16GHz,2G,100G7200RPM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 12:01 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 12:19 am
Posts: 958
Location: Austin, Texas
I would not assume for a minute that the firmware would be the same in a 7K100 from a web-vendor vs a 7K100 that would come in a T43/p Thinkpad from IBM/Lenovo.

It is very likely that there is some different data in the firmware between Hitachi drives manufactured specifically for IBM/Lenovo and drives sold to everyone else.

Keep in mind that IBM/Lenovo is a huge customer and can easily get their drives manufactured to their specs. A Hitachi drive made for IBM/Lenovo is NOT going to get a 2010. That much is guaranteed. Keep in mind that Hitachi drives used to be a division of IBM.

As for Hitachi drives that you buy somewhere on the web:
There is NO TELLING if it is going to work without the 2010 or not without trying it. Chances are good that you will get the error.

7K100 has better performance than the 7K60 on paper. What difference you will see "real world" I am not sure. The 7K60's are virtually gone at this point. The 7K60's performed so much better than any other notebook drive that the only good reason to go to a 7K100 is to get the 80GB or 100GB size. And, at this point, we don't know that they can be made to work without the error.

The bottom line is:
If you have a working drive in a Thinkpad, I would think long and hard before dropping in ANY drive that can not be returned for a refund.

Andrew
Austin, TX


NJ_IT wrote:
...Thank you for information,but still I have a question.
Any type(EPROM or PROM) of 7k100 are the very latest HDD,so Firmware maybe same in both HDD(I guess).If so , it must be same symptom on 2010 error message.
But reality is.......
I heard that 7K100 performance is much greater than old 7k60.
Should I buy 7K100 or not? It's a problem!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 10:42 am
Posts: 31
OK, I have given in :?

Can anyone tell me where I can get an official IBM 7200rpm drive from in the UK. I dont care how much it costs anymore, I just want better performance from my T43 :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:57 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
I kinda find it hard to believe Hitachi would cheap out and use PROM on their HD's...

if there is a defect, and a firmware update *is* needed... they would have to do a recall, or face a class action lawsuit like IBM did with the faulty Deskstar 75GXP (there have been others, but don't remember them specifically).

It seems unusual that they would assume so much liability over a few cents.

The brilliance of firmware is that you can update your defective products after they ship, and prevent recalls, lawsuits, etc.

I understand why IBM wants flashable drives :wink: They aren't stupid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 10:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 12:19 am
Posts: 958
Location: Austin, Texas
Call their tech support number and ask them. Maybe they gave me bad information, who knows? But, the explanation did explain why the drive would not update.

Andrew
Austin, TX


DIGITALgimpus wrote:
I kinda find it hard to believe Hitachi would cheap out and use PROM on their HD's...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:37 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
I don't doubt what they told you. Though I wonder how much tech support knows about engineering (typically nothing).

It just strikes me as strange that they would be so confident in their firmware. As anyone with a computer knows: firmware has had it's share of issues over the years.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:16 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:23 pm
Posts: 153
Well, I have swapped back with the original HDD that came with my Thinkpad which is 5400RPM 80GB. I was getting error 2010 with Hitachi 60gb 7200rpm. and not only that, I was always having difficulty to resume from suspend. Many times when I tried to resume, it was not reliable. Basically I was getting a blank black screen, and at the end I had to reboot again from fresh. Or resume could take me over a minute with non original harddrive. It's funny that non proprietary harddrive could make a difference. I don't know if it happens the same thing with you guys.
So it was very annoying.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:48 pm 
Offline
ThinkPad Partner
ThinkPad Partner

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:41 am
Posts: 879
Location: Houston, TX. USA
I am using Seagate 5400.2 100GB right out of the box on my T41p.
I did not do a BIOS upgrade since everything is working fine w/o the upgrade. Perhaps all these problems are specific to T43/p but here is my basic philosophy.

"If ain't broken don't fix it" My current BIOS is working fine so I am going to leave it as it is unless I am forced to do so due some software upgrade necessary.

_________________
* T60 * X61 * X41 * T500 * ThinkCentre A58 *


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:57 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:02 pm
Posts: 1276
Location: Newark, Ohio
We've already determined that it's T43/p (and R52 - same chipset) specific, daeojkim...

It's actually related to the interface chip that the T43/p uses for the IDE HDDs, which is apparently incompatible with most drives, except for ones with custom IBM firmware.

You're perfectly safe to update your BIOS. You may want to find out what version you've got, and what changes the newer versions have, to see whether you actually want to upgrade, as there are things that work fine, but work better with a BIOS upgrade.

_________________
SOLECTRON SUCKS
TP T61p | It doesn't actually have a type-model any more... hacked in ALL the mods! | 15.0" 4:3 chassis, QXGA, T9500, 8 GiB RAM, 750 GB HDD, Win7 Pro, Advanced Dock, PCIe QFX 570


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
Is this specific to the T43p? Or is it the entire T43 series?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:51 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:02 pm
Posts: 1276
Location: Newark, Ohio
Entire T43 - that's why I put T43/p, and not T43p.

Actually, it's "specific" to all IBM i915-based laptops, except for the Z series.

That's the T43/p, the R52, and the X41/T.

Nobody's seen it in the X41, though, because third-party drives are nearly impossible to find, and Toshiba's aren't at all compatible, so 60GB is the biggest, and IBM sells that.

_________________
SOLECTRON SUCKS
TP T61p | It doesn't actually have a type-model any more... hacked in ALL the mods! | 15.0" 4:3 chassis, QXGA, T9500, 8 GiB RAM, 750 GB HDD, Win7 Pro, Advanced Dock, PCIe QFX 570


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 3:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 10:42 am
Posts: 31
Quote:
Actually, it's "specific" to all IBM i915-based laptops, except for the Z series


So we are sure the Z series do not have this problem? I was thinking of getting one anyway, this could swing it in the event of not being able to get 7200 for my T43


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:07 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:02 pm
Posts: 1276
Location: Newark, Ohio
The Z series uses a SATA HDD, so it doesn't have the convertor chip that's causing these problems.

So, it'll need a new drive - no moving drives from older ThinkPads, as the older drives are all PATA, and totally incompatible.

However, if you were going to get a new drive ANYWAY, the cheaper 7K100s are all SATA :D

_________________
SOLECTRON SUCKS
TP T61p | It doesn't actually have a type-model any more... hacked in ALL the mods! | 15.0" 4:3 chassis, QXGA, T9500, 8 GiB RAM, 750 GB HDD, Win7 Pro, Advanced Dock, PCIe QFX 570


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 21  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group