thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:49 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 21  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
Isn't the HTS541080G9AT00 just IBM 39T2525? That is supported on the T43 (with a firmware update) as mentioned here before.

The question is how to use "unsupported" drives.

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 5:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 5:35 pm
Posts: 1
I have a FUJITSU MHV2100AH 100GB 5400 rpm bought from www.span.com (in the UK). It works fine with the latest BIOS (1.23) in my T43, with no problems/boot messages.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:08 am
Posts: 2
Location: Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Hi DIGITALgimpus,

Well, the HTS541080G9AT00 is shown as FRU 92P6549 at http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-50075
and requires diskette number FWHD3414 at http://www-306.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... yout=print

My experience however, is that when it was purchased directly from a reseller as a Hitachi product (for 25% of the price of purchasing it through IBM!) and not from a Lenovo reseller as a genuine IBM FRU, it was not supported! This was a brand new drive, manufactured in October 2005, and was supplied with the latest firmware upgrade (A60A) that is shown on the Lenovo site. Despite all this it brought up the Error 2010 after it was installed, and would not run the firmware upgrade, as the upgrade was already installed.

In other words, even Hitachi drives not supplied via IBM/Lenovo can be "unsupported".

Hope this helps

regards,
freddie

_________________
regards,
freddie
"I told you I was ill." Spike Milligan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 1:15 pm
Posts: 6
I agree about the Hitachi 5410. I have a new 266884u and a new 5k100 and I tried to flash the bios but it says that the bios is already current. :evil:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:03 am
Posts: 23
Just got in a new Seagate Momentus 7200.1 ST980825A 80GB. Tried it right out of the box in a T43 running bios v1.19. No error message. Yay!

A great solution for someone who wants a 7200rpm that just works. It has been previously confirmed that the Seagate Moments 7200.1 ST910021A 100GB works as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 6:09 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:57 am
Posts: 203
Location: CA, USA
So is there a comparison between the Seagate one and 7k100?

_________________
Current: T43P-2687D5U: P-M 2G, 2G RAM, FireGL V3200 128M, 80G 5400 RPM(Will be 100G 7K100 when 2010 gone!), 15' UXGA, Multi Burner, Intel A/B/G, Bluetooth, 9 Cell, Fingerprint Reader, WinXP Pro
Previous: 390E, 600E, T23, X30, T40 ......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:03 am
Posts: 23
CoolDragon wrote:
So is there a comparison between the Seagate one and 7k100?


A comparison can be found here between the Seagate Momentus 7200.1 100GB and the Hitachi Travelstar 7K60: http://www.barefeats.com/hard56.html

Not sure why they didn't include the 7K100, but I haven't seen a review that compares those two drives head to head. But compared the the 7K60, on this site at least, the Momentus does very well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:30 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Texas
CoolDragon wrote:
So is there a comparison between the Seagate one and 7k100?


http://www.laptoplogic.com/news/detail.php?id=99


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 10:28 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:57 am
Posts: 203
Location: CA, USA
Thanks, guys. Don't understand why Seagate have multiple warranty, such as 1 year, 3 years and 5 years with different price. That would be great.

_________________
Current: T43P-2687D5U: P-M 2G, 2G RAM, FireGL V3200 128M, 80G 5400 RPM(Will be 100G 7K100 when 2010 gone!), 15' UXGA, Multi Burner, Intel A/B/G, Bluetooth, 9 Cell, Fingerprint Reader, WinXP Pro
Previous: 390E, 600E, T23, X30, T40 ......


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:47 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
bfineman wrote:
Just got in a new Seagate Momentus 7200.1 ST980825A 80GB. Tried it right out of the box in a T43 running bios v1.19. No error message. Yay!

A great solution for someone who wants a 7200rpm that just works. It has been previously confirmed that the Seagate Moments 7200.1 ST910021A 100GB works as well.

Anyone know if that works on the newest bios? 1.23?

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:03 am
Posts: 23
DIGITALgimpus wrote:
Anyone know if that works on the newest bios? 1.23?


v1.19 is the latest BIOS for the T43, and this drive works fine with it. Unfortunately I do not have a T43p on hand to test. However, previous results would suggest that the BIOS for both of these models are closely related, and that a drive that works with one will (probably) work with the other.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 1:34 pm 
Offline
User with bad email address, PLEASE fix!

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 12:39 am
Posts: 24
bfineman wrote:
DIGITALgimpus wrote:
Anyone know if that works on the newest bios? 1.23?


v1.19 is the latest BIOS for the T43, and this drive works fine with it. Unfortunately I do not have a T43p on hand to test. However, previous results would suggest that the BIOS for both of these models are closely related, and that a drive that works with one will (probably) work with the other.


1.23 is the latest bios for T43/(or)P with machine #26xx while 1.19 is for T43 with machine# 18xx. So, you may try upgrade to this bios version if machine starts with 26xx. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 4:22 am 
Offline
User with bad email address, PLEASE fix!

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 12:39 am
Posts: 24
Just upgraded my T43 with 72K100(Oct-05 production date). Still the same...2010 error.

Bill, do you have any clue so far regarding this issue?

Hope somebody can do a MODIFICATION on Bios......get rid of that message.

_________________
T20, X20, T30, T40p 2373-G1A(Upgraded to 2.1 Ghz 765, 2GB Samsung DDR PC2700, HDD 72K60), T43 2668-4DA(upgraded to (replaced)MOBO w/ 128MB FireGL V3200, BMDC3, 2GB Crucial DDR2 533, Multiburner Plus, HDD 7K100)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 1:27 pm
Posts: 16
Does the 2010 message affect performance? Or is it just an annoying nag that you have to click through every time?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: About to pass out.
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:29 am
Posts: 1
Hello,

I've spent the last 6 hours of my day trying to figure out why my newly cloned Toshiba MK1032GAX won't work in my t43! Why have I always gotten this strange 2010 message? Hrm... Right before I was going to turn in, I found this thread :( . Looks like I wasted both my time AND money because of IBM/lenovo/whatever... I don't want to spend an extra few $100 on an IBM drive. Should I hold on to my drive thinking IBM will fix the issue in a new BIOS or should I just sell it on ebay and cough up another few hundred bucks on an IBM compatable drive? I feel so week. :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 1:27 pm
Posts: 16
Actually, I have an IBM 7k100 100gb drive and it still throws up the 2010 error message :/ It's a 2687-D3U with bios 1.23. Driveinfo tells me I don't have to update the firmware in the drive either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:59 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:59 am
Posts: 739
Location: Honolulu, HI, USA
It's pretty incredible that Lenovo hasn't fixed this problem yet.

_________________
HP DV8t | Intel i7-Q 720 | 6GB (DDR3 1333) RAM | 1 TB (500GB Seagate 7200 rpm x2)| GeForce GT 230M (1GB) | 18.4" FHD | SuperMulti 8X w Lightscribe | FP Reader | Bluetooth | HDTV Tuner | Win 7 Ultimate x64. Backup: T61p (8891-CTO)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 5:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
I agree. I really want a larger HD, 100GB. I'd love to pick up a 7k100. Heck right now I'd even settle for a 5400RPM.

IMHO this is the big flaw in the T43, not the heat issue.

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:53 am
Posts: 27
Location: WY
Another confirm for FUJITSU MHV2100AH 100GB 5400rpm with BIOS 1.23.
Boght from zipzoomfly.com. No 2010 error.

_________________
Thinkpad T43 PM 1.86GHz 1GB 100GB X300 14.1" SXGA DVD Intel 2915 ABG WinXP/FC4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: BIOS 1.24
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:04 am
Posts: 46
The new BIOS 1.24 for T43/p-26xx provides an option to disable 2010 error:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=17784
http://www-306.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-59096

- (New) A new BIOS setup option, that allows system startup without pressing the ESC key on POST 2010 warning message.
Its location is 'BIOS Setup menu'->'Startup'->'Boot after message for Hard drive...'.
Note: The cause of the 2010 message is using unsupported hard drive firmware version. Please use supported version as much as you can.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:04 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
Links dead... hopefully it comes back really soon!

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BIOS 1.24
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:40 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:33 pm
Posts: 212
Location: switzerland
Thinkerer wrote:
The new BIOS 1.24 for T43/p-26xx provides an option to disable 2010 error:

Actually you can't disable it... It will display anyway, but if you activate the new bios option, the msg will not block the boot process, it will go further about 10 seconds after display the 2010 error msg (like if you have pressed enter)

_________________
17.06.05:
t43p (2668G4G), PM750, 2Go dual, 1032GAX (100gb/5k/16mb) 2010 error msg, SXGA+ 14.1", V3200, DVD-RW, GBeth, Intel abg, bt, 9 cells, XPPro/Ubuntu, Fingerprint,
800MHz-0.7Vcore, LCD min -> 13Watts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:51 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Irvine, CA
Looks like it doesn't really disable it. That annoying beep beep with the 2010 message is still there. only that this time i dont have to press ESC to continue

_________________
IBM Thinkpad T43P 15" UXGA
Apple Macbook Pro 15" Unibody


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 12:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:23 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Moscow, Russia
can anyone, guys, responsibly confirm that 100GB SEAGATE MOMENTUS 7200.1 work as it does on T43 2668 BIOS 1.24
Thanks

_________________
ThinkPad T43 2668-92G
PM 760, 1GB RAM, 100GB 7200rpm HDD(7k100), 15 SXGA+, X300, CD-RW/DVD-RW ... and I love it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 4
Oh my god I could throw Lenovo through a window. I just bought this computer from newegg, can't return it, and if I knew this was going to be a problem I would have bought a diffrent laptop.

Anyway I have a

TOSHIBA Super Slimline MK8026GAX (HDD2191) 80GB 5400 RPM Notebook Hard Drive

I am getting this 2010 number. But I have a few questions. Is not having the right firmware on your hard drive really corrupting data and slowing down transfer speeds or does is the only problem that annoying message at boot.

I am currently running Gentoo Linux 100% percent of the time so I am not sure if these problems are going to effect me. I read their expectations of problems and I don't really get the larger meaning. They can't be that specific right?

Quote:
This error is purposely generated to alert the user to potential problems with diagnostic or copy tools. There are known issues with several of these listed below.

1. Disk Fitness Test (DFT) version 3.xx provided by Hitachi GST which uses vendor specific commands on the hard drive. These may not be correctly interpreted since they must pass through the serial to parallel ATA bridge. However, version 4.00 or later of the Disk Fitness Test (DFT) will work.
2. HDDTEST version 0.28 by Hitachi GST does not function properly for similar reasons. Instead, use HDDTEST version 0.29 or later.
3. DOS-based copy tools may function slowly or produce incorrect output, specifically previous versions of Norton/Symantec Ghost. These versions are not compatible with the Serial-ATA interface of the Intel ICH6M chip set. Documentation on this problem may be found at www.symantec.com. It is recommended to use either a newer version of Ghost, Norton Ghost 2003 (version 2003.789 or later) or Symantec Ghost 8.0 or later, or to use the -FNI switch when invoking Ghost from the command prompt (For example, Ghost.exe -FNI with the current version of Ghost).

Other disk copy tools and related applications, such as some backup programs, may also have similar behavior.

The hard drives shipped in the affected systems will not display the message because they already have firmware that recognizes this new Serial ATA bridge chip. However, a similar drive from an earlier ThinkPad system or an OEM drive might cause the error message to be displayed. Customers may also notice the POST error message after applying a ThinkPad BIOS update if a drive without the firmware update is installed in the system. Some early systems were shipped with a system BIOS version that did not provide this POST error message. Updated BIOS has been released to provide this informative POST error message to users.


I am running badblocks on my hard drive as we speak and I hope to get some preformance testing in but I am not sure what the baseline should be compaired againt. If both those pass does anyone know any other tests I might need to run to see if there is really a problem?

Also does anyone know an 80gig harddrive that I can buy that will work in this machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 4
So ran badblocks and everything seemed good however after that I tried to run hdparm and that seems to be where the problem is. hdparm just couldn't get anything from the hard drive which is a problem because it means I can't turn on dma. Since dma can't be turned on I wonder if that is what they mean by slow transfers.

So since it seems I am screwed I need to find a 60gig or 80gig hard drive that I know for a fact will work in my laptop. I would go with the Seagate 120gig which two people say work but I can't really afford $250 for a laptop hard drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:58 pm
Posts: 11
I've read this thread a few times, I just bought a 100GB 5400 Seagate ST9100823A. I've seen it mentioned a few times.

Aside from the 2010 message (which I can live with), is there any stability/performance issue with using this drive? If not, then 2010 is just a cosmetic annoyance...

Any reply would be appreciated. I'm running out of HDD space (60GB factory) fast and I would like to do a clone/swap this weekend if possible, but not if the resulting system is slower and unreliable...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:04 am
Posts: 46
hadees wrote:
hdparm just couldn't get anything from the hard drive which is a problem because it means I can't turn on dma. Since dma can't be turned on I wonder if that is what they mean by slow transfers.


Did hdparm and DMA work for you with the original ThinkPad disk?

Are you using kernel 2.6.15 or the SATA pass-through patches, as described in http://thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problems_with_SATA_and_Linux?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:58 pm
Posts: 11
superdx wrote:
I've read this thread a few times, I just bought a 100GB 5400 Seagate ST9100823A. I've seen it mentioned a few times.

Aside from the 2010 message (which I can live with), is there any stability/performance issue with using this drive? If not, then 2010 is just a cosmetic annoyance...

Any reply would be appreciated. I'm running out of HDD space (60GB factory) fast and I would like to do a clone/swap this weekend if possible, but not if the resulting system is slower and unreliable...


Update: I went ahead with the cloning anyways and swapped the hard disks last night. The Seagate is running Ultra DMA Mode 5, I upgraded to BIOS 1.24 so the 2010 error message goes away automatically, and I left the laptop on defrag all night to see if there would be any data corruption and/or BSODs...

Seems perfectly fine. Standby is working, took it in and out of Standby twice already and no big problems.

Speed is quite fast as well, as the Seagate has a larger cache than the factory IBM drive.

The 2010 message appears for just 1 second and it goes away. I think this "patch" is acceptable to me. If I had to wait 30s like a multi-boot screen, then I'd be annoyed. Usually while I'm booting my laptop I'm talking to someone else, getting my morning coffee etc. Not really staring at the screen willing the message to go away.

So it appears that the warning is just a warning only, but only time will tell if my system is still stable, so I will post another update in a few days.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 5:27 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:23 pm
Posts: 153
I bought 7k100 for my T43p, BIOS 1.24 with error 2010. I have been using if for a week and a half and didn't notice any slow down nor data corruption yet. Touch Wood!
How about you guys? How long have you been using 7k100 for? any bad symptoms? Or it's just an annoying error 2010.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 21  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group