thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:30 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 6:07 pm
Posts: 4
The RAM is from hp omnibook 500. Can it work?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 5:12 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 149
Location: TJ,China
Please provide your memory's data (marked on the face). hp omnibook 500 may use PC100 memory. T23 requires PC133.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:24 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2379
Location: Glendora, CA
If it's PC133 it still may not work as IBM's can be picky sometimes over the type of RAM they will work with. Chances are though, if it is PC133, it work just fine.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T410, i5 M520, 8GB DDR3, 1440x900 LCD, 128GB SSD, DVD-RW, Bluetooth, fingerprint, webcam. 2522-26U

Old:
Dell Latitude E6500, E6520, Precision M4400 (Still in use), D630
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:06 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 3:08 pm
Posts: 1157
Location: Lansing, MI
According to the experts here, T23's are less picky about memory than other Thinkpads. Search the posts here for "T23 memory"

_________________
I used to be an anarchist but I quit because there were too many rules


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 12:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 6:07 pm
Posts: 4
then, can I install other brand (like kingmax or kingston) RAM to it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 2:54 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 149
Location: TJ,China
Yes, you can choose kingston, kingmax, toshiba, such as brand memory with PC133 chipsets on T23.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:33 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:12 am
Posts: 406
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
T23 owners agree, I take it, that the T23 is not so narrow about memory upgrade PC133 module chips, as high price RAM sellers (like Crucial & Memory Giant) claim?

I have two 128MBs in board. I'd like to upgrade to at least 512MB but would like to get new. Reseller's want about $100 for two used 256MB modules (supposedly) pulled from T23s.

Does anyone know if I can mix a major brand 512MB with a IBM 128MB and will the PNY PC133, 512MB work that TigerDirect.com sells (recommends) near its reburbished T23 ads? :shock:

_________________
The More I Learn, the Less I Think I Know
The Less I Think I Know, the More I Learn
I'M... Still Learning
--Bruised


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 9:56 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 149
Location: TJ,China
You can mix 128MB PC133 and 512MB PC133 on T23 (i did it now)/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:28 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 3:08 pm
Posts: 1157
Location: Lansing, MI
Quote:
will the PNY PC133, 512MB work that TigerDirect.com sells (recommends) near its reburbished T23 ads?


It should. I've always had good luck with PNY ram.

_________________
I used to be an anarchist but I quit because there were too many rules


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:03 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:12 am
Posts: 406
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
[/quote]It should. I've always had good luck with PNY ram.[/quote]

Thank you for your advice. I bought the PNY 512MB 'RAM' module indicated for my T23 2647. I received it Monday and installed it. Works like a charm. My previously 256MB T23 races off and online now!

--Bruised

_________________
The More I Learn, the Less I Think I Know
The Less I Think I Know, the More I Learn
I'M... Still Learning
--Bruised


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group