thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 3:27 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 21  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:58 pm
Posts: 11
Also been exactly one week since I swapped, and still ok, no corruption. The 2010 screen goes by so fast I've only noticed it once...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 11:10 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
Here's an interesting touch:
http://blog.vlad1.com/archives/2005/12/ ... mment-2066

Someone with the same chipset (different laptop), has no problem. Meaning not every manufacturer sets up their BIOS to do this. He installed a e7k100 with no problem.

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 3:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 2:34 am
Posts: 28
Location: High Seas
I just bought my 2nd TP on Christmas and upgraded the HD to Samsung 80Gb 5400, it showed the same display and the shop owner gave me the updated T43 BIOS 1.02, after I updated, didn't see the problem anymore.

_________________
X32 2672-CB3, PM735 1.7Ghz, 2Gb RAM, 100Gb 7200RPM, 802.11ABG, IBM Bluetooth IV, Huawei E272 on Smartone Vodafone, XP Pro SP3 + LinuxMint Elyssa


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 11:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:58 pm
Posts: 11
vennstrom wrote:
I just bought my 2nd TP on Christmas and upgraded the HD to Samsung 80Gb 5400, it showed the same display and the shop owner gave me the updated T43 BIOS 1.02, after I updated, didn't see the problem anymore.


1.02 is a really old BIOS. But if your machine runs fine, then no reason to upgrade. The latest one is 1.24 I believe.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 2:34 am
Posts: 28
Location: High Seas
is it possible to rollback the BIOS version?

I would like to try if 1.24 is working or not, currently 1.02 and I have no problem so far. just want to try.

_________________
X32 2672-CB3, PM735 1.7Ghz, 2Gb RAM, 100Gb 7200RPM, 802.11ABG, IBM Bluetooth IV, Huawei E272 on Smartone Vodafone, XP Pro SP3 + LinuxMint Elyssa


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: T43p and error 2010
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 1
Does anyone know whether there is a technical reason for introducing error 2010. Could a non-compliant drive introduce errors ? I have experienced disk errors with a non compliant drive (Travelstar 60G - 7200 rpm -HTS726060M9AT00) in T43p (2687-D5U).

:?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 4:21 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 5803
Location: Toronto, Canada
I would be curious as well. That is exactly the drive I use in my T41 and it is problem-free. I had an early one fail (well document APS-related failure) and purchased a second one because I couldn't wait for Hitachi to replace it. So now I have two, and both work just great. ... JD Hurst


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
It appears other laptops with the same chipset don't have the limitation in the BIOS... making me wonder why this is the case only with Thinkpads.

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:56 am
Posts: 2
I bought a 100GB ST9100824A from Fry's last week and it works great. No bios message or beep out of the box. I have a T43 2686-DGU with bios 1.24.

I originally had a 7k60 and this appears to be a superior drive. Much faster and quieter. Unable to discern any battery performance negatives/positives. No data issues or corruption.

** NB: The package at Fry's was Seagate internal retail kit with part number ST9100823A-RK. To my surprise the drive in the box was a SS9100824A. The drive has firmware revision 3.04.

Very happy. I paid $179.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 2:02 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
You can find one of those here too:
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDe ... ode=101523

I'd buy it, if I knew it would work. Problem is you never know what firmware is on the drive.

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 3:58 am
Posts: 44
Location: California
About a month ago I bought ST9100823A-RK http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?product_code=317403&pfp=cat3
I needed it asap so I bought it from one of their stores. I got the error message but I was also getting read errors on every other boot so I returned it. (I don't know the firmware) Right now, got a ST980825A (80GB 7.2K) on route to me now. I'll report when I get it.

_________________
IBM T43 2668AJU 760 2GHz 1GB 14.1" XGA 2200BG ATI-X300


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:38 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
An interesting article here:
http://www.computerworld.com/hardwareto ... 34,00.html

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Louisville, KY
I dont think I'll put my faith in Lenovo ever fixing this. It could happen but holding my breath seems a waste.

So, what 7200 RPM drives WILL work in my t43? I have a T43 model 266875U running firmware 1.03 and BIOS 1.24 (1YET59WW). I dont want to buy one of the mega-pricey Seagate drives (the 100Megger is $300!) but any 60-80Gb would be fine. As well, if you have one working can you let me know where you bought it? I generally use the almighty newegg.com but in this case I really just need it to work. I can't see downgrading my BIOS as anything but a invitation to disaster.

Anyway, any input would be great. I have a brand new laptop and am now holding one 60Gb 7200rpm drive that must be used in the ultra bay. I dont want to end up with two. If you've had good luck with a fast drive please let me know the make/model/part number and your t43 model and bios.

Cheers,

mb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 2:34 am
Posts: 28
Location: High Seas
Driven by irritation by 2010 and curiosity.

I bought Fujitsu MHV2080AH (80g,5400) production date Oct 2005, made in Thailand, checked with thinkpad firmware utility = updated

My BIOS is 1.24

WORKING OUT OF THE BOX!!

Hope this'll help others.

_________________
X32 2672-CB3, PM735 1.7Ghz, 2Gb RAM, 100Gb 7200RPM, 802.11ABG, IBM Bluetooth IV, Huawei E272 on Smartone Vodafone, XP Pro SP3 + LinuxMint Elyssa


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 5:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 3:58 am
Posts: 44
Location: California
NO more 2010 for me. :D :D :D

I just got a seagate 80 gig 7200.1 ST980825A.

Bios 1.24 EC bios 1.04

_________________
IBM T43 2668AJU 760 2GHz 1GB 14.1" XGA 2200BG ATI-X300


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: hitachi drive
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:27 pm
Posts: 3
Is there any hope for a Hitachi HTS721010G9AT00?

Hitachi said the firmware updates from Lenovo will not work for this drive

Lenovo said to call Hitachi and they could help me

Basically no help from either side

When I boot with the drive I get the 2010 error, but then my machine doesn't boot either - has anyone else actually had the drive not WORK or is it just the 2010 error people are getting?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:23 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Moscow, Russia
just update bios to latest and switch there "bypass 2010 error and boot" option, i forget about it at all, coz use sleep mode - not close win every time finish my day.. :)

_________________
ThinkPad T43 2668-92G
PM 760, 1GB RAM, 100GB 7200rpm HDD(7k100), 15 SXGA+, X300, CD-RW/DVD-RW ... and I love it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 3:06 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:01 pm
Posts: 774
It's up to IBM/Lenovo

_________________
T43 (2687-DUU) - 1.86GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 100GB 5400 (non IBM-firmware Hitachi 5k100) HD, Fingerprint Scanner, 802.11abg/Bluetooth, ATI x300


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Hitachi HTS721010G9AT00?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 1
Having the exact same problem as Darths68 om my T43

I have the latest bios and controller updates, have bypassed 2010 but the machine does not seem to find the disc.

Any help is much appreciated

Wivel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 6:51 pm
Posts: 4
This looks to be an emotive issue!

After a 'Google', I have only looked at the first & Last few posts in my search for something that would allow my T43p UC3F8UK to read an HITACHI Travelstar 5K80 80GB 5400RPM (08K0639) 2.5IN drive -purchased 12 months ago, but never used...until now-. So don't jump on me for what follows -I will read through the thread-.

Is there an answer to my problem reading that drive -maybe I have the wrong Bios-?

Is anyone 'researching' the issue with IDA -or similar-?

My newly installed drive just does not work for me :(
I had taken the original out of the laptop and used 'Ghost 2003' copy that to the new drive.

Any help appreciated,
thanks.

[EDIT]
After reading the full thread...and after a couple of failed attempts, I eventually got there :)

Thanks to all who passed on the information.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:42 pm
Posts: 11
I noticed a very strange behaviour. My t43p, if it sleeps for a small amount of time, probably less than 1/2 hour, wakes up fine. When it sleeps more than that, or boots up from hibernation, it takes almost 10 minutes to get to login prompt. The only mod I have done to the system is a hitachi 7k100 hard drive (which gives me an infamous 2010 error at bootup). Has anyone noticed similar behaviour? I am at latest bios level/IBM drivers.

Any ideas???

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:19 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:01 pm
Posts: 670
Location: Washington, DC
jimmi1977 wrote:
I noticed a very strange behaviour. My t43p, if it sleeps for a small amount of time, probably less than 1/2 hour, wakes up fine. When it sleeps more than that, or boots up from hibernation, it takes almost 10 minutes to get to login prompt. The only mod I have done to the system is a hitachi 7k100 hard drive (which gives me an infamous 2010 error at bootup). Has anyone noticed similar behaviour? I am at latest bios level/IBM drivers.

Any ideas???

Thanks!


that happens to me if I leave several firefox windows open before hibernating.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 2:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Posts: 9
I have not tried this, yet --- downloading as I type --- but the "Hard drive firmware update utility - ThinkPad General" was recently updated to include:

<FWHD41>
Model Firmware
---------------- --------
[ Hitachi ]
HTS7210xxG9AT00 A51A

See: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-62282


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Posts: 9
The IBM Firmware updater, despite listing the HTS7210xxG9AT00, does not work. It sees the RETAIL firmware instead of the IBM OEM firmware, and refuses to update the drive.

Speaking to Hitachi, I was told:
Quote:
there is no firmware update required for Hitachi drives to operate correctly.


Essentially, the allegation is that while there might be a technical basis in some cases, in many others the POST 2010 error is being used to incent customers to buy only IBM labeled parts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 9:55 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:57 am
Posts: 203
Location: CA, USA
Can somebody verify that "Seagate Momentus 7200.1 ST910021A 100GB Ultra ATA/100 7200RPM Hard Drive w/8MB Buffer" works with T43/p without the 2010 error?

Thanks a lot!

_________________
Current: T43P-2687D5U: P-M 2G, 2G RAM, FireGL V3200 128M, 80G 5400 RPM(Will be 100G 7K100 when 2010 gone!), 15' UXGA, Multi Burner, Intel A/B/G, Bluetooth, 9 Cell, Fingerprint Reader, WinXP Pro
Previous: 390E, 600E, T23, X30, T40 ......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 9:58 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 7:58 pm
Posts: 457
Location: South Dakota
CoolDragon wrote:
Can somebody verify that "Seagate Momentus 7200.1 ST910021A 100GB Ultra ATA/100 7200RPM Hard Drive w/8MB Buffer" works with T43/p without the 2010 error?

Thanks a lot!


+1 Even interested in the 120GB as well.

_________________
Vista Business on T43 w/ Dell 2405FPW @ 1920 x 1200
Thinkpad T43 (2687-DSU) | PM 2.0GHz @ 1.068v | 100GB Hitachi 7K100 | 2.0GB Dual-Channel | X300 64MB | 14.1" SXGA | DVD+RW | Intel 2915 ABG | ThinkDock II & Mini-Dock |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:56 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:57 am
Posts: 203
Location: CA, USA
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_w ... hard_disks

According to this page, ST910021A should work.

_________________
Current: T43P-2687D5U: P-M 2G, 2G RAM, FireGL V3200 128M, 80G 5400 RPM(Will be 100G 7K100 when 2010 gone!), 15' UXGA, Multi Burner, Intel A/B/G, Bluetooth, 9 Cell, Fingerprint Reader, WinXP Pro
Previous: 390E, 600E, T23, X30, T40 ......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:52 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:49 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Solon, OH, USA
I have the 1.24 BIOS in my T43 [2687e8u], and get the 2010 error with my 100GB 7k100 (obviously). I don't mind the displayed error so much (it flies by quick enough without user input) but the beep is very loud. If I could suppress the beep, I'd be happy.

_________________
IBM X220 | T61p | R61e | T43 | Black Macbook | i5 Hackintosh | i7 iMac 27 | Dell 3007WFP-HC WQXGA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 2:22 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:57 am
Posts: 203
Location: CA, USA
Looks like the Seagate price is catching up with Hitachi !

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDe ... ode=101599

_________________
Current: T43P-2687D5U: P-M 2G, 2G RAM, FireGL V3200 128M, 80G 5400 RPM(Will be 100G 7K100 when 2010 gone!), 15' UXGA, Multi Burner, Intel A/B/G, Bluetooth, 9 Cell, Fingerprint Reader, WinXP Pro
Previous: 390E, 600E, T23, X30, T40 ......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:36 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 8:35 pm
Posts: 70
Location: U.S.A.
CoolDragon wrote:
Looks like the Seagate price is catching up with Hitachi !

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDe ... ode=101599



Hi CoolDragon,

Been lurking a while, just now registered.

I've got on order a t43p 2687-d5u (same as yours), and am interested in upgrading the hard drive to a 7200rpm unit.

I've read through this whole thread, and have come away from it somewhat confused if the Seagate drive you listed in the link above will actually work without giving the nasty 2010 POST error.

(I realize there's a BIOS update which lets you bypass the 2010 error code, but I'm looking for full drive/laptop compatibility.)

Are you able to enlighten me any? I'd purchase this drive and try it out (once my laptop arrives), but the 15% restocking fee imposed by the various online vendors kind of keeps me at bay from just going for it.

So what do ya know about this? (Or what don't you know?)

:D

Thanks kindly,
CupOfJoe

P.S. - I know you posted a week or so back asking for verification of this very question -- I guess I'm basically wondering if you've learned anything since then. Maybe I should rephrase the question: Do you know of *any* 7200rpm drive (of any size -- 40GB, 60GB, 80GB, etc.) which will work out of the box on our unit (t43p 2687-d5u) without a 2010 error code?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 21  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group