thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ibm-acpi not working!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:41 pm
Posts: 34
I have added: "ibm-acpi" to /etc/modules. I have then restarted the computer but it only works for the first 5 minutes, then the fan goes on again permanently eventhough I have only emacs running. Any ideas on how I get the acpi module to work for more than 5 minutes? I have an IBM T40/p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:36 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:41 am
Posts: 356
Location: Canada
You really ought to give more details about the distro you're using, the kernel, whether ibm-acpi is used as a module, etc...

_________________
T420 2.6Ghz HD+, 16GB RAM, 80GB mSATA, 500GB WD Black


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 5:50 pm
Posts: 34
Location: Tokyo, Japan
As far as I know, the fan on my A31 was never controllable at all under linux. You could try changing the thermal trippoints in ACPI, but I never thought it was worth the bother.

_________________
ThinkPad A31 2652-D4U Fedora Core 4, T60p 2007-83J windows :(, PowerBook 15" 1.67 GHz G4 OSX 10.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 6:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:41 pm
Posts: 34
I use Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.12-10-386. A I wrote I have added: "ibm-acpi" to /etc/modules, and made sure it is running by typing:

johs@ubuntu:~$ lsmod | grep -i ibm
ibm_acpi 17908 0
johs@ubuntu:~$


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:21 am
Posts: 9
Do you have

options ibm_acpi experimental=1

in /etc/modules.d/ibm_acpi.modprobe ?

If not, add it like this:

echo "options ibm_acpi experimental=1" >> /etc/modules.d/ibm_acpi.modprobe

Then reboot, or do:

rmmod ibm_acpi
modprobe ibm_acpi

Check if you get an output with both:

cat /proc/acpi/ibm/thermal
and
cat /proc/acpi/ibm/fan

Finally, this is just the "interface" to the thermal sensors and the fan. The fan won't stop just like this. You need a script running that checks the sensors and sets the fan speed. You can find that here:

http://thinkwiki.org/wiki/ACPI_fan_control_script

HTH,
Marcus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 3:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:41 pm
Posts: 34
Ok I now have this:

Code:
johs@ubuntu:~$ cat /etc/modules
# /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
#
# This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
# at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.

lp
mousedev
psmouse
ibm_acpi
johs@ubuntu:~$


and this in: /etc/modprobe.d/
Code:
options ibm_acpi hotkey=enable,0xff9f,experimental=1


The I have rebooted but afterwards I get:

Code:
johs@ubuntu:~$ cat /proc/acpi/ibm/thermal
cat: /proc/acpi/ibm/thermal: No such file or directory

johs@ubuntu:~$ cat /proc/acpi/ibm/fan
cat: /proc/acpi/ibm/fan: No such file or directory
johs@ubuntu:~$


And the fan starts to run again after a few minutes, permanently .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:21 am
Posts: 9
What does "dmesg | grep acpi" and "modprobe ibm_acpi" give?

Marcus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:41 pm
Posts: 34
Code:
johs@ubuntu:~$ dmesg | grep acpi
[4294695.031000] ibm_acpi: IBM ThinkPad ACPI Extras v0.8
[4294695.031000] ibm_acpi: http://ibm-acpi.sf.net/
[4294695.044000] ibm_acpi: dock device not present
[4294703.515000] shpchp: acpi_shpchprm:\_SB_.PCI0.PCI1 _HPP fail=0x5
[4294703.515000] shpchp: acpi_pciehprm:\_SB_.PCI0.PCI1 OSHP fails=0x5
[4294703.515000] shpchp: acpi_shpchprm:   Slot sun(1) at s:b:d:f=0x00:02:00:00
[4294703.515000] shpchp: acpi_shpchprm:\_SB_.PCI0.PCI1 _HPP fail=0x5
[4294703.515000] shpchp: acpi_pciehprm:\_SB_.PCI0.PCI1 OSHP fails=0x5
[4294703.515000] shpchp: acpi_shpchprm:   Slot sun(2) at s:b:d:f=0x00:02:00:01
johs@ubuntu:~$


Code:
johs@ubuntu:~$ modprobe ibm_acpi
johs@ubuntu:~$


the last one gives me nothing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:21 am
Posts: 9
You have v0.8 of ibm_acpi which isn't good enough. That is probably the module that was included with your kernel. You'll need version 0.11 for the experimental option. You can download this version here: http://ibm-acpi.sourceforge.net/

The README file http://ibm-acpi.sourceforge.net/README has the instructions how to compile and install the baby.

When this is done and "dmesg | grep acpi" after a reboot shows that you now actually run the 0.11 version, I'd suggest to read http://thinkwiki.org/wiki/ACPI_fan_control_script to learn how to go on from there.

HTH,
Marcus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:41 pm
Posts: 34
I just get this error when I try to make it:

root@ubuntu:/home/johs/apps/ibm-acpi-0.11/ibm-acpi-0.11# make
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.12-10-386/build SUBDIRS=/home/johs/apps/ibm-acpi-0.11/ibm-acpi-0.11 modules
make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.12-10-386/build: No such file or directory. Stop.
make: *** [default] Error 2
root@ubuntu:/home/johs/apps/ibm-acpi-0.11/ibm-acpi-0.11#


I have read the readme but it only says that I need to run

make
make install

But it seems that something is missing...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:21 am
Posts: 9
Whats does "ls -la /lib/modules/" and "uname -a" give?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 6:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:41 pm
Posts: 34
johs@ubuntu:~$ ls -la /lib/modules/
total 16
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 2006-02-19 11:27 .
drwxr-xr-x 19 root root 4096 2006-02-19 11:27 ..
drwxr-xr-x 6 root root 4096 2006-02-26 00:51 2.6.12-10-386
drwxr-xr-x 6 root root 4096 2006-02-19 11:28 2.6.12-9-386
johs@ubuntu:~$



johs@ubuntu:~$ uname -a
Linux ubuntu 2.6.12-10-386 #1 Mon Feb 13 12:13:15 UTC 2006 i686 GNU/Linux
johs@ubuntu:~$


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 5:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:21 am
Posts: 9
Though I am not sure, I think the problem is caused by the fact that your kernel-headers/source does not match your kernel version.

I don't know if there is an easy way to fix it. Personally, I would download the kernel sources and compile and install a custom kernel at this point. This way I'd know exactly what I have. I'm using kernel 2.6.12, while I had issues with newer kernels.
You would not need to do any modifications to the kernel config (just make sure ibm_acpi is set to M, not to Y) and after compilation, installation and reboot, I think the compilation of ibm_acpi should work.

Here's on HOWTO: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/KernelHowto
If you use this, you need to read and appy the "Using an existing configuration" section. It shows how to use your existing kernel configuration as the base for the configuration of your new kernel. Unfortunetly, this section is not in the HOWTO where you need it, but appended below.

HTH,
Marcus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:27 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:35 am
Posts: 66
Location: San Diego
I would like to revive an old thread here, since I am having these problems now..

I am trying to install ibm_acpi on my X60, under Ubuntu 6.10 running under VMware 5.5.3, and have a basic understanding of how to use Linux. All I need from this is the ability to toggle the Thinklight so that I can use the Gaim-thinklight plugin to notify me of incoming instant messages.

I have ran 'make' and 'make install' sucessfully on ibm_acpi version 0.11, but cannot get past 'modprobe ibm_acpi'. Here is my output:

sparta@thinkpad:/lib/modules/2.6.17-11-generic/acpi$ ls
ibm_acpi.ko
sparta@thinkpad:/lib/modules/2.6.17-11-generic/acpi$ sudo modprobe ibm_acpi
FATAL: Error inserting ibm_acpi (/lib/modules/2.6.17-11-generic/acpi/ibm_acpi.ko): No such device

If there is any other info I can give that will enable anyone to help me, just let me know. Also, if there is any howto or forum threads that can solve my issues, I wouldn't mind just being pointed there either. I have already tried searching through this forum, Ubuntu's forum, as well as Googling for how to install ibm_acpi.

_________________
X220 Windows 7 Pro, X60 - 1709-7HU Ubuntu 9.10 + Ultrabase X6, X61t - 7764-CTO Windows 7 32b Ultimate + Ultrabase X6, , 19" Sony - SDM-HS95/B, Logitech MX Revolution, Logitech Dinovo Cordless keyboard and mouse, IBM Model M (1390131)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 7:05 pm
Posts: 33
spaznrq wrote:
running under VMware 5.5.3


This is your problem. You have to be running on an actual thinkpad, not a virtual machine. VMWare emulates a specific hardware set, and IBM has nothing to do with it.

_________________
Thinkpad 570e on its last leg
Thinkpad T23 with all the trimmings
Thinkpad T43 to get work done
Thinkpad 755CDV for the hell of it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:11 am
Posts: 12
Location: rennes, france
sorry to bringing back to life this obsolete thread , but do you know how to forceloading some modules to prevent :
cat: /proc/acpi/ibm/thermal: No such file or directory

Some of my logs at :

http://rzr.online.fr/q/sensor#module

_________________
http://rzr.online.fr/q/lenovo# Lenovo G470 | Model Name : 20078 | M fg Date: 11/03/23 | BIOS: 40CN23WW(V2.09) 06/20/2011 | OS:GNU/Linux/Debian
viewtopic.php?f=41&t=100355# Please help to fix : Fan, Acpi, Dsdt, Aspm ...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:40 pm
Posts: 2
Location: London, UK
First use
Code:
lsmod | grep acpi
to check it hasn't loaded.
Code:
modprobe x
to manually insert.

I think you're problem might actually be to do with the move from /proc to /sys/class

Jamie


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group